Whether they consume krill, fish or invertebrates, whales come to feed in the St. Lawrence and the immense smörgåsbord it represents. From the great blue whale in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park to the smallest porpoise in Sept-Îles, marine mammals are devouring their meals and regaining strength after their long migrations. Nearly everywhere, minke whales perform impressive feats to take the largest bites possible, while in Gaspésie a humpback whale feeds on the surface, showing off its baleen.

Surface feeding humpbacks in Gaspésie

In Gaspésie, this year’s whale-watching season began with a bang: “We’ve been spoiled since the start of the season,” comments one regular observer. It’s a beautiful day, with almost no wind. There are two fin whales that we’ve been seeing regularly and many minke whales. This morning, five humpbacks were spotted.” He also had the chance to see a humpback feeding near the surface. This behaviour is rarely observed in the St. Lawrence, but is more frequent in the Pacific. Exposing their baleen, their enormous throat is extended to gulp down as much food as possible.

Humpback whales are also well known for their sophisticated bubble cloud feeding technique. By exhaling air through their blowhole, they create air bubbles to frighten their prey. The bubbles can even encircle and trap their prey, allowing the humpback to enjoy a big bite. The Mingan Island Cetacean Study has already observed the bubble net technique on a few occasions, but the behaviour remains quite rare in this region. This phenomenon is well documented off the coasts of Alaska and northern British Columbia.

From Mingan to Franquelin

For pleasure boaters plying the waters of the Mingan sector, each outing is accompanied by sightings of birds or marine mammals, all of which are carefully recorded. On June 2 at 9:30 a.m., the day begins in style with a few harbour porpoises swimming offshore. Periodic stops to collect garbage add a positive environmental spin to the outing. The boaters cross paths with minke whales and seals. “Around 30 harp seals splashing about in the water and flocks of gulls above.” Cormorants, black guillemots, terns and gulls round out the picture on this day packed with observations.

In Sept-Îles, a bald eagle soars in the sky while a trio of minke whales feeds below. Perhaps the capelin are rolling on the beaches? The spawning period for this species in the St. Lawrence runs between mid-April and July. The presence of over 20 harbour porpoises is also reported. A local resident took advantage of the good weather to enjoy a stroll on the beach in Gallix: “It was so beautiful. I was walking on the beach, the sea was calm and I said to myself that I would see something… After a while, a minke whale made an initial brief appearance far offshore, heading west, and then, 15 minutes later (at dusk), another minke whale (or perhaps the same one) was seen heading east.”

In the estuary, a jaunt between Matane, Pointe-des-Monts and Franquelin offers a cetacean enthusiast “perfect visibility over a calm sea.” Although no large rorquals were encountered, a few belugas were seen feeding off Pointe-des-Monts. Birds were also present, including “red-necked phalaropes circling frantically on the water surface to stir up the invertebrates on which they feed.” A large offshore blast near Baie Saint-Nicholas between Franquelin and Godbout is rather mysterious. Definitely a large rorqual, but it’s hard to say of what species. A little farther east, at Godbout, a minke whale breaches in the distance, porpoises are present in large numbers and two burly grey seals poke their heads above the water surface that resembles a sheet of glass, poetically describes one enthusiast.

Enchantment in the Marine Park!

For those who spend time near the river, there are many wonderful stories of encounters with marine mammals. In Les Escoumins, a local woman had the chance to see whales up close… from shore! “A minke whale passed close by,” she says, “even surprising us with its breathing! There was also a fin whale far offshore that decided to approach us and come close to the rocks. And to top it all off, there was also a solitary beluga, a grey seal and a total of around 15 harbour porpoises.”

Belugas were seen swimming off Saint-Irénée and Saint-Siméon, much to the delight of the locals admiring them from shore. In Port-au-Persil, a white whale was observed on June 2 in calm weather, as were three or four harbour porpoises.

A seasonal worker who is already in her third summer in the region was surprised to observe a number of harp seals. “I had never seen harp seals in my life and frankly, it was magical. It was the highlight of my day and of the cruise, even if we also saw lots of fin whales. But the way they swam and turned on their backs, not to mention their cute faces, it was just magical. I felt like a child discovering something completely new and interesting.” Could whale watching have the power to bring us back to our childhood?

