Once again this week, blue whales have been on the prowl, with one spotted in Franquelin, others in Godbout and another report coming in from Gallix. The sightings keep pouring in, making it feel like summer in the middle of February, much to the delight of those who live on the North Shore!

Blue whales in Côte-Nord!

In Franquelin, a local resident spotted a blue whale several times this week. One day close to the coast, another day farther offshore, its powerful spout betrays its presence. Additionally, the blasts of another rorqual brightened up the day of February 6, even if the species could not be identified.

For several days now, large rorquals seem to be becoming more regular in Godbout. One was observed by a local looking out his window. Toward the end of the day, residents were even able to admire a large rorqual in the bay, not far from shore. Locals were thrilled to see whales roaming off the coast of their village. “In the morning, there was a pair of blue whales,” reports one citizen, “and another group of three clearly visible from town. They spent the better part of the morning feeding before leaving a little before noon, but early that afternoon I saw one swimming along the mountainous shoreline and was able to watch her until late in the day. I saw more whales yesterday than during the entire summer of 2023.” In the early morning of February 8, he spots four large spouts offshore between Godbout and Pointe-des-Monts.

It was during a morning stroll by the sea that one marine mammal enthusiast from Gallix was surprised by the sounds of a blue whale. “I was getting close to the shoreline and wow, what a nice surprise! Just on the horizon, I spotted a huge blast and a long back… it was a beautiful blue whale!” She takes the opportunity to capture the moment with her camera. After three breaths at the surface, the whale disappears into the depths. “I continued my stroll on the beach westward and, a half hour later, another spout farther west than the first one… no black back appeared however, but judging by the blast, it was surely a blue.”

Breathing in whales

From shore we can see a large spout erupting offshore and can even hear the animal breathing. The first breath is often the most powerful, as it has been quite a while since the whale last returned to the surface for oxygen. Trachea, larynx, nasal passage, blowhole… Exhalation expels the air in the lungs before the animal takes its next breath. Unlike humans, who replenish a mere 10 to 15% of air in their lungs with each breath, in whales this figure is 90%. That’s what we call efficient!

The winter sun

As for pinnipeds, a few individuals were observed swimming in the frigid waters of the St. Lawrence or resting on the beaches or on the ice farther offshore. In Les Escoumins, one resident observed harbour seals. “The ice is spreading on the river,” she explains, “winter is here!” A harp seal was also spotted from Cacouna.

Whether your walks under the winter sun are a chance to admire large spouts on the horizon, catch the eye of a distant seal or contemplate the quiet formation of ice from the beach, these sparkling white landscapes give winter a truly magical feel. These are the days when the rays warm us just enough to offset the sting of the cold, when we come home to snuggle up in our blankets, and when whales fill our imaginations. Whether through books, films, or memories of our past encounters with these impressive sea giants, we tell ourselves that it is worth the effort to conserve such forces of nature.

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Laetitia Desbordes
Marie-Neige Dion
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams that also share their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 8/2/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Marine Mammals and the Eclipse

On April 8, the banks of the St. Lawrence were basked in sunset-like lighting during the solar eclipse. For those…

|Observation of the Week 11/4/2024

April Whales

“Fin whales in Les Escoumins,” remarks one avid yet impressed observer: “Their powerful breaths really hit you in the gut!” “A…

|Observation of the Week 4/4/2024

A Week of Large Rorquals

Large rorquals continuing to wow observers, a few belugas, harp seals resting on the ice and harbour seals... What more…

|Observation of the Week 28/3/2024

Encore cette semaine, les rorquals bleus circulent : l’un est repéré à Franquelin, d’autres à Godbout et une mention à Gallix. Les observations s’enchainent, donnant des allures estivales en plein mois de février, aux grandes joies des Nord-Côtiers et Nord-Côtières!

Des rorquals bleus sur la Côte-Nord

C’est à plusieurs reprises cette semaine qu’un résident de Franquelin repère un rorqual bleu. Une journée  près de la rive, l’autre au large, on voit son grand souffle puissant. Finalement, les souffles d’un autre rorqual agrémentent la journée du 6 février, même si l’espèce n’est pas identifiée.

