This week, large rorquals were present all around the gulf. A blue whale made an appearance near Sept-Îles, minke whales were swimming in Gaspé, while several humpbacks and a few fin whales were reported in both these areas. Just like the start of the season, the estuary was calm the past few days. Nevertheless, there were the ever-faithful belugas, a few minke whales, harbour porpoises and seals.

From harbour porpoises to minke whales… not to mention a blue whale!

In Saint-Irénée, the beluga season has gotten off to a good start for local residents who scan the open sea in search of these white whales. “For the past few days we’ve been seeing several a day, maybe seven or eight,” mentions one observer. The day before yesterday, we went for a walk on the railroad tracks and we saw porpoises and belugas with their young.”

In the sector encompassing Tadoussac, Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins, minke whales, belugas and seals have been swimming in the cold St. Lawrence waters, but still no sign whatsoever of any large rorquals over the last week. While some members of the community are concerned about this, others are content with the few sightings they are able to make, while still holding out hope for the return of the giants in the days to come. Meanwhile, other observations have been pouring in: “A harbour seal in the ‘banana’ position off the dunes yesterday,” “a harp seal and about fifteen harbour porpoises in front of Mer et Monde,” “a minke whale near the Marine Environment Discovery Centre,” “belugas, harbour seals and my first grey seal today.”

For a marine mammal enthusiast in Franquelin, there don’t seem to be as many whales as in previous years, though he remains hopeful that he might get to see some large whales in the coming days or weeks. A regular observer shares some of her encounters with marine mammals. “Two minke whales observed from shore in Franquelin. And far offshore, a bright white spot really reminded me of a moving beluga, but given the distance I couldn’t be entirely certain, but it definitely wasn’t a ‘beluwave’!” Indeed, with their shape and white backs, belugas are often mistaken for waves. For the trained eye, cetacean movements are quickly distinguished from those of the waves. During an outing, this pleasure boater also had the opportunity to see a minke whale, a harbour porpoise and four harp seals.

 

In Sept-Îles, no fewer than four humpback whales were observed, including one accompanied by a calf. The tally for marine fauna in the region continues to grow: three fin whales, a blue whale, several minke whales and belugas. The region was rich in marine mammals, though some observers might point out that this season is not exceptional, either; in fact, cetaceans are likely even fewer in number than in other years. A little farther east, in Havre-Saint-Pierre, pinnipeds and a minke whale round out the picture on the North Shore over the last week.

Gaspé

Whales are still very present and active in Gaspé Bay. About a dozen humpbacks show their caudal fins to sea gazers while their large, balloon-shaped spouts blur the horizon. The presence in the area of multiple minke whales and two fin whales delights those who are lucky enough to see them. At Pointe Saint-Pierre, some fifty harbour seals were resting on the rocks on June 9. A few days later, on June 13, blowing humpbacks were observed from Cap-des-Rosiers.

A herd of belugas was seen from the shores of L’Anse-au-Griffon, and off Grande-Vallée a few days after that. Unaccustomed to seeing these cetaceans in the region, the Whales Online subscriber wondered about her observation. “There must have been around 20, including a few individual stragglers. This is the first time we’ve ever seen belugas in our area.” The range of this endangered species stretches from the St. Lawrence Estuary to the Gulf of St. Lawrence. For GREMM scientific director Robert Michaud, it is normal to see this species in the spring in the Gaspésie, though less so in June. Fortunately, according to the observer, the group of belugas seemed to be heading upstream! During a day in the estuary, a mariner crosses paths with belugas off Matane and a minke whale near Saint-Nicholas Bay.

Observation map

This week marks the return of the weekly sightings map! A special thanks to all our collaborators who share their marine mammal encounters with us every week. If you have a particular story you would like to tell or a photo that we could publish, don’t hesitate to write us at [email protected]. Interested in sharing your observations and contributing to citizen science? Use the marine mammal sighting entry tool.

Weekly sighting map

These data were reported by our network of observers. The observations give a rough idea of the presence of whales, but do not in any way represent the true distribution of cetaceans in the St. Lawrence. Enjoy!

Click on the whale or seal icons to see the species, number of individuals observed, additional information or photos of the sighting. To zoom in on the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but less so on Safari.

To display the list of observations, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Observation of the Week - 15/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Cette semaine, les grands rorquals étaient présents d’un bout à l’autre du golfe. Un rorqual bleu s’est pointé le bout de la caudale à Sept-Îles, des petits rorquals nageaient à Gaspé, tandis que plusieurs rorquals à bosse et quelques rorquals communs ont été vus dans les deux secteurs. À l’image du début de saison, l’estuaire est resté calme dans les derniers jours. Toujours fidèles au rendez-vous, des bélugas, quelques petits rorquals, des marsouins communs et des phoques ont tout de même été identifiés.

Des marsouins communs, en passant par les petits rorquals… jusqu’à un rorqual bleu!

À Saint-Irénée, la saison d’observation des bélugas est bien commencée pour les riverains et riveraines qui scrutent le large à la recherche de dos blancs. «Ça fait quelques jours de suite qu’on en voit quelques-uns par jour, environ sept à huit, mentionne une observatrice. Avant-hier, on est allé marcher sur les rails et on a vu des marsouins et des bélugas avec leurs petits.»

