It appears that whales have finally made a big return to the estuary and gulf! From one end of the St. Lawrence to the other, several large rorquals have been reported, not to mention the numerous minke whales, seals and even harbour porpoises that bring smiles to the faces of those observing them.

Celebrity rorquals

Gaspar and Piton, two stars of the St. Lawrence, were both seen this past week! Gaspar is a female humpback that has been observed almost annually since 2006. It is therefore exciting to see her coming to feed in the estuary once again this year! She is easily recognizable thanks to the colour pattern on the ventral side of her caudal fin. Her right lobe shows the shape of the famous ghost to which she owes her moniker. The fin whale Piton is also amongst the estuary’s most faithful visitors, having been seen almost every year since 2010! It is recognizable by its highly contrasting chevrons. Piton owes its name to the small protuberance on its left chevron. The fin whale Bp919 was also identified and the mysterious, potentially hybrid rorqual is still roaming the sector.

Blue whales in the gulf

For the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), the season is off to a strong start with several IDs. The MICS team tallied one blue whale, two fin whales and two humpbacks in the Mingan sector. Seals and harbour porpoises were also reported. In the Sept-Îles area, two blue whales were identified, while two sightings of this species were also reported from the Gaspé.

During an outing in the estuary, a navigator who collaborates with MICS is thrilled with his observations of large rorquals, especially since his previous trips this spring were not so productive. He shares the day’s trip list: “Eight fin whales, two blues, three humpbacks, three belugas and one minke. A reassuring yield after a long dry spell.” In Sept-Îles, smoke is putting a damper on observations from shore, though harbour porpoises and minke whales have been mentioned.

“Dozens upon dozens of porpoises… I’ve never seen so many! They’re everywhere!” exclaims a resident of Franquelin when describing the presence of marine mammals in his area, where minke whales and a humpback whale were also observed.

In Gaspé Bay, the marine mammal tally is growing: “Harbour porpoises, minke whales, one blue whale (our first of the summer!), four fin whales and around ten humpbacks,” writes in one naturalist. Every day is different depending on the winds, tides and temperature. Observations go from feast to famine. “Some days are chock-full of whales, others they are more difficult to observe apart from harbour seals lazing on the rocks accompanied for the season by the occasional grey seal, a handful of porpoises and a few minke whales.” A basking shark also reportedly ventured into the bay. In the salty waters off Grande-Vallée, a few white whales entertained the locals who stopped to admire them.

At the water’s edge

On June 24, a marine mammal enthusiast in Les Escoumins heads to the coast for a little whale watching on the rocks. The day would be punctuated with whales and surprises: “I spotted a blast offshore,” she begins, “hard to say what species it was without my binoculars, but during the dive I think I saw a tail resembling that of a humpback. As I wait for it to surface again, I hear a minke whale blow, so close I can’t see it because of the rocks.”

She stands up to look for it, expecting to see it resurface any second. Several individuals were also present on site, just before the sighting took an unexpected turn. “Suddenly, there was a loud blow from a large whale; it was a fin whale, less than 100 metres from the rocks! Everyone is amazed. We forget about the minke whales and the humpback and for a half hour our focus of attention is on the fin whale swimming near the cove known as Anse à Jos. At one point, a minke whale was swimming near the fin whale; perhaps there was food and they were sharing the buffet! A minke whale also passed near the rocks where the fin whale had been a few minutes earlier.”

Several harbour porpoises were also spotted swimming near the banks. The following day, a juvenile leaped completely out of the water. “It was really cute! Juveniles are already adorable because they’re so small, but to see one literally jump out of the water like a dolphin, my heart just melted!”

From Cap de Bon-Désir, naturalists admire the marine fauna, the fresh river breeze and a jaw-dropping landscape. They see a humpback whale blowing in the distance, a few harbour porpoises and a minke whale. “Between the sunset and the calm sea,” describes one of them, “it was simply awesome to watch the minke whale surface while the humpback was blowing in the background.” All along the coast, Whales Onlinecollaborators are also reporting the presence of groups of belugas, grey seals and harbour seals, not to mention two fin whales farther offshore.

