The humpback whale Tic Tac Toe was observed in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park for the first time this year! Belugas, minke whales and fin whales round out the picture in the estuary.

Tic Tac Toe

It was on the morning of May 30 that the first sighting of Tic Tac Toe was reported. Of all the whales in the St. Lawrence, this female humpback whale is a real star. Probably one of the best-known whales in these parts, this female is easily identifiable, has been making incursions into the estuary almost annually since 1999 and regularly shows her tail when she dives. Tic Tac Toe owes her name to the large “X” that can be seen on the right lobe of her tail. The highly serrated edge of her tail and its black-and-white colour pattern make her relatively easy to recognize.

She was not accompanied by a calf this year, but appeared a little thin in the photos. Which may be normal given that humpback whales migrate to the Caribbean where they go all winter without feeding, living off their fat reserves instead.

In 2020, 2021 and 2022, she had been seen with calves. The usual interval between births for humpbacks is approximately two to three years. In fact, gestation lasts between 11 and 12 months and once the calf is born, it will be nursed for anywhere from 5 to 10 months. A female can therefore give birth several years in a row, but this is very challenging energy-wise, since she would have to nurse her newborn calf while pregnant with another one.

Rorquals

On May 29, a naturalist counted up the day’s observations he made from shore between Les Escoumins and Tadoussac: “One blue whale, one humpback, five fin whales and three minkes.” And the list goes on! Throughout the week, it’s one adventure and anecdote after another. One marine mammal enthusiast shares her sightings from these waters abuzz with marine life: “Minke whales and belugas in large numbers offshore amongst thousands upon thousands of birds. A few days ago, very early in the morning, there were four humpbacks, but they didn’t stay long.”

In the middle of an observation session, a wildlife photographer is fooled by the behaviour of a humpback whale: “I thought it was a big hunk of floating wood until I saw it blow!” For whales, sleeping is quite a challenge! They are unable to fall into a deep sleep like us. In fact, for cetaceans, breathing is a voluntary action, meaning they must consciously swim up to the surface. Only one side of their brain rests at a time while the other side maintains control of the animal’s vital functions. When whales sleep, they are said to be “logging.”

Belugas and seals

A local resident in Sainte-Irénée gives the lowdown on white whale sightings: “I didn’t seen any all week, but on Saturday, a friend of mine saw around ten belugas from L’Anse-au-Sac.” In the last few weeks, this resident has seen pairs of belugas on a few occasions. Still, she maintains a positive outlook: “I remain optimistic about seeing bigger groups, as the season has only just begun!”

A Tadoussac resident spots belugas in the water as they peacefully exit the Saguenay Fjord. A few days earlier, she had gone to Les Bergeronnes for a little evening whale watching. “Two big blasts from fin whales in the swell on Sunday evening at Cap de Bon-Désir!” she explains. “Good thing for the spouts, as otherwise we would’ve had a really hard time spotting them.” All three species of seals were reported several times throughout the estuary, while in Franquelin, a minke whale was observed passing through.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Christine Stadelmann
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams that also share their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 30/5/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Eating Their Fill

Whether they consume krill, fish or invertebrates, whales come to feed in the St. Lawrence and the immense smörgåsbord it…

|Observation of the Week 7/6/2024

Five fin whales in the estuary, including Orion and Bp913!

Fin whales are stealing the show this week, in large numbers. Individuals have even been identified, and some regulars are…

|Observation of the Week 24/5/2024

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Le rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe a été observé dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent pour la première fois cette année! Les bélugas, les petits rorquals et les rorquals communs nagent aussi dans l’estuaire.

Tic Tac Toe

C’est le matin du 30 mai qu’on signale la première observation de Tic Tac Toe. Parmi les baleines du Saint-Laurent, cette femelle rorqual à bosse fait figure de « vedette ». Il s’agit probablement de l’une des baleines les plus connues du Saint-Laurent : elle est facilement identifiable, elle remonte l’estuaire presque chaque année depuis 1999 et elle montre régulièrement la nageoire caudale. Tic Tac Toe doit son nom au grand « X » visible sur le lobe droit de sa queue. La dentelure prononcée de cette dernière et son patron de coloration noir et blanc la rendent relativement facile à identifier.

