Last June, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) received an abnormally high number of reports of dead or sick seals. Subsequent analyses have revealed the presence of the bird flu virus in harbour seals, a disease that has been rapidly spreading in wild bird populations across the country since the beginning of the year.

Alarming figures

What caught the attention of the scientific community? The QMMERN has identified 93 harbour seal carcasses since the beginning of the year, which is 6 times more than an average year and 3 times more than the record year. In June alone, 65 carcasses were reported. Avian flu was quickly suspected of playing a role in this uptick in mortality. The QMMERN recovered and sampled 15 carcasses for analysis by the Centre québécois sur la santé des animaux sauvages (Quebec wildlife health centre). The results show that 11 of the 15 harbour seals sampled were infected with the Eurasian strain of avian influenza H5N1 (HPAI). This is a highly pathogenic strain that is easily transmitted from one animal to another and causes severe illness. For now, only harbour seals seem to be getting infected with the virus and the spread in Quebec is limited to the Bas-Saint-Laurent region.

Avian flu: just for the birds?

The name of this strain can be confusing! In Canada, the disease affects species such as gannets, Canada and snow geese, common eiders, gulls, turkey vultures, corvids [Translator’s note: ravens, crows and jays], bald eagles and several species of domesticated birds. However, it is known that this particular strain of flu can be transmitted from birds to mammals. In the U.S., the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) has also confirmed the presence of this virus in beached seals in Maine. In North America, H5N1 is also believed to have infected other mammal species, notably raccoons, otters, lynx, red fox, skunks and two humans.

Experts do not know exactly how the virus made the leap from birds to harbour seals. The proximity of the two species at haulouts may have favoured close contact between them and exposed the seals to the bodily fluids and feces of infected birds. It is not yet known for sure whether the virus can be transmitted from one seal to another.

Avian flu on a global scale

Is bird flu a pandemic? This disease, which is currently rampant in Canada, is also found in other countries in North America, Europe, Asia and Africa. It is believed to have been present for about 2 years. Can it be considered a pandemic? In humans, when an infectious disease is limited to a given region, it is called an epidemic. If it spreads beyond the borders of a given country and affects a continent or the entire world, it becomes a pandemic. Different terms are used when referring to other animal species: epizootic is equivalent to an epidemic and panzootic is equivalent to a pandemic. In our case, we would therefore be dealing with a panzootic!

What is bird flu?

To understand bird flu, one needs to be familiar with the virus that causes it. There are four types of influenza virus: A, B, C and D. These distinct types have the ability to cause infections in different species and with varying severity. Type B viruses generally only affect humans and can cause epidemics, but not pandemics. Type C viruses infect mostly humans, but occasionally dogs or pigs as well. They cause mild symptoms and are not associated with epidemics. Type D viruses are only found in cattle. Bird flu, or avian influenza, is caused by different subtypes of the Type A influenza virus. Viruses of this type have the ability to infect a number of different species including birds, mink, pigs, dogs, horses, wild boar, whales, seals, humans and many others.

Different strains of Type A viruses can cause avian flu, including H7N1, H9N2, H5N1 and H7N9. The strain currently causing the avian flu pandemic (which is also affecting seals) is H5N1.

As veterinarian Stéphane Lair of Université de Montréal explains, “Although the risks of transmission of this flu virus to humans and pets appear to be low, it is recommended not to approach, and especially not to touch, a sick or dead seal. It is also important to keep one’s pets away from dead seals or birds.”

The arrival of summer offers a glimmer of hope since the spread of this virus seems to subside in the hottest months.

Marine Mammal Emergencies - 2/8/2022

Véronique Genesse

Véronique is a biologist and a writer for Whales online. She has discovered her love for cetaceans following memorable encounters with these giants of the sea. She then grew interested in conservation after becoming aware of the numerous threats they face. She believes that participation from the general public is essential for the success of conservation projects.

Recommended articles

Avian Flu: First Documented Case in Cetaceans in Quebec

Last September, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network received a report of an Atlantic white-sided dolphin carcass near Rimouski.…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 30/11/2022

Entangled Humpback – A Chronicle

On Wednesday, July 13, a humpback whale was spotted off the coast of Les Escoumins accompanied by a calf that…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 26/7/2022

A Day in Good Company

On Sunday, July 3, a minke whale carcass was found on Île Vertein Quebec’s Bas-Saint-Laurent region. This is practically the…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 14/7/2022

En juin dernier, le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) a reçu un nombre anormalement élevé de signalements concernant des phoques morts ou malades. Les analyses effectuées ont bel et bien révélé la présence du virus de la grippe aviaire chez le phoque commun, une maladie qui sévit dans les populations d’oiseaux sauvages à travers le pays depuis le début de l’année.

Des chiffres qui ont sonné l’alarme

Qu’est-ce qui a mis la puce à l’oreille des intervenants? Le RQUMM a recensé 93 carcasses de phoques communs depuis le début de l’année, soit 3 fois plus qu’une année record, et 6 fois plus qu’une année moyenne. En juin seulement, ce chiffre s’élève à 65 carcasses. La grippe aviaire a vite été suspectée de jouer un rôle dans cette hausse de mortalité. Le RQUMM a donc récupéré et échantillonné quinze carcasses, et le tout a été acheminé au Centre québécois sur la santé des animaux sauvages à des fins d’analyse. Les résultats démontrent que 11 des 15 phoques communs échantillonnés étaient atteints de la souche eurasienne de la grippe aviaire ; H5N1 (IAHP). Une souche hautement pathogène qui se transmet facilement d’un animal à l’autre et cause une maladie grave. Pour l’instant, seuls les phoques communs semblent tomber malades du virus et la propagation au Québec est limitée à la région du Bas-Saint-Laurent.

