Belugas made headlines this week when a group of a dozen or so individuals was observed in Baie des Ha! Ha! near the city of Saguenay last Monday, July 18. The following day, the belugas seemed to have gone back downstream: “A group of about 20 belugas was observed near the island in L’Anse-Saint-Jean, says one observer. They appeared to be feeding. I observed them at 1 in the afternoon near low tide, close to the island, and then once again at 5 o’clock, more scattered between the island and the middle of the fjord. “Could they be on their way back down the fjord after a whirlwind visit?

Even if incursions of these white whales upstream of Baie Sainte-Marguerite are rather rare, there is nothing to worry about, reassures GREMM scientific director Robert Michaud. “Almost every year we receive reports of belugas in this sector,” he explains. The belugas may have been following food or just exploring.”

A little farther downstream, at L’Anse-de-Roche in Sacré-Coeur, belugas have been present.  White backs are being seen almost every day, much to the delight of locals, who admire the magnificent panorama made all the more impressive by the presence of cetaceans. Belugas were also noted near Prince Shoal, at the Marine Environment Discovery Centre in Les Escoumins, in Pointe-Noire in Baie-Saint-Catherine, and on the other side of the river in Cacouna.

From shore, by kayak or ferry 

At Cap-à-l’Aigle in La Malbaie, several marine mammal sightings have been reported over the past week: harbour seals here and there, a few harbour porpoises at the end of the day on July 19, a minke whale from time to time and a large blast offshore.

In Saint-Siméon, a kayak trip in the bay of Port-au-Persil led to memorable observations for one whale enthusiast on the morning of July 17: “It was well worth it; we had 6 or 7 little porpoises swimming around us, and let’s not forget that these animals are usually very shy and discreet. They probably wanted to announce the imminent arrival of a minke whale, but especially the more unexpected spout of a humpback which, on two occasions, brought smiles to our faces by showing its tail when it dove. A short paddling trip, but so rich in emotions!”

On the ferry between Saint-Siméon and Rivière-du-Loup, one passenger claims to have spotted a single grey back amongst the other white ones. Could this be the season’s first appearance of the famous, long-awaited St. Lawrence narwhal?

“They were right aside of us!” 

Things get exciting in Tadoussac Bay when minke whales come in for a visit: “Last night [July 19], there were really quite a few of them. I was out for a stroll, but I went back to the marina to watch them,” says one naturalist. “They were super close. It was crazy! I couldn’t bring myself to walk away!”

The presence of minke whales, humpbacks, fin whales, porpoises, harbour seals and grey seals has been reported in several locations across the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park. A humpback whale even approached Pointe-de-l’Islet in the late afternoon of July 20.

In the Gaspé Peninsula, a number of marine mammal species have also been present: harbour porpoises, grey seals, harbour seals, minke whales, humpbacks, but just a single observation of a fin whale for the week.

Whales have also been reported near Pointe-à-la-Croix in Franquelin, where minke whales, seals and harbour porpoises have all been sighted. Not to mention the presence of humpbacks, one of which even breached on Sunday, July 17. The rest of Quebec’s Côte-Nord region has also been teeming with life: harbour seals in Gallix, minke whales and grey seals in Sheldrake as well as grey seals, harbour porpoises, minke whales and humpback whales in the Mingan sector.

Where are the Whales this week? Map of the observations of the week.

Here is the map of observations reported this week. It gives an idea of the presence of whales and does not at all represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

A tightly knit network of experienced observers who live according to the rhythm of the St. Lawrence throughout the year. On the waves or on shore, they scan the horizon with passion and patience, watching for the slightest spout. It is thanks to their sharp eyes and living words that we are able to write News from Afield week in and week out. A big thank you to all of our precious collaborators!

Click on the whale or the seal icon to find out more about the corresponding observation (species, number of individuals, info, pictures). To enlarge the map, click on the top right corner icon.

The map is published from the first week of June to the end of September.

Observation of the Week - 21/7/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Autumn Winds

Mariners are well aware that in fall, storms often produce strong winds from the east or northeast. While some enthusiasts…

|Observation of the Week 30/9/2022

Humpbacks, seals and belugas

This week, all up and down the St. Lawrence, humpback whales are topping the lists of observations, along with other…

|Observation of the Week 23/9/2022

Fog-shrouded Waters

This past week was marked by the presence of fog almost all across the St. Lawrence. Mingan Islands, La Malbaie,…

|Observation of the Week 15/9/2022

Les bélugas ont fait parler d’eux cette semaine lorsqu’un groupe d’une douzaine d’individus a été observé dans la baie des Ha! Ha!, au Saguenay, lundi dernier, le 18 juillet. Le jour suivant, les bélugas semblent être redescendus : «un groupe d’environ 20 bélugas a été observé à proximité de l’ile dans L’Anse-Saint-Jean, raconte une observatrice. Ils semblaient se nourrir. Je les ai observés à 13h lorsque la marée était basse, proche de l’ile et ensuite à 17h, plus éparpillés entre l’ile et le centre du fjord.» Seraient-ils en route pour descendre le fjord après une visite éclair?