Where are the whales this week? Observation map

These data were reported by our network of observers. The observations give a rough idea of the presence of whales, but do not in any way represent the true distribution of cetaceans in the St. Lawrence. Enjoy!

Click on the whale or seal icons to see the species, number of individuals observed, additional information or photos of the sighting. To zoom in on the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but less so on Safari.

To display the list of observations, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Rachel Bois
Ginette Cormier
Guylaine Côté
Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Thalia Cohen-Bacry
Laetitia Desbordes
Gabriel GL
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Yael Medav
Élizabeth Melis
Camille Nem
Diane Ostiguy
Daniel Patry
Chloé Pazart
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Jean Roy
Marie-Josée Roy
René Roy
Andréanne Sylvain
Véronique Tanguay
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams that also share their sightings:

Sept-Îles Research and Education Centre (CERSI)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (MMON)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN)
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 27/6/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Whale Frenzy

From the smallest to the largest, whales of all sorts are currently gathered in the St. Lawrence! Harbour porpoises are…

|Observation of the Week 11/7/2024

Return of Siam and a Basking Shark in Gaspésie

Siam, the estuary’s oldest humpback whale, is back! Whales were swimming just about everywhere in the St. Lawrence, including good…

|Observation of the Week 4/7/2024

A Hybrid Rorqual in the St. Lawrence?

With the heatwave of the last few days, the cool, refreshing winds blowing over the river were certainly more than…

|Observation of the Week 20/6/2024

Les baleines semblent être bel et bien arrivées dans l’estuaire et dans le golfe! La présence de plusieurs grands rorquals est rapportée d’un bout à l’autre du Saint-Laurent, sans compter les nombreux petits rorquals, les phoques ou encore les marsouins communs qui font la joie des observateurs et observatrices.

Des grands rorquals vedettes

Gaspar et Piton, deux grands rorquals vedettes du Saint-Laurent ont été vus dans la dernière semaine! Gaspar est une femelle rorqual à bosse observée presque tous les ans depuis 2006. C’est donc une joie de la voir cette année encore venir se nourrir dans l’estuaire! Elle est facilement reconnaissable grâce au patron de coloration sur la face ventrale de sa nageoire caudale. Sur le lobe droit, on peut voir le profil du célèbre fantôme qui lui a valu son nom. Le rorqual commun Piton compte aussi parmi les plus fidèles de l’estuaire. Il est aperçu presque chaque année depuis 2010! Il est reconnaissable par ses chevrons très contrastés, pratique pour son identification. Il doit son nom à la petite protubérance qui trône sur son chevron gauche. Le rorqual commun Bp919 a également été identifié, tandis que le mystérieux rorqual commun potentiellement hybride circule toujours.

Des rorquals bleus dans le golfe

Pour la Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS), la saison débute en force avec plusieurs identifications. L’équipe dénombre un rorqual bleu, deux rorquals communs et deux rorquals à bosses à Mingan. Des phoques et des marsouins communs sont aussi signalés. Dans le coin de Sept-Îles, deux rorquals bleus sont identifiés, même topo du côté de Gaspé, où on recense deux observations de rorquals bleus.

Lors d’une sortie dans l’estuaire, un navigateur et collaborateur du MICS se réjouit de ses observations de grands rorquals, ses sorties précédentes ce printemps ayant été moins fructueuses. Il partage les résultats de sa journée : « Huit rorquals communs, deux rorquals bleus, trois rorquals à bosse, trois bélugas et un petit rorqual. Une récolte réconfortante après cette longue disette.  » À Sept-Îles, la fumée empêche plusieurs observations depuis la rive, bien qu’on mentionne la présence de marsouins communs et de petits rorquals.