Depuis plusieurs jours, les grands rorquals semblent être devenus des habitués de Godbout. Un riverain a même pu en observer un par sa fenêtre par un bon matin. Des résidents et résidentes ont même pu admirer un grand rorqual dans la baie près de la rive en fin de journée. Finalement, c’est à la plus grande joie des villageois et villageoises de Godbout que des baleines ont circulé devant la côte. « En avant-midi, il y avait un groupe de deux bleues, partage un citoyen, et un autre groupe de trois autres baleines devant le village et bien visible. Elles ont passé une bonne partie de l’avant-midi à se nourrir avant de quitter en fin d’avant-midi, mais en début d’après-midi j’en ai aperçu une le long de la montagne et j’ai pu la voir jusqu’en fin d’après-midi. J’ai vu plus de baleines hier que durant tout l’été 2023. » Le 8 février, c’est aussi quatre grands souffles au large entre Godbout et Pointe-des-Monts qu’il repère tôt le matin.

C’est lors d’une marche matinale en bord de mer qu’une passionnée des mammifères marins de Gallix a été surprise par des souffles de rorqual bleu. « J’arrivais tout près du rivage et wow, une belle surprise! Devant moi, tout juste sur la ligne d’horizon, un gros jet et un dos, une belle bleue! » Elle en profite pour immortaliser le moment en photos. Après trois respirations à la surface, la baleine disparait sous la surface. « J’ai continué ma marche sur la plage vers l’ouest et, 30 minutes plus tard, un autre jet plus à l’ouest que le premier… pas de dos noir qui est apparu par contre, mais, à voir le jet, sûrement une bleue.»

La respiration des baleines

Depuis la rive on peut voir un grand souffle qui s’élève au large, on entend aussi le son de cette respiration. Le premier est souvent le plus puissant, car ça fait plus longtemps que la baleine n’est pas revenue à la surface pour s’oxygéner. Trachée, larynx, conduit nasal, évent, l’expiration rejette l’air contenu dans les poumons avant d’inspirer. Contrairement aux humains, qui ne renouvellent que 10 à 15 % de l’air contenu dans leurs poumons, les baleines renouvellent 90 % de l’air. C’est ce qu’on appelle être efficace!

Le soleil d’hiver

Du côté des pinnipèdes, quelques individus nagent dans les eaux glaciales du Saint-Laurent ou encore se reposent sur les plages ou plus au large sur les glaces. Depuis Les Escoumins, ce sont des phoques communs qu’une résidente a observés. « La glace prend de plus en plus de place sur le fleuve, explique-t-elle, l’hiver est bien présent! » Un phoque du Groenland est aussi repéré depuis Cacouna.

Que les marches sous le soleil d’hiver donnent l’occasion d’admirer de grands souffles à l’horizon, de croiser le regard d’un phoque étendu au loin ou de contempler la formation tranquille des glaces depuis la plage, ce sont des paysages blancs et étincelants qui donnent à l’hiver un je-ne-sais-quoi de magique. Ce sont ces journées où les rayons nous réchauffent juste assez pour compenser la piqûre du froid, où on rentre pour se blottir dans nos couvertures, que les baleines remplissent notre imaginaire. Que ce soit au travers des livres, des films, ou en se rappelant nos rencontres avec ces géantes des mers impressionnantes, on se dit que ça vaut la peine de faire des efforts pour conserver de telles forces de la nature.

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Laetitia Desbordes
Marie-Neige Dion
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 8/2/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Un rorqual bleu aux Escoumins

Le plus gros des géants aurait fait un détour par les Escoumins! En effet, plusieurs riverains et riveraines auraient eu…

|Observations de la semaine 22/2/2024

Grands souffles au large et phoques sur la glace

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans…

|Observations de la semaine 15/2/2024

La grande bleue

À la fenêtre, un souffle puissant surgit des eaux troubles du fleuve. Depuis l’intérieur de leur maison, bien au chaud,…

|Observations de la semaine 2/2/2024