Some whales bear reminders of their past. Sometimes inconspicuous, sometimes more pronounced, scars of all shapes and sizes mark the skin of these marine mammals. Any number of events can lead to these markings, and at any stage of the animals’ lives. Causes may be associated with human activities or with intra – or inter-specific interactions, i.e. between individuals of the same species or of different species.

Whales’ smooth-looking skin is in direct contact with the water and the air. It covers a thick layer of blubber that allows them to retain heat and stay warm. The absence of fur means that injuries are easy to see!

Entanglements...

Fishing gear (article in French) includes nets, ropes, traps, lines and dredges on which non-target species can sometimes get caught or ensnared. Whales can become entangled in such equipment, which sometimes leaves them scarred for life.

The ropes can get wrapped around the pectoral fins, in the mouth as well as around the head, body and peduncle (base of the caudal fin). Rope stretched across the whale’s skin can lead to wounds such as lacerations, notches and cuts. Such injuries can even result in the complete or partial truncation of the caudal and pectoral fins, or a discolouring of the skin. The tighter the rope and the heavier the gear, the deeper the wound will be. Entangled whales can also lose teeth or baleen if the fishing gear gets wrapped in or around their mouth.

... and lacerations

Injuries may also be caused by sharp objects, especially the parts of a boat such as the propeller, skeg or rudder. A cetacean that comes into contact with these elements may suffer incisions, lacerations, hash marks, etc. This type of injury is characterized by parallel, equidistant incisions that may be straight or S-shaped. The presence of a single linear or curved cut is also an indication of this type of accident.

Ship strikes

Blunt trauma can be caused by a whale rubbing or bumping against a hard surface such as the hull of a boat, a dock or an anchor, or even a beach. A collision, when it does not end fatally, can lead to permanent scarring. The severity and type of marks will depend on the size and thickness of the surface in question, the angle of impact as well as the part of the whale’s body affected. The range of injuries that may result include abrasion, contusion, laceration and skeletal fracture.

Scars may be characterized by a white mark running across the body, accompanied by a depression. The skin at the point of impact may also show a certain depigmentation.

Intra-specific competition: a question of supply and demand

In some species of whales, sparring between bulls in their breeding grounds can lead to scarring. This is due to the limited number of females ready to breed compared to the number of available males. Aggressive behaviour includes collisions, blows to the pectoral and caudal fins, peduncle, head, chin and entire body, and even biting.

Risk of predation

Certain killer whale populations sometimes adopt a specialized diet where they show a preference for marine mammals such as large rorquals or sperm whales. In this context, these predators sometimes attack calves near breeding sites, leaving them scarred for life, that is when the attacks are not lethal. Rake marks left by killer whales can be seen on the caudal fin of some individuals. The marks can also be found elsewhere on the body, but are more difficult to see.

This type of scar is characterized by the presence of three or more marks that are parallel and equidistant. In some cases, the attacks are more severe and part of the caudal fin may be lost altogether.

Waning health

The events that lead to scarring in cetaceans have an effect on their physical and psychological state. The presence of a cut, no matter how small it may be, is an entry point for microbes that can slow down tissue repair.

Scars can make the affected body part less resilient, cause loss of mobility and function, or even atrophy. Females that have survived a collision sometimes die when they become pregnant, as the scarred section of their abdomen ruptures due to pressure and stretching caused by the fetus. Additionally, tissue necrosis can lead to the loss of a limb.

Great remedies for great ills

The origins of scars in different species of whales are varied. Evidently, there is nothing that can be done to control intra- and inter-specific incidents, since this is simply Mother Nature at work! On the other hand, solutions do exist to reduce the occurrence of scars caused by human activities. For example, recently developed ropeless fishing gear can help prevent entanglements. Moreover, in order to support efforts to protect the endangered North Atlantic right whale as well as other cetacean species, “whalesafe” fishing gear will be mandatory beginning in 2023. Reducing boat speeds in regions frequented by cetaceans or simply avoiding these regions altogether also reduces the chances of collisions.

