In the latest issue of its magazine Plaisance (September 2016), the Regroupement des plaisanciers du Québec (Quebec boaters society, RQP) reminds recreational boaters of the rules to follow when observing St. Lawrence belugas.

Boaters have an important role to play in protecting this endangered population. In summer months, they frequently encounter belugas in the St. Lawrence Estuary and the Saguenay Fjord. It’s also in summer that female belugas give birth, feed and raise their newborns.

“We need space and tranquillity to take proper care of our young, feed and rest. When you spot us, we request that you slow down and not try to approach us. Maintain a distance of at least 400 metres between us and your boat. Even if we swim toward your boat, slowly and cautiously move away and do not stop – we are not looking for playmates!”, mentions April, the beluga adopted by the RPQ in 2016 in the context of the Adopt a Beluga campaign, during a fictitious interview.

The RPQ is thereby participating in efforts to raise awareness for the protection of St. Lawrence belugas. This follows the awareness campaign conducted from July 29 to 31 by Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada, in collaboration with the Marine Mammal Ecowatch Network (ROMM) and the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM).

Protecting this emblem of the St. Lawrence is everyone’s responsibility!

To subscribe to the Plaisance magazine (in French):

http://www.rpq.ca/membres/

News - 25/8/2016

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

Using Barnacles to Reconstruct Ancient Whale Migrations

Whales, which have been around for roughly 30 million years, are estimated to have reached their current size 4.5 million…

|News 19/3/2020

Slower boats, quieter boats?

In 2017, Ruth Joy and her team (ECHO) conducted a study on the correlation between speed limit reductions and noise…

|News 19/3/2020

Le Regroupement des plaisanciers du Québec (RPQ) rappelle aux plaisanciers, dans le dernier numéro de son magazine Plaisance (septembre 2016), les règles à suivre lors de l’observation des bélugas du Saint-Laurent.

Les plaisanciers ont un rôle important à jouer dans la protection de cette population en péril. Pendant la période estivale, ils rencontrent fréquemment des bélugas dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et le fjord du Saguenay. C’est aussi en été que les bélugas femelles donnent naissance, nourrissent et élèvent leurs nouveau-nés.

« Nous avons besoin d’espace et de tranquillité pour bien nous occuper de nos jeunes, nous alimenter et nous reposer. Lorsque vous nous apercevez, nous vous prions de ralentir et de ne pas chercher à nous approcher. Gardez une distance d’au moins 400 mètres entre nous et votre embarcation. Même si nous nous dirigeons vers votre embarcation, éloignez-vous lentement et avec vigilance, ne vous arrêtez pas — nous ne cherchons pas à jouer ! », mentionne April, le béluga adopté par le RPQ en 2016 dans le cadre la campagne AdoptezUnBeluga.org, lors d’une entrevue fictive.

Le RPQ participe ainsi aux efforts de sensibilisation pour la protection des bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Ceci fait suite à la campagne de sensibilisation entreprise du 29 au 31 juillet par Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec le Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins (ROMM) et le Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM).

La protection de cet emblème du Saint-Laurent est l’affaire de tous!

Pour recevoir le magazine Plaisance:
http://www.rpq.ca/membres/

Actualité - 18/8/2016

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

Consultation publique sur le bruit marin: exprimez-vous!

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada organise une consultation publique relative à l’impact des bruits dans les…

|Actualité 20/10/2020

Hybride rorqual commun-rorqual bleu: un nouvel enjeu pour la conservation ?

L’existence des hybrides issus du croisement entre les deux plus gros animaux du monde — soit le rorqual commun et…

|Actualité 28/9/2020

Semaine de la culture scientifique: la biodiversité à célébrer!

Avez-vous pris récemment quelques minutes pour observer un coin de verdure dans votre quartier? Si vous tentiez de compter les…

|Actualité 22/9/2020