Dans le secteur de Tadoussac, Les Bergeronnes et Les Escoumins, petits rorquals, bélugas et phoques nagent dans les eaux froides du Saint-Laurent, mais encore aucun signe d’une caudale de grand rorqual pendant la dernière semaine. Si certains membres de la communauté en sont préoccupés, d’autres se réjouissent des quelques observations qu’ils peuvent réaliser, tout en espérant le retour des géants dans les prochains jours. Les observations déferlent : « Un phoque commun faisait la banane sur une roche devant les dunes hier », « Un phoque du Groenland et une quinzaine de marsouins communs en face de Mer et monde », « un petit rorqual au Centre de découverte du milieu marin » « bélugas, phoques communs et mon premier phoque gris aujourd’hui ».

Pour un passionné des mammifères marins de Franquelin, il ne semble pas y avoir autant de baleines que les années précédentes, mais il conserve toujours l’espoir de voir de grandes baleines dans les prochains jours ou prochaines semaines. Une observatrice régulière partage ses rencontres avec les mammifères marins. « Deux petits rorquals présents à Franquelin, observés de la rive. Et très au large, une tache blanc brillant m’a vraiment fait penser à un béluga en déplacement, mais la distance ne me permettait pas d’être entièrement certaine, mais ce n’était pas un béluvague! » Avec leur forme et leurs dos blancs, les bélugas sont en effet souvent confondus avec des vagues. Pour l’œil averti, le mouvement des cétacés et celui des vagues sont rapidement distingués. Lors d’une sortie sur l’eau, la plaisancière a aussi eu l’occasion de voir un petit rorqual, un marsouin commun et quatre phoques du Groenland.

À Sept-Îles, ce n’est pas moins de quatre rorquals à bosse, dont un était accompagné d’un jeune, qui ont été observés. Le décompte de la faune marine peuplant la région s’allonge : trois rorquals communs, un rorqual bleu, plusieurs petits rorquals et des bélugas. La région était riche en mammifères marins, bien que certains nuancent tout de même que l’année ne soit pas non plus hors de l’ordinaire, il y aurait même moins de cétacés que d’autres années. Un peu plus à l’Est, à Havre-Saint-Pierre, des pinnipèdes et un petit rorqual complètent les observations réalisées sur la Côte-Nord pendant la dernière semaine.

Du côté de la Gaspésie

Les baleines sont toujours bien présentes et actives dans la baie de Gaspé. Environ une dizaine de rorquals à bosse montrent la caudale à ceux et celles qui ont les yeux tournés vers le large et les grands souffles en forme de ballon brouillent l’horizon. La présence de nombreux petits rorquals et de deux rorquals communs dans le secteur réjouit les personnes qui ont l’occasion de les voir. À la pointe Saint-Pierre, une cinquantaine de phoques communs se repose sur les rochers le 9 juin dernier. Quelques jours plus tard, le 13 juin, ce sont les souffles de rorquals à bosses qui ont été observés depuis le Cap-des-Rosiers.

Un troupeau de béluga a été aperçu depuis les rives de L’Anse-au-Griffon, puis de Grande-Vallée quelques jours plus tard. Peu habituée à voir ces cétacés dans la région, la lectrice de Baleines en direct se questionnait sur cette observation. « Il devait y en avoir autour de 20, avec des retardataires isolés. Nous, c’est la première fois qu’on observe des bélugas dans notre coin. » Cette espèce en voie de disparition est répartie entre l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Pour Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, il est normal de voir cette espèce au printemps en Gaspésie, bien que cela soit moins fréquent en juin. Heureusement, selon l’observatrice, le groupe de béluga semblait se diriger vers l’amont! Lors d’une journée dans l’estuaire, un navigateur croise la route de bélugas au large de Matane et d’un petit rorqual en face de la baie Saint-Nicholas.

Retour de la carte des observations!

Cette semaine signe le retour de la carte des observations de la semaine! Merci à nos collaborateurs et collaboratrices de nous partager chaque semaine leurs histoires de rencontre avec les mammifères marins. Si vous avez une histoire particulière que vous souhaitez raconter ou une photo qui pourrait être publiée, n’hésitez pas à nous écrire à [email protected]. Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observations de mammifères marins.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 15/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Bélugas parmi les couleurs et petits rorquals en action!

Cette semaine dans le Saint-Laurent, les vocalises de bélugas accompagnent les aurores boréales tandis que des petits rorquals attirent l’attention…

|Observations de la semaine 16/5/2024

Petits rorquals déguisés en épaulards

Du mouvement dans l’eau, entre les vagues qui éclaboussent, on voit des nageoires foncées qui s’agitent. On y reconnait sans…

|Observations de la semaine 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

L’effervescence des baleines blanches

Des groupes de bélugas de plus en plus nombreux sont repérés dans l’estuaire, nageant parmi les petits rorquals qui reviennent…

|Observations de la semaine 2/5/2024