By Renaud Pintiaux

The year’s off to a great start! January 2: I’ve no sooner arrived at Cap de Bon-Desir, and, standing on the boulders, I spot a large spout offshore. The whale takes five breaths and then arches its back as it dives. I watch it through my binoculars. It’s a fin whale! Ten minutes later, it’s back again. Even if this individual is far away, I take a few photos to confirm the ID. A nice treat to kick off the new year!

The other highlight of the week concerns belugas. On January 7, I’m near the ferry port in Les Escoumins. Much to my surprise, I observe between 300 and 400 belugas offshore (and this is a conservative figure!). This is the first time I’ve ever seen such a gathering at this time of year. I observe multiple groups of several dozen belugas as well as several lone individuals. One section of ​​the river is literally filled with belugas!

Also worth noting is the presence of several groups of harp seals, including one group numbering over 110 individuals in Les Escoumins on January 7.

As far as birds are concerned, there are a few nice flocks of purple sandpipers (see photo taken at Cap de Bon-Désir), a late common loon and of course numerous sea ducks (Barrow’s and common goldeneye, red-breasted mergansers, black ducks, long-tailed ducks, etc.).

Not to mention the striking landscapes and those breathtaking winter skies…

A new year commences, and with it, new adventures on shore and later, on the water.

Happy New Year to all!

Field Notes - 10/1/2017

Renaud Pintiaux

GREMM research assistant from 2003 to 2009 and from 2012 to 2014, Renaud Pintiaux is a passionate observer and photographer. Year round, whether from shore or on the water, he takes every opportunity to observe marine mammals and birds in the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park.

Recommended articles

Catch Me If You Can: A Week at the Saddle Island Haulout

6:30 a.m.: The alarm goes off, sounding the start of a new day in the field. I’m not in Tadoussac,…

|Field Notes 13/2/2020

Skeleton Preparations Move Forward

At the time of his most recent interview with a Whales Online intern in the fall of 2018, Michel Martin,…

|Field Notes 3/2/2020

Is ice a significant natural threat to blue whales in the Gulf?

Revisiting the photos I took this past summer, I pondered some of the specific markings I had observed on blue…

|Field Notes 2/12/2019

Une année qui commence en beauté! Le 2 janvier, me voici sur les rochers du cap de Bon-Désir et, à peine arrivé, je repère un immense souffle au large. Cette baleine prend cinq respirations puis courbe le dos en plongeant. Je l’observe aux jumelles. C’est un rorqual commun! Dix minutes plus tard, le voici de retour. Même si cet individu est loin, je prends quelques photos pour confirmer cette identification. Un beau cadeau de début d’année!

L’autre fait marquant de la semaine concerne les bélugas. Le 7 janvier, je suis près du quai de la traverse aux Escoumins. À ma grande surprise, j’observe au large entre 300 à 400 bélugas (et c’est un chiffre conservateur!). C’est la première fois que je vois un tel rassemblement à cette période de l’année. J’observe de nombreux groupes composés de plusieurs dizaines de bélugas ainsi que des individus isolés. Un secteur du fleuve est littéralement tapissé de bélugas!

À noter également la présence de quelques mouvées de phoques du Groenland, avec notamment une mouvée de plus de 110 individus aux Escoumins le 7 janvier.

Côté oiseaux: toujours de beaux groupes de bécasseaux violets (voir photo prise au cap de Bon-Désir), un plongeon huard tardif et bien sûr de nombreux canards marins (garrots d’Islande et à œil d’or, harles huppés, canards noirs, hareldes kakawis, etc.).

Sans oublier les paysages magnifiques et ces ciels d’hiver à couper le souffle…

Une nouvelle année qui commence, avec de nouvelles aventures près du fleuve puis sur l’eau.

Bonne année à vous!

Carnet de terrain - 10/1/2017

Renaud Pintiaux

Assistant de recherche au GREMM de 2003 à 2009 et de 2012 à 2014, Renaud Pintiaux est un observateur et un photographe passionné. Hiver comme été, de la rive ou en bateau, il saisit toutes les occasions de rencontrer les mammifères marins et les oiseaux du parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent.



Articles recommandés

Attrape-moi si tu peux : une semaine à l’échouerie de Saddle Island

6 h 30, le réveille sonne pour une nouvelle journée de terrain. Je ne suis pas à Tadoussac, mais bien à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard…

|Carnet de terrain 13/2/2020

Avancement de la préparation des squelettes du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins

  Lors de son dernier entretien avec une stagiaire de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2018, Michel Martin, naturaliste sénior…

|Carnet de terrain 3/2/2020

La glace est-elle une menace naturelle importante pour les rorquals bleus dans le golfe?

En revisitant mes photos prises cet été, j’ai réfléchi à des marques particulières vues sur les rorquals bleus. Le 1er…

|Carnet de terrain 2/12/2019