Across the St. Lawrence, it was the tranquility of sightings that marked the past week. Many observers reported seeing nothing in particular, apart from the usual beauty of the river, of course. Nevertheless, several belugas, seals and a few large whales passed by.

As the days get shorter and shorter, the sight of glistening, almost dazzling whitebacks is something to marvel at! A few belugas were swimming in the mouth of the Saguenay on a sunny midday, and could be seen from the shore near Tadoussac. The cool air temperature even made it possible to admire their breathing on the surface of the water. “You could really see their little breaths,” explains one marine mammal enthusiast.

From Saint-Siméon, a few belugas were also spotted, but it was the passage of a humpback whale that surprised a resident a few times! The whale came to breathe, with its characteristic balloon-like blow, before diving into the river, revealing its tail fin.

It’s also said that the blow of a great whale was spotted in front of Franquelin. “Perhaps a blue whale,” speculated the local resident, who has a privileged view of the river from his home. Another minke whale sighting: the fin whale Ti-Croche was reportedly seen off Les Bergeronnes. Its dorsal fin is strongly arched backwards and resembles a hook. However, it was the resemblance of Bp955’s dorsal fin to that of the late Captain Hook that earned it the nickname “Ti-Croche”.

Seals off the coast

In the last few days, a North Shore resident caught the eye of some pinnipeds. You had to be careful to see them, however, as they were far offshore. “Between Godbout and Franquelin, I observed darker areas in the distance… A little later, between Baie-Comeau and Franquelin, I was able to observe the same phenomenon up close. Through binoculars, it was possible to see seals moving westwards, sticking their heads out of the water as they moved forward. The mass would disappear for a moment and then start up again, fascinating to see such great movements. Too far to officially determine the species, but the odds are in favor of harp seals!

Indeed, this gregarious species is often observed in large groups and frequents the St. Lawrence in winter. Unlike most marine mammals that visit the St. Lawrence in summer, harp seals reside in the Gulf and Estuary in winter. It uses the ice pack for whelping, moulting and reproduction. More sightings of this species are sure to come!

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Odélie Brouillette
Laetitia Desbordes
Louis-Pierre Ducharme-Tremblay
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM),
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN),
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 14/12/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, c’est la tranquillité des observations qui a marqué la dernière semaine. Plusieurs observateurs et observatrices ont signalé n’avoir rien vu de particulier, en dehors de la beauté habituelle du fleuve, bien évidemment. On compte malgré tout le passage de plusieurs bélugas, de phoques et le passage de quelques grands rorquals.

Alors que les journées raccourcissent de plus en plus, la vue de dos blancs scintillants, presque éblouissants a de quoi émerveiller! Quelques bélugas nageaient par un beau midi ensoleillé dans l’embouchure du Saguenay et on pouvait les voir depuis la berge du côté de Tadoussac. La température froide de l’air permettait même d’admirer leur respiration à la surface de l’eau. « On voyait bien leur petit souffle! » explique une passionnée des mammifères marins.

Depuis Saint-Siméon, quelques bélugas sont aussi observés, mais c’est le passage d’un rorqual à bosse qui a surpris un résident à quelques reprises! La baleine est venue respirer, avec le souffle en forme de ballon bien caractéristique de l’espèce, avant de plonger dans les eaux fleuves, laissant apparaître sa nageoire caudale.

On raconte aussi qu’un souffle de grand rorqual aurait été aperçu devant Franquelin. « Peut-être un rorqual bleu », a supposé le riverain, disposant depuis chez lui d’une vue privilégiée sur le fleuve. Autre apparition de grand rorqual : le rorqual commun Ti-Croche aurait été vu au large des Bergeronnes. Sa nageoire dorsale est fortement arquée vers l’arrière et s’apparente à la forme d’un crochet. Toutefois, c’est la ressemblance de la nageoire dorsale de Bp955 avec celle de la défunte Capitaine Crochet qui lui a valu le surnom de « Ti-Croche ».

Des phoques au large

Ce sont des pinnipèdes qui ont attiré le regard d’une résidente de la Côte-Nord dans les derniers jours. Il fallait cependant être attentive pour les voir, puisqu’ils étaient loin au large. « Entre Godbout et Franquelin, j’ai observé des zones plus sombres au loin… Un peu plus tard, entre Baie-Comeau et Franquelin, j’ai pu observer le même phénomène de plus près. Aux jumelles, il était possible de voir des phoques en déplacement vers l’Ouest, sortant leur tête de l’eau en avançant. La masse disparaissait un moment et ça recommençait, fascinant de voir de si grands mouvements. Trop loin pour officiellement déterminer l’espèce, mais les probabilités sont pour le phoque du Groenland! »

Effectivement, cette espèce grégaire est souvent observée en grands groupes et fréquente le Saint-Laurent pendant l’hiver. À l’opposé de la majorité des mammifères marins qui visitent le Saint-Laurent pendant l’été, le phoque du Groenland réside dans le golfe et l’estuaire pendant l’hiver. Il utilise la banquise de glace pour la mise bas, la mue et la reproduction. D’autres observations de l’espèce sont certainement à venir!

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Odélie Brouillette
Laetitia Desbordes
Louis-Pierre Ducharme-Tremblay
Jade-Audrey Lavergne
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 14/12/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée! Pour…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024