This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

Guy Côté was one of the first guides to work for Parks Canada in the Mingan Archipelago. Perhaps you’ll have the chance to accompany him out to the islands!

For 40 years, the harbour has been his home, and the islands, his playground!

A Côte-Nord native and the son of resident of Tête-à-la-Baleine, a village accessible only by boat or plane, Guy tells us a little story about the Whale Route, which has only existed in its current form for twenty years. “Even if nowadays this road is very touristy, at the same time it takes us back through a real journey in time,” describes the guide and historian.

“The Whale Route is also an important migratory route for the mammals that humans hunted to take advantage of the proximity of the sea.”

“Travelling the Whale Route means observing these whales and seals that are part of our culture and history.” – Guy Côté

A migratory and feeding route for the animals, certainly, but also an important former trade and supply route for humans. “The Basques and Norwegians came to use the shoal off the coast of Magpie as well as the Mingan Islands to hunt seals and whales for their oil,” explains Guy.

Guy reminds us that seal meat was also an important source of protein for coastal peoples. His grandmother regularly prepared seal for him during his childhood. Even today, canned seal is found at the local Vigneault market.

 

“Travelling the Whale Route means observing these whales and seals that are part of our culture and history.” He tells us that it is common here to hear locals say that at such and such dock at such and such time, a baleinot (affectionate nickname given to whales in the region) will show up, like an old friend that visits year after year.

“More than anything, it’s an ecosystem waiting for you.”

According to him, in the islands, it is common to see minke whales, humpback whales, seals, porpoises and even basking sharks. As for more noteworthy observations, he mentions pilot whales, white-sided dolphins, or even killer whales that also venture into the Mingan archipelago.

Guy describes a childhood memory on the Havre-Saint-Pierre wharf, where a minke whale was being chased by a killer whale. Killer whales seldom visit these parts of the Gulf. It was later on a documentary expedition that Guy and his film crew were lucky enough to film Jackknife and the rest of his quartet. Killer whales marked the region in the 1980’s and the child’s imagination in him. “All kinds of spectacles are waiting for you offshore!

“All kinds of spectacles are waiting for you offshore!
You have to see it to believe it,” says Guy, with a hint of pride in his voice.

Observation of the Week - 31/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

When they move, they move!

July 9: Off the coast of Matane, a humpback whale takes a dive. All eyes focus on its black-and-white tail;…

|Observation of the Week 16/7/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Guy Côté est un des premiers guides à avoir travaillé pour Parcs Canada dans l’Archipel-de-Mingan. Vous aurez peut-être la chance de le suivre sur les iles!

Le havre, c’est chez lui. Les iles, son terrain de jeu depuis 40 ans!

Natif de la Côte-Nord, d’une mère de Tête-à-la-Baleine, un des villages accessibles seulement par bateau ou avion, Guy nous raconte un peu l’histoire de la Route des baleines, qui existe dans sa forme actuelle depuis une vingtaine d’années seulement. «Cette route aujourd’hui touristique nous fait faire un véritable voyage dans le temps», décrit le guide et historien.

«La Route des baleines est aussi une voie migratoire importante pour les mammifères, dont les humains profitèrent pendant très longtemps pour bénéficier de la mer à proximité».

«Parcourir la Route des baleines, c’est revoir ces baleines, ces phoques, qui font partie de notre culture, de notre histoire.» – Guy Côté

Une route migratoire et d’alimentation pour les animaux, certes, mais une route de commerce et d’approvisionnement importante pour les humains d’autrefois. «Les Basques et les Norvégiens venaient utiliser le banc rouge de Magpie (un haut fond au large) et les iles Mingan pour chasser les phoques et les baleines pour leur huile», explique Guy.

Guy nous rappelle que la viande de phoque était aussi une source de protéines importante pour les habitants de la côte. Sa grand-mère lui en préparait régulièrement dans la poêle pendant son enfance. Encore aujourd’hui, on retrouve la viande de phoque en conserve au marché Vigneault du coin.

 

«Parcourir la Route des baleines, c’est revoir ces baleines, ces phoques, qui font partie de notre culture, de notre histoire». Il nous parle qu’il est fréquent ici d’entendre les locaux dire qu’à tel quai, à telle heure, un «baleinot» (surnom affectueux donné aux baleines dans la région) viendra se montrer le bout du nez, comme un vieil ami qui rend visite, année après année.

«C’est surtout un écosystème qui vous attend».

 

Dans les iles, il est fréquent de voir des petits rorquals, des baleines à bosse, des phoques, des marsouins et même des requins-pèlerins, selon lui. Globicéphales, dauphins à flancs blancs, ou même épaulards rentrent également dans l’archipel des iles Mingan, qu’il témoigne comme des observations plus particulières.

Guy nous décrit un souvenir d’enfance sur le quai d’Havre-Saint-Pierre, où un petit rorqual se faisait poursuivre par un épaulard. Les épaulards visitent rarement les eaux du golfe à cette hauteur. C’est plus tard sur une expédition documentaire que Guy a la chance de filmer Jackknife et sa bande de quatre avec une équipe cinématographique. Les épaulards ont marqué la région dans les années 80 et l’imaginaire de l’enfant en lui.

«Toutes sortes de spectacles vous attendent au large!
Faut le voir pour le croire», témoigne fièrement Guy.

Observations de la semaine - 31/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Les bélugas, des baleines adaptées à l’hiver

Quand on est passionné de baleines, on l’est vraiment. Depuis une quinzaine d’années, Renaud Pintiaux a tour à tour été…

|Observations de la semaine 20/2/2020

Deux rorquals à bosse au large de Pointe-des-Monts

Pointe-des-Monts, 8 février. Pas besoin du thermomètre pour savoir que l’air est glacial : une fumée de mer s’installe sur le…

|Observations de la semaine 13/2/2020

Naitre en eaux chaudes

Avant de se diriger vers la chaleur du sud, faisons un petit tour des observations dans le Saint-Laurent. Installé en…

|Observations de la semaine 6/2/2020