From Montréal to Sept-Îles and Gaspésie, there’s been a lot of talk about minke whales this week. While these small harbingers of spring are greeted with enthusiasm in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and along the shores of the estuary, that is not the case for individuals when they venture outside their normal range.

Two minke whales are currently in the Port of Montréal, an unusual place for this species, which is cause for concern for many of our readers. The Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) was alerted to the presence of the first minke whale on Sunday evening, and has been on site since Monday to document and monitor the situation. Whales Online allows you to follow the minke whale in real time, and answers your questions about this event here.

But, fortunately, minke whales are not only being observed in Montréal! Cetologist Jacques Gélineau mentions seeing one in the Sept-Îles region, while photographer Renaud Pintiaux has documented several in Les Bergeronnes over the past week. In the Côte-Nord region, other observers also report having seen them in Les Escoumins, in Franquelin, and from the sand dunes of Tadoussac. A local resident observing them from the docks in Les Escoumins exclaims: “For over an hour, at least three minke whales were very active near the shore. What a privilege when one of them shows the pink underside of its mouth while feeding at the surface!”

In Gaspésie, our contacts have been observing minke whales at L’Anse-aux-Griffons and Grande-Vallée. Lastly, an observer from the Magdalen Islands spotted at least three individuals near Havre-Aubert. Perhaps minke whales are more plentiful in the St. Lawrence this year? If so, a ‘baby boom’ might explain why younger members of the population have been more daring in their quest for new territory…

What about other kinds of whales?

Minke whales are not the only cetaceans making appearances. For the past week, a Sainte-Irénée resident has been observing small groups of belugas from her home. Another resident in the region saw a handful at Cap-aux-Oies. A few white backs are also observed off Cap de Bon-Désir and off the dunes of Tadoussac. The GREMM team was also delighted to see a few belugas pass by the Pointe-Noire Interpretation and Observation Centre in Baie-Sainte-Catherine: the first whales of the season for some of us!

For one of our observers, the week has been rich in cetaceans. After spending the day unsuccessfully scanning for whales in Tadoussac and Essipit, she and her partner went to Cap de Bon-Désir. Around 4 o’clock in the afternoon, their patience was rewarded and they were treated to an excellent evening of observations: one minke whale (yes, another one!) and eight fin whales near the rocks, a sighting made all the more special by the fact that they were the only ones to witness the show.

In Les Escoumins, an observer is delighted to see a series of splashes in the distance, which she attributes to a breaching humpback whale. Humpbacks and fin whales seem to have made a date to meet near Prince Shoal off Tadoussac.

 

For other observers, the week was punctuated by porpoises and dolphins. A resident of Franquelin witnesses an offshore stampede as a large group of cetaceans – probably dolphins – work their way up the river. The first harbour porpoises of the year were spotted in Les Bergeronnes and Tadoussac.

Let’s not forget about the seals!

Spring is also seal season! About fifty harp seals were observed in Baie Sainte-Marguerite between Port-Cartier and Sept-Iles, a sign that the capelin have arrived, according to Jacques Gélineau. Harbour seals were also seen in large numbers between Saint-Ulric and Saint-Félicité on the south shore. In Gaspésie, grey seals and harbour seals have been present in the Rivière-au-Renard sector, as well as at Pointe St-Pierre, Petit Gaspé, Sandy Beach and L’Anse-aux-Cousins.

 

Of course, even if minke whales are in the spotlight this week, diversity is the wealth of the St. Lawrence!

Have you seen a seal or a whale?

Share your observations and photos by writing to us at  [email protected] or on our Facebook page.

Observation of the Week - 12/5/2022

Chloé Warren

Chloe is the coordinator for « Portrait de baleines » and a writer for Whales Online since May 2022. Originally for Vancouver Island, she started in the field of marine biology as a marine naturalist before joining the Marine Education and Research Society (MERS) as a Research and Education Assistant. She believes education and science communication is the best way to raise awareness on environmental issues, promote stewardship, and encourage action.

Recommended articles

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

White as Snow… Or a Beluga!

As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their…

|Observation of the Week 17/11/2022

Humpback Whale Season Winding Down

As winter approaches, migratory whale species are slowly beginning to leave. Although humpback whales are becoming more scarce, the waters…

|Observation of the Week 10/11/2022

De Montréal à Sept-Îles en passant par la Gaspésie, les petits rorquals ont beaucoup fait parler d’eux cette semaine. Si dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent et le long des rives de l’estuaire, ces petits dos noirs indiquant le printemps sont accueillis avec enthousiasme, ce n’est pas le cas des individus retrouvés hors secteur.

Deux petits rorquals se trouvent présentement dans le port de Montréal, un endroit inhabituel pour cette espèce, ce qui suscite l’inquiétude de beaucoup de lecteurs. Le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) a été alerté de la présence du premier petit rorqual dimanche soir, et se trouve sur place depuis lundi pour documenter et surveiller la situation. Baleines en direct vous permet de suivre le petit rorqual en direct, et répond à vos questions sur cet événement ici.

