The presence of fin whales in the estuary surprised observers just in time for New Year’s. Harp seals have been increasingly settling down on the shores while a few belugas have been observed here and there. Not to mention the shock waves caused by nearly a dozen white-sided dolphins!

Large rorquals of winter

It was on December 22 that the first big blast was spotted off the coast of Les Bergeronnes. Even if the species could not be identified, the height of the spout suggests that it was either a fin whale or a blue whale. Two days later, just in time for Christmas Eve, two fin whales were roaming offshore. A wildlife photographer even manages to identify the two individuals, both of which are well known in the sector: Zipper and Ti-Croche. The latter was even sporting a satellite tag placed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada last fall.

Fin whales typically migrate to the lower latitudes of the North Atlantic to spend the winter, though their migration patterns are poorly known. Let’s hope this study will help shed some light on these mysteries!

Another large blast – unidentified this time – was observed on December 31, while a local resident reported seeing more than five large cetaceans including a fin whale in front of his home in Les Bergeronnes! In Franquelin, the last day of the year was also rich in large whale sightings. Residents were able to admire two fin whales: “The New Year’s Eve whales, as we called them, came to wish us a happy 2024.” On January 4, two other large rorquals were seen passing through the area: a fin whale and another whose species could not be identified.

Seals on the south shore

Herds of harp seals have been reported from Les Bergeronnes, while several individuals have also settled in Gaspé Bay as well as in the Rivière-du-Loup and Kamouraska sectors to take advantage of the ice there.

The Marine Mammal Observation Network is taking this opportunity to encourage observers to use the data entry tool of the Navigating Whale Habitat online platform. “Citizen data are complementary to scientific data and can be very useful for understanding the distribution of marine mammals, especially in winter. Every observation counts!”

Even if it is possible to approach them, it is recalled that observers should maintain a distance of 100 metres from seals to avoid causing them stress. Keep your pets on a leash, both for their own safety and that of the seal(s). If the seal is in an awkward place for human activities or if you see other people disturbing or handling it, contact the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network at 1-877-722-5346.

Belugas and dolphins

During her ferry crossing, one marine mammal enthusiast was able to admire a beluga. “Sitting in my car, I saw a man rush to the bow of the boat; I got out and he told me there was a beluga… I had just enough time to get a glimpse of its back before it dove and the ferry docked.” White-sided dolphins made a surprise appearance on December 31, in Les Bergeronnes!

Ultimately, there were plenty of great sightings to end the year with a bang! We hope for much of the same for 2024!

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM),
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN),
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 11/1/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

La présence de rorquals communs dans l’estuaire a surpris observateurs et observatrices juste à temps pour le Nouvel An. Des phoques du Groenland s’installent quant à eux de plus en plus sur les rives alors que quelques bélugas sont aperçus ici et là. Tout ça, sans compter l’étonnement qu’a causé une dizaine de dauphins à flancs blancs!

Grands rorquals dans l’hiver

C’est le 22 décembre qu’un premier grand souffle est repéré au large des Bergeronnes. Même si l’espèce n’est pas identifiée, la hauteur du souffle laisse présager un rorqual commun ou un rorqual bleu. Deux jours plus tard, ce sont deux rorquals communs juste à temps pour la veille de Noël qui circulent devant le rivage. Un photographe animalier arrive même à identifier les deux individus qui sont bien connus dans le secteur : il s’agit de Zipper et de Ti-Croche. Ce dernier porte même un émetteur satellite installé cet automne par Pêches et Océans Canada.

Les rorquals communs migrent généralement vers des latitudes plus basses dans l’Atlantique Nord pendant l’hiver, mais leurs patrons de migration sont mal connus. En espérant que cette étude permette d’élucider quelques mystères!

Un autre grand souffle est observé le 31 décembre, mais sans identification cette fois, tandis qu’un riverain rapporte avoir vu plus de cinq grandes baleines, dont un rorqual commun, devant sa résidence aux Bergeronnes! Du côté de Franquelin, la veille du jour de l’an signe également une journée riche en grandes baleines. Des résidents et résidentes ont pu admirer deux rorquals communs : « Les baleines du 31, qu’on les a appelées, elles venaient nous souhaiter bonne année. » Le 4 janvier, deux autres grands rorquals étaient de passage, un rorqual commun et un autre dont l’espèce n’a pas pu être identifiée.

Des phoques sur la rive sud

Des mouvées de phoques du Groenland ont été aperçus depuis Les Bergeronnes, tandis que plusieurs individus se sont installés dans la baie de Gaspé ainsi que dans les régions de Rivière-du-Loup et de Kamouraska pour profiter de la glace.

Le Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins en profite pour inciter les observateurs et observatrices à utiliser l’outil de saisie de la plateforme web Naviguer dans l’habitat des baleines. « Les données citoyennes sont très utiles pour comprendre la répartition des mammifères marins, surtout en période hivernale et elles sont complémentaires aux données scientifiques. Chaque observation compte! »

Même s’il est possible de les observer, il faut rappeler qu’il faut garder une distance de 100 mètres avec les phoques pour éviter de les stresser. Gardez vos animaux de compagnie en laisse, pour leur sécurité et celle du phoque. Si le phoque est dans un lieu encombrant pour les activités humaines ou si vous voyez des gens le déranger ou le manipuler, contactez le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins au 1 877 722-5346.

Bélugas et dauphins

C’est lors de son trajet en traversier qu’une passionnée des mammifères marins a pu admirer un béluga. « Assise dans mon auto, j’ai vu un homme se dépêcher d’aller à l’avant du bateau ; je suis sortie et il m’a dit qu’il y a avait un béluga… juste eu le temps de voir son dos avant qu’il ne plonge et que le traversier accoste. » Les dauphins à flancs blancs ont quant à eux fait une apparition surprise le 31 décembre, aux Bergeronnes!

Au final, pleins de belles observations pour terminer 2023 tout en beauté! On souhaite la même chose pour 2024!

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 11/1/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024

Gaspar, Piton et des rorquals bleus dans le golfe

Les baleines semblent être bel et bien arrivées dans l’estuaire et dans le golfe! La présence de plusieurs grands rorquals…

|Observations de la semaine 27/6/2024