An article published a few weeks ago relates an unexpected interaction between two male humpback whales. Indeed, the two bulls were caught on video… mating! The scene certainly raised a few eyebrows!

Although this type of behaviour has already been observed in the animal kingdom between two individuals of the same sex, these two humpbacks had a lot of people talking! Even if they are relatively unknown to the general public, the sex lives of cetaceans consist of a multitude of purposeful and varied socio-sexual behaviours that are notably used to resolve a number of social issues between individuals.

What is socio-sexual behaviour?

Socio-sexual behaviours manifest themselves in different types of sexual interactions involving one or more individuals. Examples include pelvic thrusts, exposure and rubbing of erections and genitals, masturbation and penetration of the genital slit. These behaviours are carried out not with the aim of reproducing, but rather in a social context. No births will ever result from these interactions.

Whether in captivity or in the wild, indications of non-reproductive sexual behaviour have been identified in 35 of the 87 known species of cetaceans. This statistic comes from the book Sex in Cetaceans: Morphology, Behavior, and the Evolution of Sexual Strategies. However, this number could be underestimated considering how difficult it is to study this topic.

Indeed, most cetaceans, including the humpback whale, lead a fairly discreet sexual life. Additionally, a large number of the aforementioned socio-sexual behaviours have been observed in individuals living in captivity.

Why mix social functions and sexuality?

Although the different functions of socio-sexual behaviours are challenging to identify, a number of hypotheses have nevertheless been put forward. A study published in the scientific journal Marine Mammal Science addresses these hypotheses. Firstly, non-reproductive sexual behaviours might be used to express dominance. Dominance is defined as a relationship of power between two individuals. This hypothesis might help explain the mating between the two male humpbacks in which one individual firmly mounted its companion, which appeared to have a head injury. The dominant cetacean was therefore the animal penetrating the genital slit of the thinner individual.

Besides displays of dominance, socio-sexual behaviours have been shown to be used to develop and maintain alliances and long-term relationships between individuals, as is the case in bottlenose dolphins. For a number of species, sex life also helps reduce social tensions between individuals in a group.

Juveniles may also be isolated by adult males, who will then proceed to penetrate the genital slits of their younger peers. This interaction is considered to be a sort of educational practice run for future mating. Thus, they increase their odds of successful copulation, which, in the water with no arms and no support of any kind, is quite a feat! This behaviour has notably been observed in St. Lawrence belugas.

Everyone’s included!

Socio-sexual behaviours are more commonly observed in toothed whales such as belugas, porpoises and dolphins, but have also been identified in rorquals. They are often observed between two individuals of the same sex, but can also involve animals of opposite sexes. Generally speaking, non-reproductive sexual behaviours are less subtle in males, which makes them easier to study. However, females of several species such as the bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus) have been shown to participate in socio-sexual play such as masturbation. In certain species, socio-sexual behaviours are not limited to sexually mature individuals, as juveniles as well as post-reproductive individuals may also partake in these games!

Belugas: Bonobos of the St. Lawrence

When it comes to studying socio-sexual behaviours in cetaceans, the St. Lawrence Estuary is the perfect laboratory thanks to belugas. Indeed, these white whales, even if they only breed in spring, nevertheless maintain a highly active sex life all year round. In an interview on Radio-Canada’s Années Lumières, GREMM scientific director Robert Michaud explains that sexuality plays a very important role in the forging of alliances between males.

He also elaborates on the fact that the development of these lasting bonds between males seems to take place through both physical and sexual contact. Erections are commonplace amongst juveniles, who do not hesitate to rub up against one another, a behaviour that is also observed in certain other cetaceans.

All these sexual games were able to be observed thanks to the use of drones, a subtle, modern and effective means of studying the complex behaviours of St. Lawrence cetaceans without disrupting their daily activities!

News - 18/4/2024

Océane Denis

Océane Denis is an editorial intern for Baleines en direct in winter 2024. A lover of nature and animals, she wants to share her passions through writing. Océane is in her second year of a bachelor's degree in environmental studies at the Université de Sherbrooke.

Recommended articles

Parasites in Marine mammals: A Toxic Relationship

Parasite. A word that often sends shivers down our spines. However, marine mammals are highly accustomed to them. Cetaceans and…

|News 16/5/2024
L’automne dernier, le rorqual commun Ti-Croche a été pourvu d’une balise pour suivre sa migration. © Pêches et Océans Canada

The Winter Migration of the Fin Whale Ti-Croche

The migrations of large rorquals still hold many mysteries. Where do they go in winter? How long do they stay…

|News 1/5/2024

Unravelling the Mysteries of Hybridization in Blue Whales

Hunted, threatened, decimated. The largest of giants suffered greatly at the hands of humans throughout the 20th century and is…

|News 11/4/2024

Un article paru dans les dernières semaines relate une interaction pour le moins inattendue entre deux rorquals à bosse mâles. En effet, la paire de mammifères marins a été prise en vidéo en train de s’accoupler. La scène en a surpris plus d’un!

Bien que ce genre de comportements ait déjà été observé entre deux individus de mêmes sexes dans le règne animal, ces deux rorquals à bosse ont beaucoup fait jaser! Étant relativement inconnue aux yeux du grand public, la vie sexuelle des cétacés se compose pourtant d’une multitude de comportements socio-sexuels utiles et variés servant notamment à résoudre un bon nombre de problèmes sociaux entre les individus.

Les comportements socio-sexuels, c’est quoi tout ça?

