Humpback whales were at it again this week, giving us perhaps one last chance to admire their antics in the estuary before they depart for tropical waters. These at-sea sightings are imbued with both nostalgia and excitement in anticipation of the coming summer season.

A rare appearance in the Lower Estuary

Off the coast of Tadoussac Bay, humpback whales in profusion split the waters with their powerful breaths, sometimes alone, sometimes in pairs, but even more impressively, often in large groups, diving in synchrony! Numerous breaches also amazed observers on numerous occasions throughout the week.

Numerous individuals were identified, including Katana, Alias, Gaspar, Queen, Albator and none other than Fleuret! This female has been known to the Mingan Islands Cetacean Study Research Station (MICS) since 1982, and is often seen near Gaspé and in the Mingan Islands and Anticosti Island region. It is rarer, however, to see it venturing into the Lower Estuary. This 40-year-old whale and her mother, Pseudo (H008), are the oldest females still in the area. Fleuret is the mother of seven calves. It was an experienced MICS observer who identified her, noting the particular shape of her dorsal fin and the markings on it.

Around the humpback whales, hundreds of white-sided dolphins navigate the currents. The two species intermingle, the slow movements of the great whales contrasting with the unparalleled fluidity of the delphinids. The latter could be seen surfing the waves, leaping here and there like sea hares. True to form, minke whales, beluga whales, harbour porpoises and grey seals also roamed among the other creatures.

A spectacular show

Further down the estuary, other humpback whales make a spectacle of themselves very close to shore, much to the delight of local residents. They can admire the grooves beneath their large, swollen mouths piercing the surface as they feed, gorging themselves on krill just a few weeks before the start of their long migratory journey.

An admirer of these whales tells us of the phenomenal sightings she witnessed: “On November 6, while observing from the shore between Baie-Comeau and Franquelin, two humpback whales were on the move, splashing abundantly! The first appeared from the tip of a rocky point, leaping into the air for an initial series of four breaches.” A few pectoral shows followed, then a second repetition of these feats. The other individual dives a little closer, displaying bright stripes on its caudal fin. “The two humpback whales then joined up, showing contrasting blows through the November rays of sunlight.”

On the following Tuesday, a stormy day, a second citizen also observed some thirty white-sided dolphins roaming the waves, as well as many seabirds, such as eiders and snow buntings.

At Pointe-Des-Monts, several grey seals dive with a pair of humpback whales, and a minke whale points its dorsal fin out of the water. Near Mingan, a minke whale was seen swimming quietly.

Is the Gulf's marine wildlife at risk?

In Gaspésie, some report the presence of a few humpback whales, while René Roy, an amateur cetologist, is concerned about the apparent decline in the number of aquatic visitors to the estuary: “My observations are in line with what most scientists have also been observing for the past three years. Things are changing drastically for our estuary, and the Gulf is unfortunately not looking good for aquatic fauna.” Hypoxia – a consequence of climate change characterized by a drastic drop in oxygen levels in the water – would affect the entire food chain in the waters of the St. Lawrence, whose top predators are our whales. Unfortunately, this phenomenon is already occasionally observed at the head of the estuary. Is global warming already beginning to affect the abundance of individuals in the area?

Observation of the Week - 9/11/2023

Emmanuelle Langlois

Emmanuelle Langlois joins the GREMM team as scientific editor in autumn 2023. Fascinated by the curiosities of the aquatic world, she has been drawn to the immensity of marine ecosystems since childhood, when every summer she shared this love with her family on the beach. Once she has completed her studies, she hopes to dedicate her career to studying and revealing the mysteries of the creatures hidden beneath the surface.

Recommended articles

Marine Mammals and the Eclipse

On April 8, the banks of the St. Lawrence were basked in sunset-like lighting during the solar eclipse. For those…

|Observation of the Week 11/4/2024

April Whales

“Fin whales in Les Escoumins,” remarks one avid yet impressed observer: “Their powerful breaths really hit you in the gut!” “A…

|Observation of the Week 4/4/2024

A Week of Large Rorquals

Large rorquals continuing to wow observers, a few belugas, harp seals resting on the ice and harbour seals... What more…

|Observation of the Week 28/3/2024

Cette semaine encore, les rorquals à bosse s’en sont donné à coeur joie, nous permettant peut-être d’admirer pour une dernière fois leurs cabrioles dans l’estuaire avant leur départ pour les eaux tropicales. Ces observations en mer sont empreintes à la fois de nostalgie et d’excitation en prévision de la prochaine saison estivale. 

Une apparition rarissime dans l’estuaire maritime

Au large de la baie de Tadoussac, des rorquals à bosse à profusion fendent les eaux de leurs souffles, parfois seuls, quelques fois en paires, mais plus impressionnant encore, souvent en larges groupes, plongeant en synchronie! De nombreux breachs ont également ébahis les observateurs et observatrices à maintes reprises à travers la semaine. 

