Although the start of the season has been a quiet one, whales seem to have finally arrived in the St. Lawrence. A few well-known humpbacks have been reported, not to mention numerous minke whales, grey seals and harbour porpoises, much to the delight of their observers.

Trio of humpbacks

The two humpback whales Guadeloupe and Aramis that were present last week remained in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park sector, accompanied this time by a newcomer, Gaspar. This female has been observed almost annually since 2006. She is easily recognizable by the colour pattern on the underside of her tail. Her right lobe shows the shape of the famous ghost to which she owes her moniker. The three cetaceans displayed a multitude of behaviours during the course of the week: “travelling, feeding, sleeping and a few more active displays.”

 

From the shores of Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, both residents and tourists passing through were able to admire marine mammals. Their checklists included harbour seals, grey seals, belugas, harbour porpoises and minke whales. Not far from Les Escoumins, one resident reports having observed two humpback whales, three fin whales, three minke whales, a dozen or so harbour porpoises and a few grey and harbour seals over the past few days.

Photographer and naturalist Renaud Pintiaux shares a number of noteworthy moments during his outings on the water: “Several minke whales in the Tadoussac and Les Bergeronnes area. Another highlight is the arrival of increasing numbers of grey seals today near Prince Shoal. The photos of the excrement released by Gaspar the humpback that he managed to capture are particularly impressive!

Evenings by the river’s edge

It was a quiet evening characterized by a calm river and late day heat when a group of residents was able to track a passing minke whale from the Cap-à-l’Aigle marina in La Malbaie. Although this vantage point offers a good field of view, the animal was only seen once breathing on the surface before it disappeared. A harbour seal was also swimming in the vicinity. In the cove known as Anse de Roche in Sacré-Coeur, a small harbour seal was spotted.

A little farther down the St. Lawrence, about four humpbacks were seen off the coast of Ragueneau. In Franquelin, cetaceans and pinnipeds have also been present! One marine mammal enthusiast was lucky enough to see a large rorqual foraging: “A fin whale seemed to be feeding by diving in one direction, then in the other direction in a series of laps, back and forth. I was elated!” Beyond that, other marine fauna was also very active: “a grey seal was diving along the shore, apparently also in feeding mode. Also, a minke whale made a quick appearance 20 metres from shore, I saw it just once thereafter toward the end of the bay where I am. Then a harbour seal poked its head out 5 metres from the water’s edge, staring straight at me and sniffing my scent that it was able to pick up in the light breeze.” Another observer reports the presence of a humpback whale, two fin whales, grey seals and harbour porpoises in the area.

Fin whales and a basking shark

At Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, staff from the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) was able to spot eight fin whales and one humpback. Harbour seals and harbour porpoises were also sighted in Havre-Saint-Pierre.

On the south shore, belugas were spotted in both Kamouraska and Matane. Out in Gaspé Bay, harbour seals have been swimming in the area, but it was a basking shark that stole the show! Measuring approximately 10 metres long, the basking shark is the second largest shark in the world. It is also a filter feeder, feeding on plankton in much the same way as certain rorquals. The basking shark is one of seven species of sharks found in the St. Lawrence. Learn more about the species on the St. Lawrence Shark Observatory website. Humpback whales and a few seals were also reported. In short, we feel that the season is finally well underway!

Where are the whales this week? Observations map

These infomations were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence river. Simply use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 6/7/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Si le début de saison était tranquille, les baleines semblent être bel et bien arrivées dans le Saint-Laurent. La présence de plusieurs rorquals à bosse bien connus est rapportée, sans compter les nombreux petits rorquals, phoques gris ou encore les marsouins communs qui font la joie des observateurs et observatrices.

