Throughout the St. Lawrence, the snowfall of the past few days has put a damper on opportunities for watching marine mammals. Nevertheless, a few belugas as well as harbour and harp seals have been observed. And, from down South, there are reports of newborn North Atlantic right whales and humpback whales!

Harbour seals were occasionally present in the choppy waters off Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, in addition to being seen resting on the banks of the St. Lawrence. Harp seals on the other hand are quietly abandoning Gaspé Bay, which they invaded en masse last week.

Winter belugas

Solitary belugas were seen swimming at the mouth of the Saguenay in recent days. “Just one, all by itself,” explains one resident. However, I searched for 15 minutes to see if there were any others…” A few days later, another one of these white whales crossed the waters just in front of Pointe-Noire. A few individuals were also spotted from Cap de Bon-Désir. Indifferent to the frigid winter air, the snowstorms and the fresh water that supports their bodies, they continue about their daily lives in the St. Lawrence.

News from down South!

From the more temperate waters of the Caribbean, where humpback whales spend their winter breeding season, the Turks and Caicos Islands Whale Project had some good news to share: The first mother-calf pair of the year has been observed! In this species, gestation lasts 11 to 12 months while births take place between January and March. Calves are nursed for 5 to 10 months and remain with their mother for 1 year, sometimes 2. This bond between a mother and her offspring is the longest of any baleen whale. A little earlier in the project’s observation season, i.e. just before Christmas, there was a sighting of the humpback whale Queen, who is well known in the St. Lawrence.

The breeding season for North Atlantic right whales is in full swing. A 14th calf has already been reported for the 2023-2024 season! This is excellent news for this endangered species, though this figure is still far below what would normally be required in order for the population to grow. Mating and calving in North Atlantic right whales take place in winter, i.e. between November and February. Gestation takes about 12 months while nursing lasts 6 or 7 months, and sometimes as long as a year and a half. Unfortunately, of these 14 births, monitoring efforts have already revealed two deaths and one seriously.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Laetitia Desbordes
Patrice Corbeil
Élizabeth Melis
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM),
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN),
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 18/1/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Les bordées de neige des derniers jours ont limité les possibilités d’observation de mammifères marins à travers le Saint-Laurent. Malgré tout, on rapporte la présence de quelques bélugas ainsi que de phoques communs et du Groenland. Des nouvelles du Sud dévoilent quant à elles des naissances, autant chez les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord que les rorquals à bosse!

Des phoques communs sont parfois présents dans les eaux agitées devant le cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, mais se reposent aussi sur les berges du Saint-Laurent. Les phoques du Groenland, de leur côté, délaissent tranquillement la baie de Gaspé qu’ils avaient envahi la semaine dernière.

Bélugas de l’hiver

Ce sont des bélugas solitaires qui nageaient à l’embouchure du Saguenay dans les derniers jours. « Juste un seul, isolé, explique un résident. Pourtant, j’ai cherché 15 minutes s’il y en avait d’autres…. » Quelques jours plus tard, c’est une autre baleine blanche qui franchit les eaux juste devant Pointe-Noire. Quelques individus ont aussi été repérés au cap de Bon-Désir. Ils nagent, indifférents au froid hivernal, aux tempêtes de neige qui agitent l’air ambiant et à l’eau fraiche qui soutient leur corps, poursuivant leur vie de bélugas dans le Saint-Laurent.

Des nouvelles du Sud!

Depuis les eaux plus chaudes, où les rorquals à bosse séjournent en hiver durant leur période de reproduction, Turks and Caicos Islands Whale Project partage une bonne nouvelle sur leur page Facebook : la première paire mère-veau de l’année a été observée! Chez cette espèce, la gestation dure entre 11 et 12 mois tandis que les naissances ont lieu de janvier à mars. Le jeune est allaité pendant 5 à 10 mois et reste 1 an, quelquefois 2, avec sa mère. Ce lien entre la mère et son jeune est le plus long chez les baleines à fanons. Un peu plus tôt dans la saison d’observation du projet, juste avant Noël, le rorqual à bosse Queen, bien connu dans le Saint-Laurent, avait été aperçu.

La saison des naissances bat également son plein du côté des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord. On signale déjà une 14e naissance pour la saison 2023-2024! Il s’agit d’une excellente nouvelle pour l’espèce en voie de disparition, bien que ce nombre soit encore loin de ce qui devrait normalement être observé pour espérer une croissance de la population. L’accouplement et la mise bas ont lieu en hiver pour la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, entre novembre et février. La gestation dure environ 12 mois tandis que l’allaitement dure entre 6 et 7 mois, parfois jusqu’à 1 an et demi. Malheureusement, les efforts de suivi de cette espèce ont permis, jusqu’à maintenant,  de documenter parmi ces 14 naissances deux morts et un nouveau-né gravement blessé.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Laetitia Desbordes
Patrice Corbeil
Élizabeth Melis
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 18/1/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Phoques du Groenland, sur la glace comme dans l’eau

Des phoques du Groenland à plusieurs endroits dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun à Franquelin, voilà ce qui résume…

|Observations de la semaine 29/2/2024

Un rorqual bleu aux Escoumins

Le plus gros des géants aurait fait un détour par les Escoumins! En effet, plusieurs riverains et riveraines auraient eu…

|Observations de la semaine 22/2/2024

Grands souffles au large et phoques sur la glace

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans…

|Observations de la semaine 15/2/2024