Elle n’était pas accompagnée par un veau cette année, mais semblait un peu maigre selon les photos. Ce qui peut être normal étant donné que les rorquals à bosse migrent aux Antilles l’hiver et passent la saison froide sans se nourrir, vivant sur leurs réserves de gras.

En 2020, 2021 et 2022, elle avait été vue avec des jeunes individus. L’intervalle habituel pour la mise bas des rorquals à bosse est d’environ deux à trois ans. En effet,la gestation dure entre 11 et 12 mois et une fois né, le jeune sera allaité de 5 à 10 mois. Une femelle peut donc avoir un veau plusieurs années de suite, mais cela demeure un défi énergétique important, puisqu’elle devra allaiter son nouveau-né tout en étant gestante.

Les rorquals

Le 29 mai, un naturaliste fait le décompte de ses observations de la journée, depuis le rivage entre les Escoumins et Tadoussac : « Un rorqual bleu, un rorqual à bosse, cinq rorquals communs et trois petit rorquals. » La liste s’allonge! À travers la semaine, les aventures et les anecdotes se multiplient. Une passionnée des mammifères marins partage les fourmillements de la vie marine qui bat son plein : « Des petits rorquals et des bélugas en grand nombre parmi des milliers et des milliers d’oiseaux au large. Il y a quelques jours, très tôt le matin, quatre bosses, mais elles ne sont pas restées longtemps. »

En pleine séance d’observation, un photographe animalier est trompé par un comportement d’un rorqual à bosse : « Je pensais que c’était un gros bout de bois qui flottait jusqu’à ce que je vois le bout de bois souffler! » Chez les baleines, dormir est tout un défi! Elles ne peuvent pas dormir profondément comme nous. En effet, leur respiration est un acte volontaire, elles doivent consciemment remonter à la surface. Un seul côté de leur cerveau va se reposer pendant que l’autre garde le contrôle des fonctions vitales. Lorsque les baleines dorment, on dit qu’elles font du « billotage ».

Bélugas et phoques

Une riveraine basée à Sainte-Irénée rapporte des observations de baleines blanches : « Je n’en ai pas vu cette semaine, mais samedi, un ami a vu une dizaine de bélugas à l’Anse-au-Sac. » Dans les dernières semaines, elle en a aperçu à quelques reprises en groupes de deux. Elle conserve toujours un esprit positif :  « Je garde espoir de voir des grands groupes, parce que la saison ne fait que commencer! »

Une résidente de Tadoussac repère des bélugas dans le paysage, nageant tranquillement en sortant du fjord du Saguenay. Quelques jours plus tôt, elle s’était dirigée vers les Bergeronnes pour une soirée d’observation de mammifères marins. « Deux grands souffles de rorquals communs à travers les vagues dimanche soir au Cap de Bon-Désir!  Une chance qu’il y avait les souffles, explique-t-elle, parce que sinon on aurait vraiment eu de la difficulté à les repérer. » On signale les trois espèces de phoques à plusieurs reprises dans l’estuaire, tandis qu’à Franquelin, un petit rorqual est de passage.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Christine Stadelmann
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 30/5/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les pieds sur terre, les yeux vers le large

Le blanc des bélugas réfléchit les rayons du soleil dans l’estuaire, les petits rorquals abondent, le rorqual à bosse Irisept…

|Observations de la semaine 13/6/2024

En prendre plein les fanons

Qu’elles mangent du krill, du poisson ou des invertébrés, les baleines viennent s’alimenter dans l’immense buffet que constitue le Saint-Laurent.…

|Observations de la semaine 7/6/2024

Cinq rorquals communs dans l’estuaire, dont Orion et Bp913!

Présents en grand nombre cette semaine, les rorquals communs volent la vedette. Les individus ont même pu être identifiés et…

|Observations de la semaine 24/5/2024