This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

Jean-Louis Frenette has Pointe-des-Monts tattooed on his heart. For nearly 50 of his 80 years, he has been gazing at the sea here. A retired professor and innkeeper of the Gite du Phare de Pointe-des-Monts, Jean-Louis arrived with the opening of the Cégep in Baie-Comeau. He develops a program to train technicians in wildlife resource management for recreational and tourism purposes: the Hunting and Fisheries Management Technique. Jean-Louis leaves Quebec’s Lanaudière region for the Côte-Nord. The Cégep de Baie-Comeau is still the only institution to offer this technique, which continues to shape the future of thousands of students.

“In addition to applied biology courses, there is also a blend of know-how in administration, geomatics, computer science, outdoor equipment management and, especially, the organization of outdoor recreational activities,” proudly explains Jean-Louis Frenette.

“It is truly the open sea and it is completely normal to spot the back or occasionally the tail of one of the larger whales directly from the beach and hear their impressive whistle-like blows when they come up to breath” – Jean-Louis Frenette

Jean-Louis has Pointe-des-Monts tattooed on his heart. The 80-year-old has lived here for almost 5 decades! In the late 1960s, he buys Madame Fafard’s house, whom he describes as being like a second mother to him.

This spontaneous purchase and the long summer vacation from Cégep allow him to launch a genuine career as a professional fisherman after he acquires, much to his surprise, the fishing licence that came with the residence!

An old salt from Baie-Trinité, the late Henri Tremblay, introduces him to salmon, cod, halibut, and herring fishing, shellfish harvesting and even seal hunting. He learns to discover the River from a different perspective. Jean-Louis raises his daughters in Pointe-des-Monts, whom he introduces to fishing and whale watching in the St. Lawrence.

Thanks to them and the years he has spent on the River, he understands that cetaceans can perceive human emotions and that they can even sense well-intentioned individuals.

When Jean-Louis shares his encounters with large cetaceans, his eyes light up. He is convinced of their great intelligence and the importance of their conservation, contrary to the old beliefs that whales were responsible for the decline of cod in the St. Lawrence.

When he took possession of the house, Jean-Louis also acquired a “homestead” that allowed him to build small log cabins over the years to accommodate visitors. Starting with two, he would later go on to build five, then 10, before ultimately reaching 18 units in 2004. His little chalets continue to welcome visitors!

In addition to fishing, Mr. Frenette has been developing and leading for several years whale-watching trips, scuba diving around shipwrecks and kayaking activities, in an effort to share his knowledge and help visitors discover the site’s historical heritage as well as its extraordinary natural environment. “It is truly the open sea and it is completely normal to spot the back or occasionally the tail of one of the larger whales directly from the beach and hear their impressive whistle-like blows when they come up to breath,” he tells.

Although retired, Jean-Louis Frenette still shares his knowledge with the students of Baie-Comeau’s Cégep. He makes it a point of receiving each graduating class in Pointe-des-Monts and its museum, “Camp Ashini”, a replica of an Innu encampment.

His work on the North Shore leaves a lasting impression of the region’s history. In his view, time is relative and coincidences are merely formalities. Both his teaching and his life in Pointe-des-Monts have left a mark on people. Tourists return year after year, even if it’s just for a coffee with the charismatic professor or to enjoy a breathtaking sunset over the beautiful bay. Because neither Jean-Louis nor Pointe-des-Monts leaves anyone indifferent.

“They will understand that I have been entrenched in this for so many years to the point of refusing to imagine giving it up one day… while at the same time recognizing that, sooner or later, I’ll have to let go. This is a lesson that life has taught me and that I will strive to share with others,” concludes Mr. Frenette.

Observation of the Week - 31/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Narwhal Still Present in the St. Lawrence

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform…

|Observation of the Week 5/8/2020

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Jean-Louis Frenette a la Pointe-des-Monts tatouée sur le cœur. Il y observe le large depuis près de 50 ans, du haut de ses 80 ans! Professeur retraité et tenancier du Gite du phare de la Pointe-des-Monts, Jean-Louis est arrivé avec l’ouverture du cégep de Baie-Comeau. Il élabore un programme pour former des techniciens à la gestion des ressources fauniques à des fins récréatives et touristiques : la Technique d’aménagement cynégétique et halieutique. Jean-Louis quitte Lanaudière pour la Côte-Nord. Le cégep de Baie-Comeau offre encore exclusivement à ce jour cette technique qui forge encore le futur de milliers d’étudiants.