Parmi les individus observés, nombreux ont pu être identifiés, notamment Katana, Alias, Gaspar, Queen, Albator et nul autre que Fleuret! Cette femelle est connue de la Station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS) depuis 1982 et observée souvent près de Gaspé et dans la région des îles Mingan et de l’ile d’Anticosti. Il est plus rare cependant de la voir s’aventurer dans l’estuaire maritime. Cette vieille baleine de plus de 40 ans et sa mère, Pseudo (H008), sont les plus vieilles femelles fréquentant encore le secteur. Fleuret est d’ailleurs la mère de sept baleineaux. C’est un observateur expérimenté du MICS qui a su  l’identifier, notant la forme particulière de sa dorsale ainsi que les marques qu’elle présente.

Autour des rorquals à bosse, des centaines de dauphins à flancs blancs naviguent les courants. Les deux espèces s’entremêlent, la lenteur des mouvements des grandes baleines contrastant avec la fluidité hors pair de la course des delphinidés. Il était possible de voir ces derniers surfer sur les vagues, sautant ici et là, tels de vrais lièvres des mers. Fidèles à leurs habitudes, petits rorquals, bélugas, marsouins communs et phoques gris se baladent également parmi les autres créatures.

Des prouesses éblouissantes

Plus bas dans l’estuaire, d’autres rorquals à bosse se donnent en spectacle très près des côtes, au grand plaisir des riverains et riveraines. Ils peuvent admirer les sillons sous leurs grandes gueules gonflées perçant la surface alors qu’ils s’alimentent, s’empiffrant de krill à quelques semaines du début de leur long voyage migratoire.

Une admiratrice de ces baleines nous raconte d’ailleurs les phénoménales observations dont elle a été la spectatrice : « Le 6 novembre, en observation de la rive, entre Baie-Comeau et Franquelin, deux rorquals à bosse étaient en éclaboussants déplacements! Le premier est apparu du bout d’une pointe de roches en s’élançant dans les airs pour une première série de quatre breachs. » S’en suit quelques spectacles de pectorales, puis une deuxième répétition de ces prouesses. L’autre individu plonge un peu plus près, affichant des bandes éclatantes sur sa caudale. « Les deux rorquals à bosse se sont rejoints par la suite, montrant des souffles contrastés par le froid et les rayons de novembre. »

Lors du mardi suivant, jour de tempête, un second citoyen a également observé une trentaine de dauphins à flancs blancs parcourant les flots ainsi que bien des oiseaux marins, tels que des eiders et des bruants des neiges.

À Pointe-Des-Monts, plusieurs phoques gris plongent en compagnie d’une paire de rorquals à bosse et un petit rorqual pointe le bout de sa dorsale hors de l’eau. Du côté de Mingan, un petit rorqual circulait tranquillement.

La faune du golfe serait-elle à risque?

En Gaspésie, certains rapportent la présence de quelques rorquals à bosse, alors que René Roy, cétologue amateur, s’inquiète de la baisse apparente du nombre de visiteurs aquatiques dans l’estuaire : « Mes observations correspondent à ce que la majorité des scientifiques constatent eux aussi depuis trois ans. Les choses changent drastiquement pour notre estuaire et le golfe n’est malheureusement pas pour le mieux pour la faune aquatique. » L’hypoxie – conséquence des changements climatiques caractérisée par une baisse drastique du niveau d’oxygène dans l’eau – affecterait l’entièreté de la chaîne alimentaire des eaux du Saint-Laurent dont les prédateurs supérieurs sont nos baleines. Malheureusement, ce phénomène s’observe déjà occasionnellement à la tête de l’estuaire. Le réchauffement climatique commencerait-il déjà à affecter l’abondance d’individus dans le secteur?

Observations de la semaine - 9/11/2023

Emmanuelle Langlois

Emmanuelle Langlois rejoint l’équipe du GREMM en tant que rédactrice scientifique à l’automne 2023. Fascinée par les curiosités du monde aquatique, elle est attirée par l’immensité des écosystèmes marins depuis son enfance, époque où tous les étés elle partageait cet amour avec sa famille sur la plage. Au terme de ses études, elle souhaite dédier sa carrière à étudier et à raconter les mystères des êtres dissimulés sous la surface.

Articles recommandés

Cinq rorquals communs dans l’estuaire, dont Orion et Bp913!

Présents en grand nombre cette semaine, les rorquals communs volent la vedette. Les individus ont même pu être identifiés et…

|Observations de la semaine 24/5/2024

Bélugas parmi les couleurs et petits rorquals en action!

Cette semaine dans le Saint-Laurent, les vocalises de bélugas accompagnent les aurores boréales tandis que des petits rorquals attirent l’attention…

|Observations de la semaine 16/5/2024

Petits rorquals déguisés en épaulards

Du mouvement dans l’eau, entre les vagues qui éclaboussent, on voit des nageoires foncées qui s’agitent. On y reconnait sans…

|Observations de la semaine 10/5/2024