DL9051

Beluga

ligne décoration
  • ID number

    DL9051

  • Sex

    male

  • Year of birth

    Circa 2000

  • Known Since

    2015

Distinctive traits:

It’s hard not to notice the large grey patch in front of the dorsal ridge on DL9051’s left flank.  This individual also has several notches in its ridge.

His story

The young DL9051 was first photographed by our team in 2015. At the time, its skin was still slightly grey. Belugas change colour with age and turn completely white between the ages of 12 and 16. Ever since our encounter with DL9051 in 2016, it has been completely white. We therefore estimate that this beluga was born around the year 2000.

To uncover the genetic secrets of DL9051, on September 25, 2016, we took a tiny sample of skin and fat called a biopsy. Amongst other things, this analysis revealed that DL9051 is a male.

DL9104 is observed in groups of various composition. Belugas have a varied social life and don’t only associate with animals of the same sex or the same age. However, there is a form of sexual segregation in the species, especially in summer, when bulls and cows live separately and frequent different territories. Three male networks are known, two of which ply the waters of the Saguenay and the head of the Laurentian Channel while the third one, nicknamed the “Downstream Boys”, uses the head of the Laurentian Channel as well as the downriver portion of the Estuary. When they reach adulthood, males tend to form stable groups of companions. These associations, which are established gradually in adulthood, may play an important role in belugas’ reproductive lives. Even if their territories overlap, individuals from one network seldom come into contact with males of other networks. Until now, DL9104 has generally been observed on the south side of the Estuary. But as he is still young, will his preferred “stomping grounds” change over time?

How DL9051’s story unfolds will teach us volumes on the evolution of belugas’ social lives. For example, which sector will he favour as he grows older? Who will his lifelong companions be? By better understanding how belugas live, we will be able to better protect them.

How his story unfolds will help us better understand the social lives of belugas. By better understanding how belugas live, we will be able to better protect them.

Regularly seen with...

Yogi

Leucas

DL9039

DL2384

DL9053

DL1886

DL1500

DL2663

DL2664

Observations history in the Estuary

2015
2016
2017
2018
2019

Years in which the animal was not observed Years in which the animal was observed

DL9051

Béluga

ligne décoration
  • Numéro d’identification

    DL9051

  • Sexe

    mâle

  • Naissance

    autour de 2000

  • Connu depuis

    2015

Traits distinctifs :

Difficile de ne pas remarquer la grande tache grise devant la crête sur le flanc gauche de DL9051.  Le béluga porte aussi plusieurs encoches dans sa crête.

Son histoire

Le jeune béluga DL9051 a été photographié par notre équipe pour la première fois en 2015. À ce moment, sa peau est encore légèrement grise. Chez les bélugas, la couleur évolue avec l’âge et devient complètement blanche entre l’âge de 12 et 16 ans. Quand nous avons recroisé la route de DL9051 en 2016, et depuis, il était maintenant complètement blanc. Nous nous estimons donc que ce béluga est né autour de l’an 2000.

Pour découvrir les secrets génétiques de DL9051, nous avons prélevé le 25 septembre 2016 un petit échantillon de peau et de gras qu’on appelle biopsie. Son analyse a entre autres révélé que DL9051 est un mâle.

DL9104 est observé dans des groupes de composition variée. Les bélugas ont une vie sociale variée et ne restent pas seulement avec des bélugas du même sexe ou du même âge. Toutefois, il existe une forme de ségrégation sexuelle chez les bélugas, en été particulièrement, où  mâles et femelles vivent séparément et fréquentent des secteurs différents. On connait trois réseaux de mâles: deux sillonnent le Saguenay et la tête du chenal Laurentien, un autre — qu’on surnomme les «Downstream boys» — utilise la tête du chenal Laurentien et la portion aval de l’estuaire. À l’âge adulte, les mâles ont tendance à former des bandes de compagnons stables. Ces associations, qui s’établissent progressivement à l’âge adulte, sont possiblement importantes pour la vie reproductive des bélugas. Même si leurs territoires se chevauchent, les individus d’un réseau côtoient très peu les mâles des autres réseaux. Pour le moment, nous avons observé DL9104 du côté sud de l’estuaire. Mais il est encore un jeune béluga, son territoire de prédilection changera-t-il avec le temps?

La suite de l’histoire de DL9051 nous en apprendra beaucoup sur l’évolution de la vie sociale des bélugas. Par exemple, quel secteur préfèrera-t-il en vieillissant? Qui seront ses compagnons de vie? C’est en comprenant comment vivent les bélugas que nous serons en mesure de mieux les protéger.

La suite de son histoire nous aidera à mieux comprendre la vie sociale des bélugas. C’est en comprenant comment vivent les bélugas que nous serons en mesure de mieux les protéger.

Observé régulièrement avec...

Yogi

Leucas

DL9039

DL2384

DL9053

DL1886

DL1500

DL2663

DL2664

Historique des observations dans l’estuaire

2015
2016
2017
2018
2019

Années pendant lesquelles l’animal n’a pas été observé Années pendant lesquelles l’animal a été observé