Also seen this past week, the largest swimmer in our oceans. Yes indeed, a blue whale was observed in the Marine Park! “The season is off to a great start,” points out one observer. “The fin whales that are always present off the dunes were joined by one blue and a handful of humpbacks. Quite a few seals here and there, as well as porpoises and minke whales hunting among the thousands of birds off the coast of Tadoussac. On Sunday off the coast of Les Escoumins, between the birds and the marine mammals, it was a royal feast. The humpbacks, fins, minkes and belugas, not to mention a lone blue whale, carved out a place for themselves amongst the gulls in the all-you-can-eat marine buffet. So many displays for the month of May and early June!”

News from Tic Tac Toe

The humpback whale Tic Tac Toe (H509) has been back in the Marine Park since May 29. Her thinner-than-normal body condition is a concern for the community, which is particularly attached to this star of the St. Lawrence. Initial images transmitted by captains and naturalists show a severely emaciated animal. This case is being closely monitored by the team from the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN).

Drone-captured images did not show any signs of collision or entanglement, but do confirm that Tic Tac Toe is in poor condition. The veterinarians and experts consulted believe that her condition is critical. It is not yet known what led Tic Tac Toe to this state, but drone images taken in September 2023 show that she was already emaciated at that time compared to the other humpbacks present in the estuary. Her condition has further deteriorated in recent months. It is unknown whether Tic Tac Toe is able to feed on her own. However, we know that animals in a comparable state can survive for several weeks or even months. Very few cases of recovery have been observed, however. These situations are usually irreversible. Tic Tac Toe’s fate will depend on her ability to feed on her own. The presence of good numbers of large rorquals in the Marine Park in recent weeks suggests that food is abundant. It is by avoiding disturbing Tic Tac Toe that we can help her recover.

In order to give her the best chances of survival, QMMERN reminds all visitors to the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park to keep their distance from Tic Tac Toe and to not include her in their observation activities. If you think you see her, even if you’re not sure, keep your distance anyway and contact QMMERN immediately at 1-877-722-5346. Do not approach to take photos or videos.

Where are the whales this week? Map of observations

This week sees the return of this week’s observation map! These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Just for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Odélie Brouillette
Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Thalia Cohen-Bacry
Guylaine Côté
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Élizabeth Melis
Stephane Pagès
Valérie Patry
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Christine Stadelmann
Jean Roy
René Roy
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams that also share their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 7/6/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Return of a Legend: Tic Tac Toe is in the Estuary

The humpback whale Tic Tac Toe was observed in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park for the first time this year!…

|Observation of the Week 30/5/2024

Five fin whales in the estuary, including Orion and Bp913!

Fin whales are stealing the show this week, in large numbers. Individuals have even been identified, and some regulars are…

|Observation of the Week 24/5/2024

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Qu’elles mangent du krill, du poisson ou des invertébrés, les baleines viennent s’alimenter dans l’immense buffet que constitue le Saint-Laurent. Du grand rorqual bleu aperçu dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent au plus petit marsouin vu à Sept-Îles, les mammifères marins ingurgitent leurs repas, reprenant des forces après une longue migration. Les petits rorquals exécutent des prouesses pour prendre les plus grandes bouchées possible un peu partout, tandis qu’en Gaspésie un rorqual à bosse s’alimente en surface, affichant ses fanons.

Alimentation de surface des rorquals à bosse en Gaspésie

En Gaspésie, la saison d’observation des baleines a commencé en force cette année : « On est choyés depuis le début de la saison, commente un habitué. Il fait super beau, presque pas de vent. Il y deux communs qu’on voit régulièrement et beaucoup de petits rorquals. Ce matin, cinq bosses ont été repérées. » Il a aussi eu la chance de voir un rorqual à bosse s’alimenter en surface. Il s’agit d’un comportement rarement observé dans le Saint-Laurent, mais plus fréquent dans le Pacifique. Dévoilant leurs fanons, leur énorme gorge est déployée pour engouffrer le maximum de nourriture.