Un trio de rorquals à bosse

Les deux rorquals à bosse Guadeloupe et Aramis qui étaient présents la semaine dernière sont restés dans le secteur du parc marin Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, accompagnés d’un nouveau venu, Gaspar. Cette femelle a été observée presque tous les ans depuis 2006. Elle est facilement reconnaissable grâce au patron de coloration sur la face ventrale de sa caudale. Sur le lobe droit, on peut voir le profil du célèbre fantôme qui lui a valu son nom. Les trois cétacés ont affiché une multitude de comportements au courant de la semaine : « déplacement, alimentation, sommeil et quelques moments plus actifs. »

Depuis les rives du cap de Bon-Désir aux Bergeronnes, autant les résidents et résidentes que les touristes de passage ont pu contempler les mammifères marins. Au rendez-vous, des phoques communs, des phoques gris, des bélugas, des marsouins communs et des petits rorquals. Dans le secteur des Escoumins, un riverain dénombre l’observation de deux rorquals à bosse, trois rorquals communs, trois petits rorquals, d’une dizaine de marsouins communs et de quelques phoques gris et communs dans les derniers jours.

Le photographe et naturaliste Renaud Pintiaux partage plusieurs moments notables lors de ses sorties sur l’eau : « plusieurs petits rorquals dans le secteur de Tadoussac et Les Bergeronnes. Autre fait marquant, l’arrivée de plus en plus de phoques gris aujourd’hui près du Haut-Fond-Prince. » Les photos des déjections du rorqual à bosse Gaspar qu’il a réussi à capturer sont particulièrement impressionnantes!

Des soirées au bord du fleuve

C’est lors d’une soirée tranquille, accompagné d’un fleuve calme et d’une chaleur de fin de soirée qui réchauffe la berge, qu’un groupe de résidents a pu suivre le passage d’un petit rorqual au quai de Cap-à-l’Aigle à La Malbaie. Même si le point de vue offre une bonne vision périphérique, l’animal n’a été aperçu qu’une seule fois respirant à la surface avant de repartir. Un phoque commun nageait aussi à proximité du quai. Du côté de l’Anse-de-Roche, à Sacré-Cœur, un petit phoque commun aurait aussi été repéré.

Un peu plus en aval du Saint-Laurent, environ quatre rorquals à bosse ont été vus au large de Ragueneau. À Franquelin, les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont aussi bien présents! Une enthousiaste des mammifères marins a eu l’occasion de contempler un grand rorqual en pleine alimentation : « Un rorqual commun semble s’alimenter en faisant une plongée dans une direction, une plongée dans l’autre direction, pour faire une série d’allers-retours à mon plus grand bonheur! » Un peu plus loin, la faune marine est aussi bien active : « un phoque gris faisait des plongées le long de la berge, semblant lui aussi s’alimenter. Un petit rorqual vient à 20 mètres du bord pour une apparition rapide, je ne le revois qu’une seule fois par la suite vers le bout de la baie où je me trouve. Ensuite, un phoque commun est sorti à 5 mètres du bord de l’eau, me regardant fixement, sentant mon odeur d’humain qui se rend à lui par la légère brise. » Une autre personne rapporte la présence d’un rorqual à bosse, de deux rorquals communs, de phoques gris et de marsouins communs dans le secteur.

Des communs et un requin-pèlerin

À Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, l’équipe de la station de recherche des îles Mingan a pu voir huit rorquals communs et un rorqual à bosse. Des phoques communs et des marsouins communs ont aussi été aperçus à Havre-Saint-Pierre.

Sur la rive sud, des bélugas sont repérés autant à Kamouraska qu’à Matane. Du côté de la baie de Gaspé, des phoques communs nagent dans le secteur, mais c’est la présence d’un requin-pèlerin qui vole la vedette! Long d’une dizaine de mètres, le requin-pèlerin est le deuxième plus gros requin au monde. C’est aussi un filtreur, qui se nourrit de plancton comme plusieurs rorquals. Le requin-pèlerin est l’une des sept espèces de requins présentes dans le Saint-Laurent. Apprenez-en plus sur le site de l’Observatoire des requins du Saint-Laurent. La présence de rorquals à bosse et de quelques phoques est aussi rapportée. Bref, on sent que la saison est finalement bien entamée!

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 6/7/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent, depuis la rive!

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée, et…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024