La grippe aviaire, juste chez les oiseaux ?

Le nom de cette souche peut porter à confusion ! Au Canada, la maladie touche des espèces telles que le Fou de Bassan, la bernache du Canada, l’oie des neiges, l’eider à duvet, les goélands, l’urubu à tête rouge, les corvidés, le pygargue à tête blanche et plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux d’élevage. Toutefois, il est connu que cette souche d’influenza peut être transmise des oiseaux aux mammifères. Aux États-Unis, la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) a également confirmé la présence de ce virus chez des phoques échoués au Maine. En Amérique du Nord, le H5N1 aurait aussi infecté d’autres espèces de mammifères. Entre autres, des ratons laveurs, des loutres, des lynx, des renards roux, des mouffettes rayées et deux humains.

Les experts ne savent pas précisément comment le virus a été transmis des oiseaux aux phoques communs. La proximité des deux espèces sur les échoueries pourrait avoir favorisé des contacts étroits entre celles-ci et exposé les phoques aux fluides corporels et aux excréments d’oiseaux infectés. On ne sait pas encore avec certitude si le virus peut se transmettre entre les phoques.

La grippe aviaire à l’échelle mondiale

La grippe aviaire est-elle une pandémie ? Cette maladie, qui sévit actuellement au Canada, est aussi présente dans d’autres pays d’Amérique du Nord, d’Europe, d’Asie et d’Afrique. Elle serait présente depuis environ 2 ans. Peut-on parler d’une pandémie ? Chez l’être humain, lorsqu’une maladie infectieuse se propage dans une région donnée, il s’agit d’une épidémie. Si la propagation dépasse les frontières d’un pays et s’attaque à un continent ou au monde entier, on parle de pandémie. Des termes différents sont utilisés quand il est question d’autres espèces animales:  l’épizootie est l’équivalent de l’épidémie et la panzootie, de la pandémie. Ici, on parlerait donc d’une panzootie !

Mais qu’est-ce que la grippe aviaire?

Pour comprendre la grippe aviaire, il est nécessaire d’expliquer un peu plus en profondeur le virus qui en est l’origine. Il existe quatre types de virus de l’influenza : A, B, C et D. Ces types distincts ont la capacité de causer des infections chez différentes espèces et de sévérité variable. Les virus de type B ne touchent généralement que les humains et peuvent causer des épidémies, mais pas de pandémies. Ceux de type C infectent surtout les humains, mais parfois les chiens ou les cochons. Ils engendrent des symptômes bénins et ne sont pas associés à des épidémies. Les virus de type D se retrouvent chez les bovins seulement. La grippe aviaire, ou influenza aviaire, est causée par différents sous-types du virus de l’influenza de type A. Les virus de ce type ont la capacité de contaminer plusieurs espèces différentes dont les oiseaux, le vison, le porc, l’humain, le chien, le cheval, le cochon sauvage, la baleine, le phoque, l’humain et beaucoup plus.

Différentes souches de virus de type A peuvent causer la grippe aviaire, telles H7N1, H9N2, H5N1 et H7N9. La souche qui cause actuellement la pandémie de grippe aviaire, et qui atteint également les phoques, est H5N1.

Comme l’explique le médecin vétérinaire Stéphane Lair, de l’Université de Montréal, « Bien que les risques de transmission de ce virus influenza à l’Homme et aux animaux domestiques semblent faibles, il est recommandé de ne pas s’approcher, et surtout de ne pas toucher un phoque malade ou mort. On préviendra aussi les contacts entre nos animaux domestiques et les phoques ou les oiseaux morts. »

L’arrivée de l’été offre une lueur d’espoir puisque la propagation de ce virus semble s’atténuer pendant cette saison.

Urgences Mammifères Marins - 2/8/2022

Véronique Genesse

Véronique est biologiste et rédactrice pour Baleines en direct. Elle a découvert son amour pour les baleines suite à d'inoubliables rencontres avec ces géants des mers et s'est intéressée à leur conservation après avoir pris connaissance des menaces auxquelles elles sont confrontées. Elle croit que l'implication du public est primordiale afin d'assurer le succès des projets de conservation.

Articles recommandés

Un rorqual à bosse empêtré dans l’estuaire : une grande mobilisation

Lundi dernier, le 12 septembre, le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) reçoit un appel : un rorqual à…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 16/9/2022

Rorqual à bosse empêtré – En direct

Mercredi le 13 juillet, un rorqual à bosse a été aperçu au large des Escoumins accompagné d’un baleineau empêtré dans…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 26/7/2022

Une journée en bonne compagnie

Le dimanche 3 juillet dernier, une carcasse de petit rorqual est retrouvée à l'ile Verte, au Bas-Saint-Laurent. C’est pratiquement dans la…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 14/7/2022