Every year, between 15 and 20 beluga carcasses are found and recovered along the shores of the St. Lawrence. Why are they recovered? We have to go back 40 years – September 15, 1982 to be exact – to find the answer to this question. That day, Daniel Martineau and Pierre Béland wanted to better understand the cause of death of a 4.10-metre long male beluga stranded at Pointe-au-Père.

Where it all began

A congress on marine sciences was being held in Rimouski that day. The two men leave the congress and head to Pointe-au-Père to examine the beluga carcass. Daniel is a trained veterinarian and Pierre, an ecologist. They note that the animal bears no trace of injury. How did it die? They decide to open the carcass in an attempt to pierce the mystery. And so the beluga carcass recovery program was born, i.e. somewhat by chance. The book of the dead refers to the first chapter of the book “Les bélugas, ou, L’adieu aux baleines” written by Pierre Béland and published in 1996. In this first chapter, Pierre reveals his “Book of the Dead”, a register of belugas found dead since the fall of 1982. He tells of his first meetings with Daniel Martineau and how the study of beluga carcasses changed their lives.

At the time, scientists were already concerned about the fate of this species. Protected from hunting since 1979, the beluga population was placed on the endangered species list in 1983. The carcass recovery program continues to this day and has become the cornerstone of a vast research project that is still seeking to understand why the St. Lawrence beluga population has not recovered since the ban on whaling.

More specifically, carcasses found in good condition are sent to Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Medicine in Saint-Hyacinthe for a complete necropsy. Various analyses reveal a great deal of relevant information about each carcass, including the species, sex, age and size of the animal, as well as the cause(s) of mortality. Researchers also collect photos and samples to learn more about the biology, toxicology and diet of belugas.

Pierre Béland

Pierre Béland completed PhD and post-doctoral studies on the ecology of animal populations. It was as director of DFO’s Fisheries Ecology Research Centre that he went into the field to document the famous carcass of September 15, 1982. This encounter changed his career. Five years later, Pierre would leave Fisheries and Oceans Canada to establish, together with Daniel Martineau, Robert Michaud and Richard Sears, the St. Lawrence National Institute of Ecotoxicology where he would dedicate himself to the study and protection of belugas and the St. Lawrence.

Daniel Martineau

A veterinarian working in the Rimouski region at the time, Daniel Martineau and his career also took a 180-degree turn that day. He went back to school to specialize in pathology and would later lecture at Université de Montréal’s Department of Pathology and Veterinary Microbiology. There he would go on to direct the beluga necropsy program and contribute to the training of his successors, Drs. Sylvain DeGuise and Stéphane Lair. Stéphane is now the lead researcher for the program.

A model of perseverance and collaboration

September 15 marks the 40th anniversary of the beluga carcass recovery program. It is the longest program of its kind in the world for any species of marine mammal. Above all, it is also a model of perseverance and collaboration. Initiated by two passionate individuals, the program has been notably supported by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Parks Canada, the World Wildlife Fund and sponsors of the “Adopt a Beluga” campaign. It has inspired innumerable collaborations and has been a source of hundreds of scientific publications. Behind this incredible adventure are two tireless technicians – Richard Plante for 15 years and Carl Guimont for 25 years – who have travelled tens of thousands of kilometres on both shores of the St. Lawrence, whether from Gaspé or Sept-Îles to Saint-Hyacinthe, to deliver nearly 300 carcasses to the care of researchers. Since 2022, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) has taken over the task of recovering beluga carcasses.

News - 15/9/2022

Marianne Houle

Marianne Houle is an editorial intern at GREMM for fall of 2022. Studying in environmental sciences, she cultivates a great passion for animals and the aquatic environment since her youth. For her, scientific popularization and journalism are tools to democratize science.

Recommended articles

Five New Discoveries about the North Atlantic Right Whale

For scientists, the endangered North Atlantic right whale is a source of both fascination and concern. This is why a…

|News 29/9/2022

Surveying Whale-Watchers to Better Protect Whales

Ever since the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park was created in 1998, a large number of protective measures have been put…

|News 24/8/2022

Are there fewer whales in the St. Lawrence this season?

On both shores of the St. Lawrence, many folks are concerned about the paucity of whales observed in the river…

|News 15/8/2022

Chaque année, on retrouve et on récupère entre 15 et 20 carcasses de bélugas sur les rives du Saint-Laurent. Pourquoi sont-elles récupérées? Il faut remonter au 15 septembre 1982, il y a 40 ans, pour trouver la réponse à cette question. Ce jour-là, Daniel Martineau et Pierre Béland ont voulu comprendre la cause de la mortalité d’un béluga mâle de 4,10 mètres échoué à Pointe-au-Père.