Les rorquals à bosse sont aussi bien connus pour leur technique d’alimentation sophistiquée de nuage de bulles. En expirant de l’air par leur évent, ils créent des bulles d’air pour effrayer leurs proies. Les séries de bulles peuvent même encercler les proies qui se retrouvent piégées tandis que le rorqual à bosse peut prendre une belle grande bouchée. La Station de recherche des Îles Mingan a déjà observé la technique de la pêche au filet de bulles à quelques reprises, mais le comportement reste assez rare dans cette région. Ce phénomène est bien documenté au large de l’Alaska et du au nord de la Colombie-Britannique.

De Mingan à Franquelin

Pour des plaisanciers qui naviguent dans le coin de Mingan, chaque sortie sur l’eau s’accompagne d’observations d’oiseaux ou de mammifères marins qui sont consignées minutieusement. Le 2 juin à 9h30, la journée commence en beauté avec quelques marsouins communs qui nagent au large. Des escales pour ramasser des déchets permettent d’ajouter un beau geste écologique à la sortie. Leur chemin croise la route de petits rorquals et de phoques. « Une trentaine de phoques du Groenland qui brassent l’eau et une nuée de goélands au-dessus. » Cormorans, guillemots à miroir, sternes, goélands et mouettes ponctuent aussi la journée riche en observations.

À Sept-Îles, une pygargue à tête blanche plane dans le ciel pendant qu’un trio de petits rorquals s’alimentent. Peut-être des capelans qui roulent sur les plages? Leur période de frai est entre la mi-avril et juillet dans le Saint-Laurent. On rapporte aussi la présence de plus d’une vingtaine de marsouins communs. Une riveraine a profité du beau temps pour marcher sur la plage à Gallix : « C’était tellement beau ; je marchais sur la plage, la mer était calme et je me disais que je verrais bien quelque chose… Après un certain temps, au large une première brève apparition d’un petit rorqual au loin se dirigeant vers l’ouest et puis 15 min plus tard, un petit rorqual (peut-être le même) se dirigeant cette fois-ci vers l’est à la brunante. »

Dans l’estuaire, un trajet entre Matane, Pointe-des-Monts et Franquelin offre à un passionné des cétacés « une visibilité parfaite sur une mer calme ». Si aucun grand rorqual n’a été rencontré, quelques bélugas s’alimentaient devant Pointe-des-Monts. Les oiseaux étaient aussi de la partie : « Phalaropes à bec étroit qui tournaient frénétiquement sur eux-même en surface pour soulever les invertébrés dont ils se nourrissent. » Un grand souffle au large près de la baie Saint-Nicholas entre Franquelin et Godbout est plutôt mystérieux. Il s’agit certainement d’un grand rorqual, mais difficile d’identifier l’espèce. Un peu plus à l’Est, à Godbout, un petit rorqual breache au loin, des marsouins sont présents en grand nombre et deux immenses phoques gris sortent longuement la tête à travers le miroir de l’eau, décrit avec poésie une passionnée.

L’émerveillement dans le parc marin!

Les belles histoires de rencontres avec les mammifères marins s’accumulent pour ceux et celles qui passent du temps près du fleuve. Aux Escoumins, une nord côtière a eu la chance de voir des baleines de très près, et ce depuis la rive! « Un petit rorqual est passé tout près, raconte-t-elle, le souffle nous a même surpris! Il y avait aussi un rorqual commun très au large qui a décidé de se rapprocher de nous et est passé près des rochers. Pour compléter le tout, il y avait aussi un béluga solitaire, un phoque gris et un total d’une quinzaine de marsouins communs. »

Les bélugas nagent quant à eux devant Saint-Irénée et Saint-Siméon, au grand plaisir des riverains qui les admirent depuis la rive. À Port-au-Persil, une baleine blanche est observée le 2 juin par temps calme, ainsi que trois à quatre marsouins communs.