It is also possible to act on a smaller scale while still making a significant contribution to marine mammal protection. GREMM offers tools for citizens who wish to take action, in particular the “Navigating Whale Habitat” training, which allows participants to deepen their understanding of whales and the regulations in force to protect them. Awareness and education about whales and their health are powerful strategies for safeguarding their future!

Whale Q&A - 20/10/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

How can I find work with whales?

In a few weeks from now, scientists will be plying the waters of the St. Lawrence with the aim of…

|Whale Q&A 1/5/2024

Interpreting the Extraordinary Surface Behaviour of Humpback Whales

Humpback whales are also particularly entertaining, lifting their tails when diving, performing successive breaches, striking their pectorals or tail on…

|Whale Q&A 29/2/2024

Why do humpback whales sometimes interact with algae?

In an immense expanse of blue, a long and slender silhouette gently rises above the water surface. A string of…

|Whale Q&A 9/1/2024

Certaines baleines peuvent porter les vestiges de leur passé. Parfois légères, parfois profondes, des cicatrices imprègnent la peau de ces mammifères marins. Plusieurs évènements peuvent mener à des démarcations, et ce à n’importe quelle étape de leur vie. Les causes sont multiples : elles peuvent être dues à des activités humaines ou à des interactions intra et interspécifiques, c’est-à-dire entre individus d’une même espèce et d’espèces différentes.

La peau des baleines, d’apparence lisse, est en contact direct avec l’eau et l’air. Elle recouvre une épaisse couche de graisse qui leur permet de s’isoler. L’absence d’une fourrure fait ainsi en sorte que des blessures sont bien visibles!

Pris au piège

Les engins de pêche sont composés de filets, cordes, pièges, lignes et dragues qui peuvent parfois se prendre sur d’autres espèces non ciblées. Les baleines peuvent s’empêtrer dans ces équipements, les laissant parfois marquées à vie.

Les cordes peuvent s’enrouler sur les nageoires latérales, dans la bouche ainsi qu’autour de la tête, du corps et au début de la nageoire caudale. Le fil tendu sur la peau de la baleine peut causer des dommages : ces blessures se caractérisent par des lacérations, encoches et coupures. Elles peuvent même causer l’amputation complète ou partielle des nageoires caudales et pectorales, ou dépigmenter la peau. Plus le serrement de la corde est prononcé et l’engin accroché est lourd, plus la blessure va être profonde. Les baleines empêtrées peuvent aussi perdre des dents ou des fanons si l’engin de pêche se situe dans leur bouche.

Coupé au vif

Les blessures par objets tranchants sont causées par un objet assez coupant pour tailler. Il s’agit surtout des éléments dont est équipé un bateau : hélice, aileron et gouvernail. Un cétacé qui entre en contact avec ces objets peut subir incisions, lacérations, hachages, etc. Des incisions parallèles et équidistantes, soit droites, soit en « S », caractérisent ce genre de blessure. La présence d’une seule coupure linéaire ou courbée est aussi une indication de ce traumatisme.

Collision à tribord

Un trauma contondant implique notamment le fait qu’une baleine se frotte ou se cogne contre une surface dure, comme une coque de bateau, un quai ou un dispositif d’ancrage, ou même une plage. Une collision peut, lorsqu’elle ne cause pas la mort, entrainer des cicatrices permanentes. La gravité et le type de marques vont dépendre de la taille et de la grosseur de la surface en question, l’angle d’impact ainsi que l’endroit touché sur le corps des baleines. Il y a plusieurs types de blessures : abrasion, contusion, lacération et fracture du squelette.

Les cicatrices peuvent se caractériser par une marque blanche qui traverse le corps, accompagnée d’une dépression. Une dépigmentation de la peau peut aussi différencier le site d’impact.