Là où tout a commencé

Lors d’un congrès sur les sciences de la mer qui se tenait à Rimouski, les deux hommes quittent l’évènement pour se rendre à Pointe-au-Père examiner la carcasse du béluga. Daniel est vétérinaire de formation et Pierre écologiste. Ils notent que l’animal ne porte aucune trace de blessure. De quoi est-il donc mort? Ils décident d’ouvrir la carcasse pour élucider le mystère. C’est ainsi que le programme de récupération des carcasses de bélugas voit le jour, un peu par hasard. Le livre des morts fait référence au premier chapitre du livre « Les bélugas, ou, L’adieu aux baleines » écrit par Pierre Béland et publié en 1996. Dans ce premier chapitre, Pierre révèle son « livre des morts », un registre des bélugas retrouvés morts depuis l’automne 1982. Il raconte ses premières rencontres avec Daniel Martineau et comment l’étude des carcasses de bélugas a changé leur vie.

À cette époque, on s’inquiétait déjà du sort des bélugas. Protégés contre la chasse depuis 1979, leur population est placée sur la liste des espèces en péril en 1983. Le programme de récupération des carcasses qui se poursuit encore aujourd’hui est devenu la pierre angulaire d’un vaste projet de recherche qui tente encore et toujours de comprendre pourquoi la population de bélugas du Saint-Laurent ne se s’est pas rétablie depuis l’arrêt de la chasse.

Concrètement, les carcasses retrouvées en bon état sont acheminées à Saint-Hyacinthe, à la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Montréal pour une nécropsie complète. Les analyses révèlent alors plusieurs d’informations pertinentes sur la carcasse : l’espèce, le sexe, l’âge et la taille de l’animal ainsi que les causes de sa mort. Des chercheurs recueillent aussi des photos et des prélèvements pour en apprendre davantage sur la biologie, la toxicologie et l’alimentation des bélugas.

Pierre Béland

Pierre Béland complète des études doctorales et post-doctorales portant sur l’écologie des populations animales. C’est en tant que directeur du Centre de Recherche en Écologie des Pêches pour Pêches et Océans Canada, qu’il se rend sur le terrain pour témoigner de la fameuse carcasse du 15 septembre 1982. Cette rencontre a changé sa carrière. Cinq ans plus tard, Pierre quittera Pêches et Océans Canada pour former avec Daniel, Robert Michaud et Richard Sears, l’Institut national d’écotoxicologie du Saint-Laurent et se dévouer à l’étude et à la protection des bélugas et du Saint-Laurent.

Daniel Martineau

Vétérinaire en poste dans la région de Rimouski, Daniel Martineau a aussi pris un virage à 180 degrés ce jour-là. Il est retourné à l’école se spécialiser en pathologie et il deviendra professeur au Département de pathologie et de microbiologie vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal. Il y dirigera le programme de nécropsie des bélugas et contribuera à la formation de sa relève, les Dr Sylvain DeGuise et Stéphane Lair. Stéphane est aujourd’hui le chercheur à la tête du programme.

Un modèle de persévérance et de collaboration

On célèbre aujourd’hui le 40e anniversaire du programme de récupération des carcasses de bélugas. Il s’agit du plus long programme de ce type au monde pour une espèce de mammifère marin. C’est aussi surtout un modèle de persévérance et de collaboration. Initié par deux passionnés, le programme a été supporté entre autres par Pêches et Océans Canada, Parcs Canada, le Fonds mondial pour la nature et les parrains de la campagne Adoptons un béluga. Il a entretenu d’innombrables collaborations et nourrit quelques centaines de publications scientifiques. Derrière cette incroyable aventure, deux infatigables techniciens, Richard Plante, pendant 15 ans, et Carl Guimont, pendant 25 ans, ont parcouru des dizaines de milliers de kilomètres sur les deux rives du Saint-Laurent de Gaspé ou Sept-Îles jusqu’à Saint-Hyacinthe pour livrer près de 300 carcasses aux soins des chercheurs. Depuis 2022, c’est le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) qui a pris leur relève pour récupérer les carcasses de bélugas.

Actualité - 15/9/2022

Marianne Houle

Marianne Houle est stagiaire à la rédaction au GREMM pour l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement, elle cultive depuis son jeune âge une grande passion pour les animaux et le milieu aquatique. La vulgarisation et le journalisme scientifique sont pour elle des outils permettant de démocratiser la science.

Articles recommandés

5 nouvelles découvertes sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord

Espèce en voie de disparition, la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord intrigue autant qu’elle inquiète les scientifiques. C’est pourquoi plusieurs…

|Actualité 29/9/2022

Les baleines dans votre coin lecture

Dans le cadre de la journée nationale Je lis la science du 21 septembre 2022, l’équipe de Baleines en direct…

|Actualité 19/9/2022

Étudier les visiteurs pour mieux protéger les baleines

Depuis la création du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent en 1998, de nombreuses mesures de protection ont été mises en place dans…

|Actualité 22/8/2022