Mais, heureusement, les petits rorquals ne sont pas seulement observés à Montréal! Le cétologue Jacques Gélineau mentionne en avoir aperçu un dans la région de Sept-Iles, tandis que le photographe Renaud Pintiaux en documente plusieurs aux Bergeronnes dans le courant de la semaine. Sur la Côte-Nord, d’autres observateurs indiquent aussi en avoir vu, aux Escoumins, à Franquelin, et depuis les dunes de sable à Tadoussac. Une riveraine les observant depuis le quai des Escoumins se réjouit : « Au moins trois petits rorquals étaient bien actifs durant plus d’une heure près de la rive. Quel privilège quand l’un d’eux montre le dessous rose de sa gueule sur une séquence d’alimentation en surface! »

En Gaspésie, nos contacts observent des petits rorquals à l’Anse-aux-Griffons et à Grande-Vallée. Enfin, un observateur des Iles-de-la-Madeleine repère au moins 3 individus près de Havre-Aubert. Il y aurait-il plus de petits rorquals dans le Saint-Laurent cette année? Si oui, un « baby-boom » pourrait peut-être expliquer pourquoi des jeunes membres de la population sont plus audacieux dans leur recherche de nouveaux territoires…

Et les autres baleines?

Les petits rorquals ne sont pas les seuls cétacés au rendez-vous. Depuis une semaine, une résidente de Sainte-Irénée observe des petits groupes de bélugas depuis chez elle. Une autre résidente de la région en observe plusieurs à Cap-aux-Oies. Quelques dos blancs sont aussi observés au large du cap de Bon-Désir et devant les dunes de Tadoussac. L’équipe du GREMM s’est aussi réjouie de voir passer quelques bélugas au pied du centre d’interprétation de Pointe-Noire, à Baie-Sainte-Catherine: les premières baleines de la saison pour certains d’entre nous!

Pour l’une de nos observatrices, la semaine est riche en rorquals. Après avoir passé la journée à chercher des baleines à Tadoussac et Essipit sans succès, elle et son partenaire se sont rendus au cap de Bon-Désir. Vers 4h de l’après-midi, leur patience a été récompensée et ils ont eu droit à une magnifique soirée d’observation: un petit rorqual (oui, encore un!) et 8 rorquals communs près des rochers, un spectacle d’autant plus spécial qu’ils étaient les seuls témoins de l’activité.

Aux Escoumins, une observatrice s’enchante d’une série d’éclaboussures au loin, qu’elle attribue à de nombreux « breach » d’un rorqual à bosse. Rorquals à bosse et rorquals communs semblent s’être donné rendez-vous au large de Tadoussac, au niveau du haut-fond Prince.

Pour d’autres, ce sont les marsouins et les dauphins qui marquent la semaine. Un résident de Franquelin est témoin d’une véritable débandade au large : un large groupe de cétacés, vraisemblablement des dauphins, s’activent à remonter le fleuve. Les premiers marsouins communs de l’année sont observés aux Bergeronnes et à Tadoussac.

Sans oublier les phoques!

Le printemps, c’est aussi la saison des phoques! Une cinquantaine de phoques du Groenland sont observés dans la baie Ste-Marguerite, entre Port-Cartier et Sept-Iles, un signe que le capelan est arrivé d’après Jacques Gélineau. Des phoques communs sont aussi aperçus en grand nombre entre Saint-Ulric et Saint-Félicité sur la rive sud. En Gaspésie, phoques gris et phoques communs sont présents dans le secteur de Rivière-au-Renard, à la pointe St-Pierre, sur la plage de Petit Gaspé, à Sandy Beach et dans l’anse aux Cousins.

Décidemment, les petits rorquals sont en vedette cette semaine, mais la diversité fait la richesse du Saint-Laurent!

 

Vous avez vu un phoque ou une baleine?

Partagez avec nous votre observation et vos photos en nous écrivant à [email protected] ou sur notre page Facebook.

Observations de la semaine - 12/5/2022

Chloé Warren

Chloé est chargée de projet pour Portrait de baleines et rédactrice pour Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Originaire de l’ile de Vancouver, elle rejoint le monde des baleines d’abord comme naturaliste en milieu marin, puis comme assistante de recherche et d’éducation pour le « Marine Education and Research Society » (MERS). Elle espère sensibiliser le public aux enjeux environnementaux et encourager l’application de solutions grâce à l’éducation et la vulgarisation scientifique.

Articles recommandés

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022

Blanc neige comme un béluga

Pendant que les doux flocons de neige envahissaient l’est du Québec et qu’une couche de blanc couvrait tranquillement le sol,…

|Observations de la semaine 17/11/2022

Les prémices du départ des rorquals à bosse

Les départs d’espèces de baleines migratrices progressent tranquillement, alors que l’hiver approche. Les rorquals à bosse se font plus discrets,…

|Observations de la semaine 10/11/2022