Predation alone does not generally pose a threat to the sustainability of a population. It is often associated with other factors and the status of the hunted population.

Studies have found that the decline in sea otter populations in the North Pacific since the 1970s is due, among other things, to increased predation by killer whales. However, although this hunting pressure has been shown to affect the growth of local colonies, it is unclear whether it exerts a strong enough influence to have an impact on the entire population. Researchers are investigating other factors that may explain this decline, including contamination and shark predation.

The issue of the threat of killer whale predation on beluga populations in the North was raised this week in the article La présence d’épaulards dans la baie d’Hudson menace les bélugas (Radio-Canada). Taking advantage of retreating ice and a longer open-water season, killer whales are increasingly common in the region. They prey notably on resident belugas and narwhals.

Not all killer whale populations feed on marine mammals. Killer whales inhabiting the Northeast Pacific feed on salmon, for example. Those that do include marine mammals in their diet target different species – seals, porpoises, minke whales, gray whales, blue whales, etc. – depending on the population and hunting territory.

Whale Q&A - 7/12/2016

Marie-Sophie Giroux

Marie-Sophie Giroux joined the GREMM in 2005 until 2018. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Marine Biology and a diploma in Environmental Consulting. As Lead Naturalist, she oversees and coordinates the team working at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre and writes for Whales Online and Whale Portraits. She loves to share “whale stories” with visitors to the CIMM and readers alike.

Recommended articles

How does a collision affect a cetacean’s social life?

When discussing the impacts of an accident between a ship and a marine mammal, we generally focus on the physical…

|Whale Q&A 19/1/2021

When it comes to whales, how can we remain optimistic about the future?

In the realm of conservation and research, long-term efforts to further our knowledge about cetaceans and protect them continue. This…

|Whale Q&A 18/12/2020

Is inbreeding a problem for endangered whales?

There are believed to be around 360 North Atlantic right whales left in the world, and probably fewer than a…

|Whale Q&A 26/11/2020

La prédation à elle seule ne représente généralement pas une menace pour la pérennité d’une population. Elle est souvent associée à d’autres facteurs et à l’état de santé de la population chassée.

Des études ont révélé que le déclin des populations des loutres de mer dans le Pacifique Nord depuis les années 1970 serait causé entre autres par l’augmentation de la prédation des épaulards. Cependant, bien que l’on ait démontré que cette pression de chasse affecte la croissance des colonies locales, on ne sait pas si elle exerce une influence assez forte pour avoir un impact sur la population entière. Les chercheurs se penchent sur d’autres facteurs pouvant expliquer ce déclin, notamment la contamination et la prédation par les requins.

La question de la menace de prédation des épaulards sur les populations de bélugas du Nord a été soulevée cette semaine dans l’article La présence d’épaulards dans la baie d’Hudson menace les bélugas (Radio-Canada). Profitant du recul des glaces et de l’allongement de la saison des eaux libres, les épaulards sont de plus en plus nombreux à fréquenter la région. Ils chassent entre autres les bélugas et les narvals qui s’y trouvent.

Ce ne sont pas toutes les populations d’épaulards qui ont des mammifères marins à leur menu. Les épaulards résidants du Pacifique du Nord-Est se nourrissent plutôt de saumons. Ceux qui incluent des mammifères marins à leur alimentation ciblent différentes espèces — phoques, marsouins, petits rorquals, baleines grises, rorquals bleus, etc. — selon la population et le territoire de chasse.

Les baleines en questions - 7/12/2016

Marie-Sophie Giroux

Marie-Sophie Giroux s’est jointe au GREMM en 2005 et y a travaillé jusqu’en 2018. Elle détient un baccalauréat en biologie marine et un diplôme en Éco-conseil. Chef naturaliste, elle supervise et coordonne l’équipe qui travaille au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins et rédige pour Baleines en direct et Portrait de baleines. Aux visiteurs du CIMM ou aux lecteurs, elle adore « raconter des histoires de baleines ».

Articles recommandés

Les baleines font-elles preuve d’altruisme? (3/3) L’exemple des cétacés à l’état sauvage

Prendre soin d’individus malades, blessés ou morts - un comportement dit épimélétique – est une forme d’expression de l’empathie courante…

|Les baleines en questions 10/11/2022

Où en est la chasse à la baleine dans le monde ?

L’opinion publique semble de plus en plus concernée par l’avenir des baleines qui sont devenues, au fil du temps, un…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2022

Comment démystifier la taxonomie des baleines?

Par définition, la taxonomie est une science visant l’étude de la diversité du monde vivant. Pour ce faire, les différents…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2022