Même si les incursions des baleines blanches en amont de la baie Saint-Marguerite sont plutôt rares, il n’y a pas de quoi s’inquiéter, rassure Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM. «Ça arrive presque chaque année qu’on reçoit des signalements de bélugas dans ce secteur, explique-t-il. Les bélugas peuvent avoir suivi de la nourriture ou encore être explorateurs.»

Un peu plus en aval, au niveau de L’Anse-de-Roche à Sacré-Cœur, les bélugas circulent.  Des dos blancs sont aperçus presque tous les jours au grand plaisir des riverains, qui admirent le magnifique panorama agrémenté par la présence des cétacés. Des dos blancs ont aussi été remarqués à proximité du Haut-Fond-Prince, au Centre de découverte du milieu marin aux Escoumins, à Pointe-Noire du côté de Baie-Saint-Catherine et de l’autre côté du fleuve, à Cacouna.

De la rive, en kayak ou en traversier 

À Cap-à-l’Aigle, à La Malbaie, plusieurs observations de mammifères marins ont été rapportées au cours de la dernière semaine : des phoques communs ici et là, quelques marsouins communs en fin de journée le 19 juillet, un petit rorqual une fois de temps en temps et un grand souffle est aperçu au large.

À Saint-Siméon, une sortie en kayak dans la baie de Port-au-Persil donne lieu à de belles observations pour une amatrice de baleines le matin du 17 juillet : «Ça valait le coup, 6-7 petits marsouins se promènent autour de nous, eux qui sont habituellement si timides et discrets. Ils voulaient probablement nous annoncer l’arrivée imminente d’un petit rorqual, mais surtout le souffle plus surprenant d’une baleine à bosse qui, à deux reprises, nous a fait le bonheur de plonger en nous montrant sa queue. Petite virée, donc, mais remplie de bonheur!»

Sur le traversier entre Saint-Siméon et Rivière-du-Loup, un voyageur aurait aperçu un dos gris tacheté, nageant avec des dos blancs. Serait-ce une première apparition du célèbre narval du Saint-Laurent, tant attendu?

«Ils étaient juste à côté!»

L’agitation règne dans la baie de Tadoussac lorsque les petits rorquals viennent y circuler:«hier soir (19 juillet), il y en avait vraiment beaucoup, je me promenais, mais je suis retournée sur le quai pour les observer, raconte une naturaliste. Ils étaient juste à côté. C’était fou! Je n’étais plus capable de m’en aller!»

La présence de petits rorquals, de rorquals à bosse, de rorquals communs, de marsouins, de phoques communs et de phoques gris est rapportée à plusieurs endroits dans le Parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent. Un rorqual à bosse s’est même approché de la Pointe-de-l’Islet en fin d’après-midi le 20 juillet.

En Gaspésie, plusieurs mammifères marins sont aussi présents: marsouins communs, phoques gris, phoques communs, petits rorquals, rorquals à bosse, mais il y a eu une seule mention de rorqual commun pendant la semaine.

Les baleines sont aussi présentes à proximité de la Pointe-à-la Croix, à Franquelin, où petits rorquals, phoques et marsouins communs ont été aperçus. Sans compter la présence des rorquals à bosse, dont l’un a même fait un breach le dimanche 17 juillet. Le reste de la Côte-Nord n’est pas laissée pour compte avec la présence de phoques communs à Gallix, de petits rorquals et de phoques à Sheldrake, de phoques gris, de marsouins communs, de petits rorquals et de rorquals à bosse à Mingan.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne? Utiliser l’outil de saisie d’observations de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 21/7/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022

Blanc neige comme un béluga

Pendant que les doux flocons de neige envahissaient l’est du Québec et qu’une couche de blanc couvrait tranquillement le sol,…

|Observations de la semaine 17/11/2022

Les prémices du départ des rorquals à bosse

Les départs d’espèces de baleines migratrices progressent tranquillement, alors que l’hiver approche. Les rorquals à bosse se font plus discrets,…

|Observations de la semaine 10/11/2022