A spring snow squall, minke whales slowly arriving, humpbacks breaching and river otters peering at the camera… The riverbanks were an exciting place to be this week!

Feeding minke whale and gatherings of seals

Last week marked the first sighting of a minke whale in the estuary, with one individual spotted in Franquelin. This week, another individual was swimming and actively feeding near the Tadoussac marina! From Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, around a hundred or so harp seals were gathered, in addition to a handful of harbour seals.

Large spouts

While scanning the salt waters off the coast of Franquelin, a local resident had the chance to observe a humpback whale perform a full breach. That wasn’t the end of his good fortune, however, as he was also able to admire a fin whale. A blue whale was also reported in the area. “It seems like spring’s coming early this year,” he comments. Another marine mammal lover witnessed large blasts in the distance, not to mention the presence of several pinnipeds. “I spotted a few seals, including one that managed to find a chunk of ice to drift on.” On the other side of the river, the saltwater breeze brings rumours of unidentified spouts that were supposedly seen in Pointe-Saint-Pierre as well as near Grande-Grave on the Gaspé Bay side.

 

 

Belugas off the coast of Grand-Métis

Thanks to their spotting scopes, a couple of ornithologists were able to admire several stunning belugas from shore. “Observation of a group of belugas on March 6 about 1 km off the coast of Grand-Métis, Bas-Saint-Laurent region. We tallied 5 adults and 2 young (dark grey), including one accompanying an adult that appeared to be feeding; they quietly lingered in the same area and dived on occasion (we saw the tails). Ideal observation conditions: no wind, calm sea, sunny skies. Observed between 16:00 and 16:50.” Even if belugas are sometimes nicknamed “sea canaries,” their sighting is a nice change of pace from watching birds!

 

River otters

One lucky wildlife enthusiast enjoyed a fortuitous glimpse of an animal known for its boisterous behaviour. “We observed a pair of river otters drifting on a block of ice. What an awesome sighting!” This species inhabits the wooded shores of water bodies, where it feeds on fish, molluscs, insects and even frogs. When foraging for food under water, the river otter holds its breath for up to four minutes. Its heart rate falls while its nostrils and ears close. Births take place in March or April; perhaps these two individuals were about to have a litter?

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover. 

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column. 

Sophie Bérubé
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Alexandre Terrigeol
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out! 

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) 

Would you also like to share your observations? 

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]! 

Observation of the Week - 14/3/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Une tempête de neige aux allures de bourrasque printanière, des petits rorquals qui s’installent tranquillement, un breach de rorqual à bosse et des loutres de rivière qui regardent la caméra, les abords du fleuve étaient en pleine effervescence cette semaine de mars!

Petit rorqual en alimentation et rassemblements de phoques

La semaine dernière signait la première observation d’un petit rorqual dans l’estuaire, avec un individu repéré à Franquelin. Cette semaine, c’est du côté de Tadoussac qu’un individu nageait, en pleine alimentation, près du quai! Depuis le cap de Bon-Désir aux Bergeronnes, une centaine de phoques du Groenland sont rassemblés, sans compter la présence de quelques phoques communs.

Des grands souffles

En scrutant les eaux salées devant Franquelin, un riverain a eu la chance de contempler un rorqual à bosse en plein breach. Sa bonne fortune n’était pas terminée pour autant, puisqu’il a aussi pu admirer un rorqual commun. On signale aussi la présence d’un rorqual bleu qui nageait dans le coin. « C’est le printemps d’avance, on dirait, commente-t-il » Une passionnée des mammifères marins a quant à elle pu voir des grands souffles au loin, sans compter la présence de pinnipèdes. « Quelques phoques sont aperçus, dont un qui a réussi à se trouver un morceau de glace pour s’y laisser dériver. » De l’autre côté du fleuve, la brise salée rapporte des rumeurs de souffles mystérieux qui auraient été vus à Pointe-Saint-Pierre ainsi que du côté de la baie de Gaspé, près de Grande Grave.

Bélugas au large de Grand-Métis

C’est depuis la rive, grâce à leurs télescopes, que des biologistes ornithologues ont pu admirer de belles baleines blanches. « Observation d’un groupe de bélugas le 6 mars dernier à environ 1 km au large de Grand-Métis, Bas-Saint-Laurent. Nous avons compté 5 adultes et 2 jeunes (gris foncé), dont un qui accompagnait un adulte, qui semblait s’alimenter; ils restaient tranquillement dans le même secteur et plongeaient à l’occasion (avons vu les queues). Les conditions d’observation étaient idéales : pas de vent, mer calme, beau soleil. Observés entre 16h et 16h50. » Bien qu’on surnomme parfois les bélugas canari des mers, leur observation fait changement de celles des oiseaux!

Des loutres de rivière

C’est un animal bien connu pour son comportement chahuteur qu’une passionnée des animaux a eu la chance d’apercevoir. « Nous avons observé des loutres de rivière, un couple sur un bloc de glace à la dérive. Une magnifique observation! » L’espèce fréquente les rives boisées des plans d’eau et se nourrit de poissons, de mollusques, d’insectes ou encore de grenouilles. Pour chasser, la loutre de rivière retient son souffle jusqu’à quatre minutes sous l’eau. Son rythme cardiaque diminue, tandis que ses narines et ses oreilles se ferment. La naissance des petits ayant lieu en mars-avril, peut-être que les deux individus étaient sur le point d’avoir une portée?

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Sophie Bérubé
Patrice Corbeil
Laetitia Desbordes
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Alexandre Terrigeol
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 14/3/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024

Une semaine de grands rorquals

Des grands rorquals qui continuent d’épater la galerie, quelques bélugas, des phoques du Groenland se reposant sur les glaces et…

|Observations de la semaine 28/3/2024