Even if the week was quiet in terms of observations, the presence of minke whales did add a little action to the picture. Belugas and harbour porpoises were also spotted in a number of locations; however, with one exception, no large rorquals were reported. On the other hand, seal pupping season is in full swing and pups are already being seen on the beaches, so let’s all stay alert and careful not to disturb them!

Days and evenings for cetaceans

In Tadoussac, the presence of belugas and minke whales brighten the days for staff at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre, whose large windows overlook the Saguenay Fjord. In this same sector, harbour seals have been resting on the rocks in their usual hangouts.

In Les Escoumins, a naturalist marvels at the horizon one beautiful evening before a handful of small cetaceans arrive to add even more poetry to this breathtaking moment. “I saw a herd of about ten harbour porpoises split into four smaller groups off Pointe-de-la-Croix, just as the sun was going down. Just to make it that much more memorable!”

In Les Bergeronnes, belugas have been regularly swimming near shore, white whales glistening against the blue backdrop of the St. Lawrence. Because it is endangered, it is forbidden to approach within 400 metres of this species. Observing them from land is therefore one of the few opportunities where one can watch them with the added satisfaction of knowing that they aren’t being disturbed in their natural environment. Farther upstream, a group of three individuals was also spotted during the Isle-aux-Coudres ferry crossing.

At the mouth of the Magpie River, about 30 seals were basking in the sun and one marine mammal enthusiast had the chance to capture some magnificent shots. In Gaspé Bay, a minke whale sighting is indicated in the marine mammal observation data visualization tool developed by the Marine Mammal Observation Network. In fact, anyone can use this citizen science tool to submit their observations.

One exception

In the estuary, more precisely in Franquelin, a seasoned observer had the chance to admire a passing humpback whale: “She showed her tail when she dove.” Indeed, this species generally does show its caudal fin when it dives. When the whale arches its back, its tail fin slowly rises into the air until it is completely vertical. One can then see the colour pattern of the underside of its tail, which is unique to each individual and which facilitates identification. Belugas offshore, a minke whale and a few porpoises were also spotted in the area.

Heads up for seals!

Harbour seals give birth on the shores of the St. Lawrence between mid-May and mid-June. However, females may leave their young alone on the shore for several hours or even days to go feed. It is therefore essential to maintain a distance of 100 metres from the seal to avoid causing it stress. If the seal has visible injuries, if it is in an awkward place for human activities or if you see other people disturbing or handling it, contact the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network at 1-877-722-5346. The best course of action will be determined by experts.

Observation of the Week - 1/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Si la semaine était tranquille en termes d’observation, la présence de petits rorquals est venue distiller un peu d’action. Des bélugas et des marsouins communs ont aussi été aperçus à plusieurs endroits et sauf une exception, aucun grand rorqual n’a été mentionné. La période de mise bas des phoques bas son plein, et leurs petits sont sur les plages, alors il faut rester attentifs et attentives pour ne pas les déranger!

Des journées et des soirées pour les cétacés

À Tadoussac, la présence de bélugas et de petits rorquals agrémente les journées des employés du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins, dont les grandes fenêtres donnent sur le fjord du Saguenay.  Au même endroit, des phoques communs se reposent sur les roches à leurs emplacements habituels.

Aux Escoumins, une naturaliste contemple l’horizon par une belle soirée, avant que de petits cétacés ne viennent ajouter encore plus de poésie à ce beau moment. « J’ai vu un troupeau de 4 groupes de marsouins communs, ils étaient une dizaine au total, en face de la Pointe-de-la-Croix au coucher du soleil. Juste pour rendre le tout encore plus beau! »

Aux Bergeronnes, des bélugas nagent régulièrement à proximité du rivage, où il est possible de voir ces baleines blanches scintiller sur le fond bleu de l’eau du Saint-Laurent. Étant une espèce en voie de disparition, il est interdit de s’approcher à moins de 400 mètres de cette espèce. L’observation terrestre est donc l’une des seules occasions où l’on peut les voir de si près, avec la satisfaction supplémentaire de savoir qu’elles ne sont pas dérangées dans leur environnement naturel. Plus en amont, à la traverse de L’Isle-aux-Coudres, un groupe de trois individus a aussi été repéré.

À l’embouchure de la rivière Magpie, une trentaine de phoques se prélassaient au soleil et une passionnée des mammifères marins a eu l’occasion de capturer de magnifiques clichés. Dans la baie de Gaspé, une observation de petit rorqual est répertoriée dans l’outil de visualisation de mammifères marins développé par le Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins. N’importe qui peut d’ailleurs contribuer à l’outil, en soumettant des observations citoyennes.

Une exception

 Du côté de l’estuaire, à Franquelin, un observateur aguerri a la chance d’admirer le passage d’un rorqual à bosse : « Elle a montré la queue en plongeant ». En effet, cette espèce montre la nageoire caudale lorsqu’elle part en plongée. Lorsque le rorqual arque le dos, sa nageoire se soulève lentement dans les airs jusqu’à atteindre la verticale. On peut ainsi voir le patron de coloration de la face ventrale de la queue unique à chaque individu et qui permet de les identifier. Des bélugas au large, un petit rorqual et quelques marsouins ont aussi été vus dans le secteur.

Attention aux phoques!

Les phoques communs mettent bas sur les rives du Saint-Laurent entre mi-mai et mi-juin. Les femelles peuvent cependant laisser leur petit seul sur le rivage pendant plusieurs heures, voir jours pour aller se nourrir. Il est donc primordial de conserver une distance de 100 mètres avec le phoque pour éviter de le stresser. Si le phoque a des blessures visibles, s’il est dans un lieu encombrant pour les activités humaines ou si vous voyez des personnes le déranger ou le manipuler, contacter le Réseau québécois d’urgence mammifères marins au 1 877 722-5346. Des spécialistes établiront le meilleur plan d’action.

Observations de la semaine - 1/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent, depuis la rive!

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée, et…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024