Large rorquals continue to blow off the coasts of Franquelin and Godbout, making for some extraordinary winter observations. Elsewhere in the St. Lawrence, it is mostly seals that are being reported. The latter have been seen in a number of places, swimming near the shores of Tadoussac or lazing on the ice in Gaspé Bay.

Blue and fin whales on the horizon

In Franquelin, an experienced observer shares his encounters with whales for the week, each one more impressive than the last. “Another blue, plus two fin whales. […] Yesterday opposite the village the whales were feeding! And this afternoon there was a blue whale near Godbout! It’s just crazy! There’ve been spouts every day!” Two harp seals were also reported swimming near the shore. In Godbout, a local resident saw three large rorquals one morning: “There were three whales swimming parallel to the mountain, two of them together and a third one by itself which looked to me like a blue.”

Seal sightings

The return of ice to Gaspé Bay has also brought a few seals to the area. One marine mammal enthusiast gives an overview of pinniped sightings in the region: “At the very end of the day, there were around 150 to 200 on the ice, presumably harp seals. Friends of mine told me that there were several hundred of them a few days earlier on the ice opposite Pointe-Saint-Pierre, closer to where the bay meets the gulf. Near Cap-aux-Os, it didn’t last long, as the little bit of ice that was in the middle of the bay was blown away by the wind.”

A harbour seal was hanging out in the corner of Tadoussac’s Pointe de l’Îlet. It was even seen chasing away two black ducks! In Les Bergeronnes, a local resident reported that even if he did not see any seals or whale spouts, he still enjoyed the gorgeous sunny days. A few harbour seals were also spotted here and there in Les Escoumins.

What species of seal is it?

Between Kamouraska and Rimouski, a curious passer-by had the chance to observe a seal on the ice. She wondered what species it might be. Even if it is sometimes difficult to know what kind of seal we are looking at, especially if the individuals are far away, there are a few identification tricks that can help.

Harbour seals, which are year-round residents in the St. Lawrence, have rounded heads and V-shaped nostrils. Their snout resembles that of a dog. Greyish yellow to light brown in colour, their coat has a few spots on the back, while their belly is more uniform.

The harp seal arrives in the St. Lawrence in the fall and leaves in the spring. Newborns are completely white, while adults have irregular black spots. Males show a black harp-shaped marking on their backs, a pattern that is not always present in females.

Grey seals are not normally observed in the St. Lawrence during the winter. Instead, they are found off the coasts of Nova Scotia, where they breed and give birth.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Méduline Chailloux
Geneviève Charbonneau
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Robert Michaud
Diane Ostiguy
Sandrine Papias
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams that also share their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 15/2/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Marine Mammals and the Eclipse

On April 8, the banks of the St. Lawrence were basked in sunset-like lighting during the solar eclipse. For those…

|Observation of the Week 11/4/2024

April Whales

“Fin whales in Les Escoumins,” remarks one avid yet impressed observer: “Their powerful breaths really hit you in the gut!” “A…

|Observation of the Week 4/4/2024

A Week of Large Rorquals

Large rorquals continuing to wow observers, a few belugas, harp seals resting on the ice and harbour seals... What more…

|Observation of the Week 28/3/2024

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans le Saint-Laurent, ce sont plutôt des observations de phoques qui sont signalées. On les aperçoit à plusieurs endroits, nageant à proximité de la rive à Tadoussac ou étendus sur les glaces dans la baie de Gaspé.

Rorquals bleus et communs à l’horizon

À Franquelin, un observateur chevronné partage ses rencontres avec les baleines de la semaine, toutes plus étonnantes les unes que les autres. « Encore une bleue et deux rorquals communs. […] Hier en face du village ça s’alimentait! Une bleue à Godbout cet après-midi! C’est juste fou! Ça souffle tous les jours! » On rapporte également deux phoques du Groenland qui nageaient à proximité de la rive. À Godbout, un riverain aperçoit trois grands rorquals par un bon matin : « il y avait trois baleines le long de la montagne, dont deux ensemble et une troisième en solitaire qui me semblait être une bleue. »

Observer les phoques

Le retour de la glace dans la baie de Gaspé amène aussi quelques phoques, qui viennent s’y installer. Une passionnée des mammifères marins fait un topo des observations de pinnipèdes dans la région : « En toute fin de journée, il y en avait environ 150-200 sur la glace, à priori des phoques du Groenland. Des amis m’ont dit qu’il y en avait plusieurs centaines quelques jours auparavant sur de la glace en face de Pointe-Saint-Pierre, donc plus vers l’extérieur de la baie. Du côté de Cap-aux-Os, ça n’aura pas duré longtemps, le peu de glace qu’il y avait au milieu de la baie a été poussé par un peu de vent. »

Un phoque commun traîne dans le coin de la pointe de l’Ilet à Tadoussac. Il aurait même été aperçu en train d’effrayer deux canards noirs! Aux Bergeronnes, un riverain signale qu’il n’a vu ni phoque ni souffle, mais a quand même profité des superbes journées ensoleillées. Quelques phoques communs sont aussi repérés ici et là aux Escoumins.

Quelle espèce de phoque?

Entre Kamouraska et Rimouski, une curieuse a eu l’occasion d’observer un phoque sur les glaces. Elle se demandait de quelle espèce il pouvait bien s’agir. Même s’il est parfois difficile de savoir à quelle espèce de phoque on a affaire, particulièrement si les individus sont situés très loin, il y existe quand même quelques trucs rapides pour les identifier.

Les phoques communs, qui résident à l’année dans le Saint-Laurent, ont une tête arrondie et des narines en forme de « V ». Leur museau ressemble à celui d’un chien. De couleur gris-jaune à brun-clair, leur robe possède quelques taches sur le dos, alors que leur ventre est uniforme.

Le phoque du Groenland arrive quant à lui dans le Saint-Laurent à l’automne et repart au printemps. Les nouveau-nés sont complètement blancs, tandis que les adultes possèdent des taches noires irrégulières. Les mâles ont sur leur dos un motif noir en forme de harpe qui n’est pas toujours présent chez les femelles.

Les phoques gris ne sont normalement pas observés dans le Saint-Laurent durant l’hiver. On les retrouve plutôt au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse, où ils vont se reproduire et mettre bas.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Méduline Chailloux
Geneviève Charbonneau
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Robert Michaud
Diane Ostiguy
Sandrine Papias
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 15/2/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Retour des baleines dans l’estuaire

Deux rorquals communs, quantité de bélugas, plusieurs petits rorquals, un rorqual à bosse… le décompte des baleines observées dans le…

|Observations de la semaine 18/4/2024

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024