« Des dizaines et des dizaines de marsouins, j’en ai jamais vu autant! Il y en a partout! » s’exclame un résident de Franquelin en parlant de la présence de mammifères marins dans son coin, où des petits rorquals et un rorqual à bosse ont aussi été vus.

Dans la baie de Gaspé, le décompte des mammifères marins s’allonge : « Des marsouins communs, des petits rorquals, une baleine bleue (notre première de l’été!), quatre communs et  une dizaine de bosses », énumère un naturaliste. Les journées sont variées, selon les vents, les marées ou la température. Les observations passent du tout à rien. «Certaines journées sont remplies de baleines, d’autres, elles sont plus difficilement observables, hormis les phoques communs qui se prélassent sur les roches, accompagnés encore pour la saison de rares phoques gris, quelques marsouins et peu de petits rorquals. » Un requin-pèlerin se serait aussi aventuré dans la baie. À Grande-Vallée, quelques baleines blanches nagent dans l’eau salée, au grand plaisir des résidents et résidentes qui les admirent.

Les moments au bord de l’eau

Le 24 juin, une passionnée des mammifères marins se dirige vers la côte aux Escoumins pour une séance d’observations sur les rochers. Ponctuée de surprises, la journée sera remplie par la présence des baleines : « Je repère un souffle au large, commence-t-elle, difficile de dire l’espèce sans mes jumelles, mais lors de la plongée je crois bien avoir vu une caudale rappelant un rorqual à bosse. J’attends qu’il ressorte et j’entends des souffles de petit rorqual, il est tellement près que je ne le vois pas à cause des rochers. »

Elle se lève ensuite en le cherchant des yeux, s’attendant à le voir d’une minute à l’autre. Plusieurs personnes étaient également présentes sur place, juste avant que l’observation prenne une tournure inattendue. « Soudainement, un gros souffle d’une grosse baleine retentit : il s’agit d’un rorqual commun à moins de 100 mètres des rochers! Tout le monde s’émerveille, on oublie les petits rorquals, le rorqual à bosse et on a observé le rorqual commun se promener devant l’anse à Jos pendant 30 minutes. À un moment donné, un petit rorqual nageait près de lui, peut-être qu’il y avait de la bouffe et ils se partageaient le buffet! Un petit rorqual est aussi passé près des rochers, où le rorqual commun se trouvait quelques minutes auparavant.

Plusieurs marsouins communs nageant près de la berge ont aussi été repérés. Le lendemain, un juvénile faisait un saut complet hors de l’eau. « C’était vraiment cute! Les juvéniles sont déjà mignons parce qu’ils sont si petits, mais d’en voir un qui a littéralement sauté hors de l’eau comme un dauphin, mon cœur a fondu! »

Depuis le Cap de Bon-Désir, des naturalistes apprécient la faune marine, l’air frais du fleuve et un paysage éblouissant. Ils et elles y ont vu le souffle d’un rorqual à bosse au loin, quelques marsouins communs et un petit rorqual. «  Avec le coucher de soleil et la mer d’huile, décrit l’un d’entre eux, c’était magnifique de regarder le petit rorqual sortir de l’eau, en plus du souffle de la bosse en fond. » Le long de la côte, les collaborateurs et collaboratrices de Baleines en direct rapportent aussi la présence de bélugas nageant en groupes, de phoques gris, de phoques communs en plus de deux rorquals communs qui circulaient au large.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Rachel Bois
Ginette Cormier
Guylaine Côté
Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Thalia Cohen-Bacry
Laetitia Desbordes
Gabriel GL
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Yael Medav
Élizabeth Melis
Camille Nem
Diane Ostiguy
Daniel Patry
Chloé Pazart
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Jean Roy
Marie-Josée Roy
René Roy
Andréanne Sylvain
Véronique Tanguay
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :

Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Îles (CERSI)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 27/6/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée! Pour…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024