La compétition intraspécifique : une question d’offre et de demande

Chez certaines espèces de baleines, des batailles entre mâles sur les sites de reproduction peuvent mener à des cicatrices. Cela est dû au nombre limité de femelles prêtes à se reproduire face à la quantité de mâles disponibles. Ces comportements agressifs englobent des collisions, des coups de nageoires latérales et caudale, de pédoncule, de tête, de menton et de corps en entier, ainsi que des morsures.

Les risques de la prédation

Certains groupes d’épaulards ont un régime alimentaire spécialisé, faisant en sorte qu’ils préfèrent se nourrir uniquement de mammifères marins, comme de grands rorquals ou de cachalots, plutôt que d’avoir une diète variée. Ainsi, ces prédateurs s’attaquent parfois à des baleineaux près de sites de reproduction, les laissant cicatrisés à vie lorsque ces attaques sont non létales. Il est possible de voir les marques de dents (rake marks) des épaulards sur la nageoire caudale de certains individus. Les marques peuvent se retrouver ailleurs sur le corps, mais elles sont plus difficiles à distinguer.

La présence de trois marques ou plus qui sont parallèles et équidistantes caractérise ce genre de cicatrice. Dans certains cas, les attaques sont plus sévères : une amputation d’une partie de la nageoire caudale peut subvenir.

Une santé altérée

Les évènements qui mènent à la formation de cicatrices ont des effets sur l’état physique et psychologique des cétacés. La présence d’une coupure, aussi petite qu’elle soit, est un point d’entrée pour des microbes qui ralentiront la réparation des tissus.

La présence de cicatrices peut rendre la partie du corps affectée moins résiliente, causer une perte de mobilité et de fonction, ou même de l’atrophie. Il arrive que les femelles qui ont survécu à une collision meurent lorsqu’elles sont en période de gestation : la section cicatrisée sur l’abdomen s’ouvre en raison de la pression et de l’étirement de ce dernier par le fœtus. En outre, une nécrose des tissus peut mener à une amputation de certains membres.

Aux grands maux les grands remèdes

Les origines des cicatrices chez les différentes espèces de baleines sont multiples. Il est évident qu’il n’y a rien à faire pour contrôler les incidents intra et interspécifiques, puisque c’est la nature qui fait son œuvre! Des solutions sont tout de même envisageables afin de diminuer l’occurrence des cicatrices causées par les activités humaines. Par exemple, de nouveaux engins de pêche sans cordage permettent d’éviter les empêtrements. D’ailleurs, afin de soutenir les efforts de protection de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, une espèce en voie de disparition, ainsi que les autres espèces de baleines, des engins de pêche sécuritaires devront être obligatoirement utilisés à partir de l’année 2023. La diminution de la vitesse des bateaux dans les régions fréquentées par les cétacés ou tout simplement l’évitement de ces régions permet aussi de réduire les chances de collisions.

Il est aussi possible d’agir à plus petite échelle, tout en ayant un gros impact dans la protection des mammifères marins. Le GREMM offre des outils pour le public souhaitant agir. Notamment, la formation « Naviguer dans l’habitat des baleines » permet d’acquérir des connaissances sur les baleines et sur les règlements en vigueur pour les protéger. La sensibilisation et l’éducation au sujet des baleines et leur santé demeurent de puissantes stratégies pour assurer leur avenir!

Les baleines en questions - 20/10/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Où est situé le cerveau des baleines?

Des odontocètes aux mysticètes, l’anatomie varie d’une espèce à l’autre, et ce jusqu’à la tête! Le cachalot, par exemple, a…

|Les baleines en questions 19/1/2023

Les baleines font-elles preuve d’altruisme? (3/3) L’exemple des cétacés à l’état sauvage

Prendre soin d’individus malades, blessés ou morts - un comportement dit épimélétique – est une forme d’expression de l’empathie courante…

|Les baleines en questions 10/11/2022

Où en est la chasse à la baleine dans le monde ?

L’opinion publique semble de plus en plus concernée par l’avenir des baleines qui sont devenues, au fil du temps, un…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2022