«En plus de cours de biologie appliquée, on y retrouve aussi un amalgame de connaissances en administration, en géomatique, en informatique, en gestion d’équipement de plein air et surtout, en organisation d’activités récréatives en milieu naturel», dit fièrement Jean-Louis Frenette.

«C’est vraiment le grand large à fleur de terre et il est tout à fait habituel d’y apercevoir le dos, parfois la queue des grandes baleines directement de la plage et d’y entendre le sifflement impressionnant de leur souffle» – Jean-Louis Frenette

Jean-Louis a la Pointe-des-Monts tatouée sur le cœur. Il y vit depuis près de 50 ans, du haut de ses 80 ans! À la fin des années 1960, il achète la maison de Madame Fafard, qu’il décrit comme sa deuxième mère.

Cet achat spontané et les longues vacances estivales du cégep lui permettent d’entamer une véritable carrière de pêcheur professionnel, en récupérant, à sa grande surprise, le permis de pêche qui venait avec la résidence!

Un feu vieux loup de mer de Baie-Trinité, Henri Tremblay, l’initie à la pêche au saumon maritime, puis à celles de la morue, du flétan, du hareng, des mollusques et même à la chasse aux phoques. Il apprend à découvrir le fleuve qu’il ne connaissait pas sous cet angle. Jean-Louis élève ses filles à la Pointe-des-Monts, qu’il initie à la pêche et à la rencontre des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent.

Avec les années passées sur le fleuve et grâce à ses filles, il comprend que les cétacés peuvent percevoir les émotions des humains et qu’ils perçoivent davantage les gens bien intentionnés.

Quand Jean-Louis raconte ses rencontres avec les grands cétacés, il s’anime. Il est convaincu de leur grande intelligence et de l’importance de leur conservation, contrairement aux anciennes croyances voulant que les baleines soient responsables du déclin de la morue dans le Saint-Laurent.

En récupérant la maison, Jean-Louis a aussi acquis un «lot de colonisation» qui lui permet de construire au fil des années de petits pavillons en bois rond pour accueillir des visiteurs. Il en construit d’abord deux, puis cinq, puis 10, pour finalement arriver à 18 unités en 2004. Ses petits chalets continuent d’accueillir les visiteurs!

Parallèlement à la pêche, Monsieur Frenette développe et mène pendant plusieurs années des excursions en mer pour observer les baleines, de la plongée sous-marine sur épaves et des activités de kayak, pour mettre en application son enseignement et pour faire découvrir le patrimoine historique du site, de même que son extraordinaire environnement naturel. «C’est vraiment le grand large à fleur de terre et il est tout à fait habituel d’y apercevoir le dos, parfois la queue des grandes baleines directement de la plage et d’y entendre le sifflement impressionnant de leur souffle», raconte-t-il.

Même s’il est retraité, Jean-Louis Frenette partage encore ses connaissances avec les élèves de la technique du cégep de Baie-Comeau. Il se fait un devoir de recevoir chaque promotion à Pointe-des-Monts et dans son musée, le «camp Ashini», la réplique d’un campement innu sur le site.

Son travail sur la Côte-Nord permet de laisser une trace bien vivante de l’histoire de la région. Le temps qui est selon lui bien relatif, et où les hasards ne sont que des formalités. Tant son enseignement que sa vie à la pointe marquent les gens. Des touristes reviennent chaque année, ne serait-ce que pour l’instant d’un café avec le charismatique professeur ou pour un coucher de soleil au son des souffles dans la magnifique baie. Parce que ni Jean-Louis, ni la Pointe-des-Monts ne laissent indifférents.

«Ceux-là comprendront que je m’y sois incrusté depuis tant d’années au point de refuser d’envisager le jour où il me faudra quitter les lieux… tout en reconnaissant qu’il faudra bien, éventuellement, lâcher prise. C’est une leçon que la vie m’a apprise et que je m’efforcerai de partager», conclut Monsieur Frenette.

Observations de la semaine - 31/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

«La meilleure saison»

«Le début d’automne, c’est le plus beau moment de l’année pour les baleines!», décrète Renaud Pintiaux, qui observe les baleines…

|Observations de la semaine 24/9/2020

Dauphins d’automne

«Quoi? Des dauphins ici?», s’étonne une lectrice. Pour bien des gens, lorsqu’on parle de dauphin, l’image mentale qui apparait est…

|Observations de la semaine 17/9/2020

Troupeaux de baleines

Les souffles caverneux explosent l’un après l’autre, laissant six colonnes blanches et cylindriques s’estomper lentement. Un troupeau de rorquals communs…

|Observations de la semaine 10/9/2020