Whether it’s pods of white-sided dolphins repeatedly leaping out of the water, breaching minke whales or a blue whale blowing in the distance, marine mammals are still present in the waters of the St. Lawrence, whether near the coast or out on the horizon.

Dolphins by the hundreds

Atlantic white-sided dolphins were seen in good numbers this week. Off the coast of Tadoussac, between 300 and 400 of these swift cetaceans were spotted, much to the delight of observers. In Sept-Îles and Port-Cartier, about fifty dolphins were seen in a display of blue, black, grey, white and yellow parading across the water surface. Although the species generally lives in groups of 3 to about 50 or so individuals, they are sometimes found in huge herds that number in the hundreds or even thousands.

In the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, there’s action on the water with no fewer than 5 humpback whales identified in the past week and two fin whales, not to mention minke whales, harbour porpoises and numerous seals.

Minke whales have been present in Gallix and Rivière-Moisie, even if one unlucky observer hasn’t managed to see any for a few weeks now. “I’m still crossing my fingers!” she exclaims, trying to stay optimistic. In Pointe-des-Monts, a few minke whales were seen close to shore while a humpback was spotted heading east.

Near the town of Franquelin, the week was also rich in marine mammal sightings with the presence of harbour porpoises, minke whales and humpback whales.

In Gaspé Bay, a captain/naturalist also spotted a few dolphins, in addition to finally observing the first blue whale of the season. The presence of four humpbacks, many minke whales and harbour porpoises as well as a visit by two fin whales were reported over the course of the week. The observation of grey seals and harbour seals rounds out the picture.

Autumn colours

In Sacré-Coeur, a marine mammal enthusiast had the opportunity to admire belugas against a backdrop ablaze with colour: “A couple little white backs off L’Anse-de-Roche this morning,” she reports, “in glimmering water that reflected the beautiful hues of fall. It looked as if the white backs were poking out of the red and golden water. It was both beautiful and serene!”

“I have a question for you,” begins an email from a reader received on Wednesday, October 5. From the Saint-Siméonmarina, she observed two minke whales repeatedly hurling themselves out of the water. With their dark backs and white bellies, the silhouettes burst from the surface and fall back onto the water. Standing on the docks, the observer wonders to herself: “What is the purpose of this behaviour?” Scientists have a number of hypotheses to explain the phenomenon of breaching in whales, including the theory that it could be a way for individuals to communicate with one another. Who knows? What is known is that this behaviour is simply awesome to watch!

It it possible to see whales at night? Certainly, they’re just harder to spot! Nevertheless, by a stroke of good luck, a few pilots stationed at the marina saw humpback whales in the bay in the middle of the night.

Weekly sighting map

These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and do not represent the real distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use them for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Want to share your observations and contribute to citizen science? Use the marine mammal observation tool.

Observation of the Week - 6/10/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

Qu’il s’agisse des groupes de dauphins à flancs blancs, perçants la surface par bons successifs, des petits rorquals, jaillissant hors de l’eau ou d’un rorqual bleu, soufflant au loin, les mammifères marins sont encore bien présents dans les eaux du Saint-Laurent, soit près des côtes ou à l’horizon.

Des centaines de dauphins

Des dauphins à flancs blancs de l’Atlantique ont été observés en grand nombre cette semaine. Au large de Tadoussac, entre 300 et 400 de ces agiles cétacés ont été repérés, au grand plaisir des observateurs. À Sept-Îles et Port-Cartier, c’est une cinquantaine de dauphins qui ont été aperçus, dans un rayonnement de bleu, noir, gris, blanc et jaune défilant au dessus de l’eau. Même si l’espèce vit généralement en groupes de 3 à une cinquantaine d’individus, ils se retrouvent parfois en grands troupeaux de plusieurs centaines, voir des milliers de dauphins ensemble.

Dans le Parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent, il y a du mouvement sur les flots avec la présence de plus de 5 rorquals à bosse dans la dernière semaine et de deux rorquals communs, sans compter les petits rorquals, les marsouins communs et les phoques toujours aussi nombreux.

Des petits rorquals circulent à Gallix et à Rivière-Moisie, même si une observatrice malchanceuse n’a pas eu l’occasion d‘en voir depuis quelques semaines. «Je croise toujours les doigts!» lance-t-elle, toujours optimiste. À Pointe-des-Monts, quelques petits rorquals nagent dans les eaux salées à proximité du rivage tandis qu’un rorqual à bosse est aperçu se dirigeant vers l’est.

Du côté de Franquelin, la semaine a aussi été riche en mammifères marins avec la présence de marsouins communs, de petits rorquals et de rorquals à bosse.

Dans la baie de Gaspé, un capitaine-naturaliste a également aperçu quelques dauphins, tandis que le premier rorqual bleu de la saison est enfin observé. La présence de 4 rorquals à bosses pendant la semaine, de nombreux petits rorquals et de marsouins communs ainsi que la visite de deux rorquals communs sont mentionnés. L’observation de phoques gris et de phoques communs complète le tableau.

Des couleurs de saison

À Sacré-Cœur, une passionnée des mammifères marins a eu l’occasion d’admirer des bélugas entourés d’un éventail de couleur: «quelques petits dos blancs en face de L’Anse-de-Roche ce matin, raconte-t-elle, dans une eau miroir qui reflétait les couleurs de l’automne. On aurait dit que les dos blancs sortaient d’une eau rouge et or. C’était très beau et serein!»

« J’ai une question pour vous. » C’est ainsi que débute le courriel d’une lectrice, mercredi, le 5 octobre. Du quai de Saint-Siméon, elle a observé deux petits rorquals jaillir hors de l’eau à répétition. Dos sombres, ventres blancs, les silhouettes fusent de la surface et retombent. Du quai, l’observatrice s’interroge sur ce comportement : «quel est l’objectif?» Les scientifiques ont plusieurs hypothèses pour expliquer ce comportement chez les baleines, et il n’est pas exclu qu’il puisse s’agir d’un moyen de communication entre individus. Qui sait ? Ce qui est certain, c’est que ce comportement est spectaculaire pour les observateurs!

Observer des baleines la nuit, est-ce possible? Certainement, elles sont juste plus difficiles à repérer! C’est pourtant la chance que certains pilotes postés au quai des pilotes ont eue lorsqu’ils ont vu des rorquals à bosses dans la baie en plein milieu de la nuit.

Carte des observations de la semaine

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne ? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observation de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 6/10/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Phoques, rorquals et bélugas dans l’hiver

Cette semaine, les amoureux de l’hiver ont pu profiter des courtes journées ensoleillées pour aller admirer phoques, bélugas, petits rorquals…

|Observations de la semaine 8/12/2022

De grandes bouchées dans la baie

La journée est calme, le vent souffle tranquillement, dans la baie, quelques taches sombres s’agitent au loin. Il y a…

|Observations de la semaine 1/12/2022

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022