Une observation de phoques du Groenland a surpris une saisonnière qui en est déjà à son troisième été. « Je n’avais encore jamais de ma vie vu des phoques du Groenland et franchement, c’était magique. C’était le highlight de ma journée et de la croisière et pourtant, on avait aussi vu plein de rorquals communs. Mais leur façon de nager et de se tourner sur le dos -et leur tête tellement cute – c’était juste magique. Je me suis sentie comme un enfant qui découvre quelque chose de tout nouveau et intéressant. » L’observation des baleines aurait-elle le pouvoir de nous faire voyager en enfance?

Le plus grand nageur des océans a également été vu dans la dernière semaine. En effet, un rorqual bleu a été observé dans le parc marin! « C’est tout en beauté que débute cette saison », souligne une observatrice. « Des communs toujours aux dunes accompagnaient une bleue et des bosses. Pas mal de phoques ici et là, marsouins et petits rorquals en chasse parmi des milliers d’oiseaux au large de Tadoussac. Dimanche, au départ des Escoumins, un festin royal entre oiseaux et mammifères marins. Les bosses, la bleue, les communs, les petits et bélugas se forgeaient une place dans le buffet marin parmi les mouettes et goélands. Que de spectacles pour le mois de mai et ce début juin! »

Des nouvelles de Tic Tac Toe

​​Le rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe (H509) est de retour dans le parc marin depuis le 29 mai. Sa condition corporelle plus maigre que normale a inquiété la communauté qui tient particulièrement à cette vedette du Saint-Laurent. Les premières images transmises par les capitaines et naturalistes montrent un animal sévèrement amaigri. Son cas est suivi de près par l’équipe du Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM).

Les images captées par drone n’ont pas permis de voir des signes de collision ou d’empêtrement mais confirment que Tic Tac Toe est en mauvaise condition. Les vétérinaires et experts consultés jugent sa condition critique. Pour l’instant on ignore ce qui a conduit Tic Tac Toe à cet état mais des images de drones prises en septembre 2023 montrent qu’elle était déjà amaigrie en comparaison avec les autres rorquals à bosse présents dans l’estuaire. Sa condition s’est détériorée au cours des derniers mois. On ignore si Tic Tac Toe est en mesure de s’alimenter. On sait toutefois que des animaux dans un état semblable peuvent survivre plusieurs semaines voire plusieurs mois. Peu de   cas de rétablissement ont toutefois été observé. Ces situations sont habituellement irréversibles. Le sort de Tic Tac Toe dépendra de sa capacité à s’alimenter. La présence d’un bon nombre de grands rorquals dans le parc marin depuis quelques semaines laisse croire que la nourriture est présente. C’est en évitant de déranger Tic Tac Toe que nous pourrons favoriser son rétablissement.

Afin de lui laisser les meilleures chances pour qu’elle se rétablisse, le RQUMM rappelle à tous les usagers du PMSSL de rester loin de Tic Tac Toe et de ne pas l’inclure dans les activités d’observations. Si vous la voyez ou avez un doute sur son identité, gardez quand même vos distances et contactez immédiatement le RQUMM au 1-877-722-5346. Ne vous approchez pas pour prendre des photos ou des vidéos.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Cette semaine signe le retour de la carte des observations de la semaine! Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Odélie Brouillette
Marie-Andrée Charleboix
Thalia Cohen-Bacry
Guylaine Côté
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Élizabeth Melis
Stephane Pagès
Valérie Patry
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Christine Stadelmann
Jean Roy
René Roy
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :

Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Îles (CERSI)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 7/6/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les pieds sur terre, les yeux vers le large

Le blanc des bélugas réfléchit les rayons du soleil dans l’estuaire, les petits rorquals abondent, le rorqual à bosse Irisept…

|Observations de la semaine 13/6/2024

Le retour d’une vedette : Tic Tac Toe est dans l’estuaire

Le rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe a été observé dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent pour la première fois…

|Observations de la semaine 30/5/2024

Cinq rorquals communs dans l’estuaire, dont Orion et Bp913!

Présents en grand nombre cette semaine, les rorquals communs volent la vedette. Les individus ont même pu être identifiés et…

|Observations de la semaine 24/5/2024