Les comportements socio-sexuels se présentent sous différents types d’interactions sexuelles impliquant un ou plusieurs individus. Des accolades pelviennes, l’exposition et le frottement d’érections et des parties génitales, la masturbation et la pénétration de la fente génitale en sont quelques exemples. Ils sont effectués non dans un objectif de reproduction, mais plutôt dans un contexte social. Aucune naissance ne découle de ces interactions.

Que ce soit en captivité ou dans la nature, il a été possible de répertorier des signes de comportements sexuels non reproducteurs chez 35 des 87 espèces de cétacés connues. Cette information est fournie dans l’ouvrage Sex in Cetaceans : Morphology, Behavior, and the Evolution of Sexual Strategies. Pourtant, ce nombre pourrait être sous-estimé, le sujet étant difficilement étudiable.

En effet, la plupart des cétacés, tel que le rorqual à bosse, ont une vie sexuelle assez discrète. De plus, une grande partie des comportements socio-sexuels répertoriés ont été observés chez des individus vivant en captivité.

Mélanger social et sexualité, pourquoi?

Les différentes fonctions des comportements socio-sexuels sont difficiles à identifier, mais plusieurs hypothèses ont tout de même été avancées. Une étude publiée dans le journal scientifique Marine Mammals Science aborde ces hypothèses. D’abord, les comportements sexuels non reproducteurs pourraient être utilisés afin d’exprimer une dominance. La dominance se définit par un rapport de puissance entre deux individus. Cette hypothèse pourrait expliquer l’accouplement entre les deux rorquals à bosse mâles, où l’un des deux, montait fermement l’autre, qui semblait présenter une blessure à la tête. Le cétacé dominant était donc la baleine pénétrant la fente génitale de l’individu plus maigre.

Autre que les démonstrations de dominance, les comportements socio-sexuels ont prouvé être utilisés pour développer et entretenir des alliances et des relations de longue durée entre individus, comme c’est le cas chez les grands dauphins. La vie sexuelle permet aussi chez plusieurs espèces une réduction de la tension sociale entre des individus d’un groupe.

Il arrive également que des juvéniles soient isolés par des mâles adultes qui vont pénétrer leur fente génitale. Cette interaction est perçue comme une forme de pratique et d’apprentissage pour des accouplements futurs. ​​Ainsi, ils augmentent leurs chances de copulations qui, dans l’eau, sans bras et sans appui, tirent de l’exploit! Ce comportement a notamment été observé chez les bélugas du Saint-Laurent.

Tout le monde est inclus!

Les comportements socio-sexuels sont plus fréquemment observés chez les baleines à dents telles que les bélugas, les marsouins et les dauphins, mais sont aussi identifiables chez les rorquals. Ils sont souvent observés entre deux individus de même sexe, mais également de sexes opposés. De manière générale, les comportements sexuels non reproductifs sont moins subtiles et donc plus facilement étudiables chez les mâles. Néanmoins, les femelles de plusieurs espèces comme le grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus) ont montré savoir participer à des jeux socio-sexuels tels que la masturbation. Les comportements socio-sexuels ne sont pas exclusivement réservés aux individus sexuellement matures, les juvéniles ainsi que les individus post-reproducteurs chez certaines espèces peuvent aussi faire partie des jeux!

Les bélugas, bonobos du Saint-Laurent

L’estuaire du Saint-Laurent nous offre de parfaits exemples de comportements socio-sexuels de cétacés à travers les bélugas. En effet, ces baleines blanches, dont la saison de reproduction est restreinte au printemps, entretiennent pourtant une vie sexuelle très active à longueur d’année. Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, explique dans une entrevue aux Années Lumières, sur Radio-Canada, que la sexualité joue notamment un rôle très important dans la création d’alliances chez les mâles.

Il élabore également sur le fait que le développement de ces liens fidèles entre mâles semble se faire à travers des contacts physiques, mais aussi sexuels. Les érections sont très fréquentes chez les juvéniles, qui n’hésitent pas à se frotter entre eux, un phénomène que l’on retrouve chez plusieurs autres cétacés.

Tous ces jeux sexuels ont pu être observés grâce à l’utilisation de drones. Un moyen subtil, moderne et efficace d’étudier les comportements complexes des cétacés du Saint-Laurent sans pour autant perturber leur quotidien!

Actualité - 18/4/2024

Océane Denis

Océane Denis est stagiaire en rédaction pour Baleines en direct à l’hiver 2024. Grande amoureuse de la nature et des animaux, elle souhaite partager ses passions à travers l’écriture. Océane est à sa deuxième année de baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Articles recommandés

Les parasites chez les mammifères marins : une relation toxique

Parasite. Un mot qui donne souvent froid dans le dos. Pourtant, les mammifères marins en sont de grands habitués. Cétacés…

|Actualité 16/5/2024
L’automne dernier, le rorqual commun Ti-Croche a été pourvu d’une balise pour suivre sa migration. © Pêches et Océans Canada

La migration hivernale du rorqual commun Ti-Croche

Les migrations des grands rorquals recèlent encore bien des mystères. Où vont-ils en hiver? Combien de temps restent-ils dans l’estuaire?…

|Actualité 1/5/2024

Hybridation chez les rorquals bleus : encore des mystères à percer

Chassées, menacées, décimées. Les plus géantes de toutes les baleines ont subi les assauts de l’être humain au cours du…

|Actualité 11/4/2024