Since 2015, an uptick in the presence of North Atlantic right whales has been observed in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The alarm was sounded in 2017, when 17 carcasses were discovered in an unusual mortality event. Though historically absent from the region, this species has shifted its traditional range in recent years. This change is attributable to a variation in the availability of prey consumed by this cetacean. Why are right whales now visiting the Gulf of St. Lawrence? Researchers in the U.S. and Canada have begun to take an interest in this question.

The article published in Limnology and Oceanography discusses the shift in the North Atlantic right whale’s range. The oceanography of the Atlantic (especially in the northwest) is changing and is warming faster than other oceans. This has impacts on the availability of prey consumed by these giants of the seas.

Slightly more than 55,000 North Atlantic right whale sightings – from databases of the North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Transport Canada and the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) – have been made over the span of three decades, i.e. between 1990 and 2018.

Data on the abundance of zooplankton – the food that this species consumes – were also analyzed and correlated with observations in several regions. Data comparisons between decades have allowed researchers to draw two conclusions, namely that whales have begun to frequent the Gulf of St. Lawrence in spring, summer and fall, while at the same time increasingly shying away from the Gulf of Maine, the Bay of Fundy as well as the Scotian Shelf. How might we explain this change? The quantity of available prey has decreased significantly in these regions. Right whales have no choice but to take refuge in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. However, it is not that there is more food in the gulf than there was before, but rather that it is the “last restaurant open.”

Numerous concerns

The paucity of food available is having an impact on the reproductive rate of this endangered species. Indeed, pregnancy, calving and nursing are all very energy-intensive. Right whales are now increasingly encountered in unprotected waters. In particular, there are two natural whale reserves in the Scotian Shelf and Bay of Fundy region that were created in the early 1990s: the Grand Manan and Roseway basins. However, these protected areas are less and less frequented by right whales due to a lack of food.

In the Gulf of St. Lawrence, these whales are at greater risk of entanglement in fishing gear and ship strikes. A number of protection measures have been implemented in this region in response to the presence of this species, including speed limits for certain vessels as well as restricted areas for fishing or boating/shipping. However, implementing additional protective measures is challenging, as the animals’ distribution and their seasonal habitat use are changing. The study determined more precisely the sectors used by right whales since 2010, thus providing a basis for establishing new protected areas.

Since 2021, there has been an increase in the number of right whale births, which could indicate that the Gulf of St. Lawrence region is becoming suitable for this species, either because it has become accustomed to the region or because there is more food there. It is estimated that climate change could modify the range of copepods (e.g. Calanus finmarchicus) consumed by right whales, which may begin migrating poleward in the years to come. In order to adapt to climate change, North Atlantic right whales may begin to consume new prey such as other species of copepods (e.g. Calanus hyperboreus) that are abundant in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Traditional range in flux

The migratory route of North Atlantic right whales corresponds to the species’ movements between its breeding, calving, feeding and transit areas. Accompanied by juveniles and occasionally other individuals, females give birth in winter in the southeastern United States (near Florida). From the 1980s to 2010, these cetaceans returned to the Gulf of Maine every spring to feed. They then continued their migration, eventually reaching the Grand Manan and Roseway basins in the Scotian Shelf and Bay of Fundy region in summer and fall. Although they were sometimes observed outside these areas, their distribution has varied significantly since the 1990s, especially since the 2010s.

Close-up on North Atlantic right whale diet

Heterotrophic organisms (organisms that feed on organic substances) include zooplankton, which are divided into three large groups: crustaceans, rotifers and protozoa. Amongst crustaceans, there are water fleas (Cladocera) and copepods, which are found in all types of aquatic environments, from small ponds to oceans. Measuring between 0.5 and 3.5 mm, copepods feed on protozoa, small crustaceans, and occasionally larvae; others are herbivores.

North Atlantic right whales are baleen whales that feed extensively on copepods of the order Calanoida. The copepod Calanus finmarchicus is a prime prey for this species. Changes in the environmental conditions in which copepods live such as rising water temperatures and changing salinity in the Atlantic Ocean affect their ability to survive.

News - 8/12/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

Gala de la Terre: Belugas Given a Voice at Montréal’s Maison Symphonique

What if, for one evening, belugas were to become choir singers? Thanks to a composition by Claudie Bertounesque, which will…

|News 30/5/2024

Parasites in Marine mammals: A Toxic Relationship

Parasite. A word that often sends shivers down our spines. However, marine mammals are highly accustomed to them. Cetaceans and…

|News 16/5/2024
L’automne dernier, le rorqual commun Ti-Croche a été pourvu d’une balise pour suivre sa migration. © Pêches et Océans Canada

The Winter Migration of the Fin Whale Ti-Croche

The migrations of large rorquals still hold many mysteries. Where do they go in winter? How long do they stay…

|News 1/5/2024

Depuis 2015, une présence accrue des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord est remarquée dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. L’événement de mortalité inhabituelle en 2017, alors que 17 carcasses ont été retrouvées, a tiré la sonnette d’alarme. Cette espèce, historiquement absente de la région, s’est déplacée de son aire de répartition traditionnelle. Ce changement s’explique par une variation dans la disponibilité des proies que ce cétacé consomme. Pourquoi les baleines noires fréquentent-elles désormais le golfe du Saint-Laurent? Des chercheurs des États-Unis et du Canada se sont intéressés à cette question.

L’article paru dans Limnology and Oceanography traite du changement d’habitat des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord. L’océanographie de l’océan Atlantique, surtout au nord-ouest, change: il se réchauffe plus rapidement que les autres océans. Cela a des impacts sur la disponibilité des proies consommées par ces géantes des mers.

Ce sont un peu plus de 55 000 observations de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord – à partir des bases de données du North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium, de Pêches et Océans Canada, de Transport Canada et de la Station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS)– qui ont été recensées, sur trois décennies, entre 1990 et 2018.

Des données d’abondance de zooplancton, la nourriture que cette espèce consomme, ont aussi été analysées et mises en relation avec les observations dans plusieurs régions. Des comparaisons entre les décennies ont permis de tirer deux conclusions: les baleines se sont mises à fréquenter le golfe du Saint-Laurent pendant le printemps, l’été et l’automne, et à éviter le golfe du Maine, la baie de Fundy ainsi que la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise. Qu’est-ce qui explique ce changement? Le nombre de proies disponibles a diminué significativement dans ces régions. Les baleines noires n’ont d’autre choix que de se réfugier dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Or, il n’y a pas plus de nourriture dans le golfe qu’autrefois, il s’agit seulement du «dernier restaurant ouvert».

Nombre d’inquiétudes

La faible quantité de nourriture disponible nuit au taux de reproduction de cette espèce en voie de disparition. La grossesse, la mise bas et l’allaitement occasionnent une forte demande énergétique. Les baleines noires fréquentent dorénavant davantage de zones qui ne sont pas protégées. Il existe notamment deux réserves naturelles de baleines dans la région de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et de la baie de Fundy qui ont été créées au début des années 1990. Ce sont les bassins de Grand Manan et de Roseway. Ces zones protégées sont cependant de moins en moins fréquentées par les baleines noires, car la nourriture manque.

Dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, ces baleines sont davantage exposées à des risques d’empêtrement dans des engins de pêche et de collisions avec des navires. Quelques mesures de protection ont été instaurées dans cette région, en réponse à la présence de cette espèce, comme des limites de vitesse pour certains navires ainsi que des zones de restriction à la pêche ou à la navigation. Il est toutefois difficile de mettre en place davantage de mesures de protection, puisque leur distribution et leur utilisation des habitats en fonction des saisons sont changeantes. L’étude a permis de déterminer plus précisément les secteurs fréquentés depuis 2010 par les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, offrant ainsi une base sur laquelle se fonder pour la mise en place de nouvelles aires protégées.

Depuis 2021, le nombre de nouveau-nés a augmenté chez les baleines noires. Cela pourrait indiquer que la région du golfe du Saint-Laurent devient adéquate pour cette espèce, soit parce qu’elle s’est habituée à la région, soit parce qu’il y a davantage de nourriture. Il est estimé que les changements climatiques pourraient modifier l’aire de répartition des copépodes consommés par la baleine noire (Calanus finmarchicus) qui pourraient migrer vers le pôle dans les prochaines années. Afin de s’adapter aux changements climatiques, il est possible que les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord se mettent à consommer de nouvelles proies: d’autres espèces de copépodes, par exemple Calanus Hyperboreus, qui abondent dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Une distribution traditionnelle qui change

Le trajet migratoire des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord est conçu en fonction de leurs déplacements entre les zones de reproduction, de mise bas, d’alimentation et de transit. Les femelles, accompagnées de juvéniles et parfois d’autres individus, donnent naissance dans le sud-est des États-Unis, près de la Floride, pendant l’hiver. Des années 1980 à 2010, vers le printemps, ces cétacés rejoignaient le golfe du Maine pour s’alimenter. Ils poursuivaient ensuite leur migration pour finalement rejoindre les bassins de Grand Manan et de Roseway dans la région de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et de la baie de Fundy à l’été et l’automne. Bien qu’elles étaient parfois observées hors de ces zones, leur distribution a significativement varié depuis les années 1990, et de façon plus prononcée depuis les années 2010.

Zoom sur l’alimentation des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord

Parmi les organismes hétérotrophes, c’est-à-dire qui se nourrissent de substances organiques, le zooplancton se divise en trois grands groupes: les crustacés, les rotifères et les protozoaires. Parmi les crustacés, il y a les cladocères et les copépodes. Ces derniers se retrouvent dans tous les milieux aquatiques, du petit étang au grand océan. Les copépodes mesurent entre 0,5 et 3,5 mm. Ils se nourrissent de protozoaires, de petits crustacés, et parfois de larves. Certains d’entre eux sont herbivores.

Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont des baleines à fanons qui se nourrissent abondamment de copépodes de l’ordre Calanoida. L’espèce de copépodes Calanus finmarchicus est une proie de choix pour cette espèce de baleine. Les changements de conditions du milieu dans lequel vivent les copépodes, comme le réchauffement et la variation de la salinité de l’océan Atlantique, ont des effets sur leur capacité de survivre.

Actualité - 8/12/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Les bélugas et les drones: un appel à la prudence

Si les drones sont des outils utiles à la recherche sur les mammifères marins, il est légitime de se demander…

|Actualité 1/2/2023

Prévenir l’empêtrement des baleines par des pêches sans cordes

Le nouveau domaine des pêches sans cordes se développe grâce à la recherche et au développement de nouvelles initiatives depuis…

|Actualité 16/12/2022

Sélection de livres sur les baleines à découvrir

En cette saison froide, nombre d’espèces de baleines ont quitté le Saint-Laurent. Observer ces cétacés en chair et en os…

|Actualité 8/12/2022