Tuesday, May 23, 2023. For amateur cetologist René Roy, this is his second time on the water this season. During an 80 nautical mile trek between Matane, Pointe-des-Monts and Franquelin, he encounters a large number of belugas, several porpoises, harbour seals and harp seals, not to mention plenty of seabirds.

“There were about forty belugas roughly 5 to 7 [nautical] miles off Pointe-des-Monts,” he explains. They were very scattered and appeared to be feeding. There were even three youngsters, probably bleuvets [term given by French speakers to second-year calves].” On a calm sea with good visibility, he sails the Lower Estuary of the St. Lawrence, logging over 6 hours of observations.

A few days earlier, over the weekend, local residents were also able to venture out on the water. One minke whale was reported, as were a few harbour seals.

Beluga calves are born after fourteen to fifteen months of gestation; females give birth between June and September. When they are first born, calves have a colour that can best be described as “café au lait.” Their colour gradually changes to a dark bluish-grey, at which point they are referred to as “bleuvets.” After two years, they turn grey and then slowly fade until they are completely white in adulthood.

Marine life in all its diversity

In Franquelin, it was during a first paddleboard outing of the spring that a marine mammal enthusiast was able to enjoy views of the local fauna. As she sets out on her craft, she spots the snouts of two harbour seals, after which she began to see whales: “In the tide rips, two minke whales quickly streamed by, travelling long distances between each breath.Lastly, a tiny breath so brief and so small that I had trouble seeing the harbour porpoise that was passing by.” When she’s back near shore again, the adventure ends just as it began… with pinnipeds! “A harbour seal surfaced a few times near me,” she says. It made sure it could watch me while keeping its distance, a bit like anyone who’s in their own bubble!”

In Gaspé Bay, a few quietly swimming harbour seals were observed. Several humpback whales were seen from Pointe Saint-Pierre. Lying halfway between Forillon and Percé, this is an ideal place to head out in search of marine wildlife with one’s binoculars! In the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, a wide array of species is observed: harbour seals and belugas in Les Escoumins, harbour porpoises, grey seals, belugas and harp seals at Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, in addition to belugas, a minke whale and harp seals in Tadoussac. Three naturalists were able to admire a group of white whales from the rocks at Cap de Bon-Désir. “We were even able to see the belugas through the clear water,” mentions one of them.

Whether it’s from shore or on the water, there’s been no shortage of sightings of late! Even if watching  fauna from shore requires perseverance, observers’ patience is often rewarded with the chance to admire animals peacefully going about their lives in their natural environment. For those who are just getting their feet wet with recreational boating, the Whales Online team strongly advises completing the Boater’s Training available at navigationbaleines.ca to learn the best behaviours to adopt in the presence of marine mammals in order to avoid disturbing them.

Observation of the Week - 25/5/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Return of Siam and a Basking Shark in Gaspésie

Siam, the estuary’s oldest humpback whale, is back! Whales were swimming just about everywhere in the St. Lawrence, including good…

|Observation of the Week 4/7/2024

Gaspar, Piton and Blue Whales in the Gulf

It appears that whales have finally made a big return to the estuary and gulf! From one end of the…

|Observation of the Week 27/6/2024

A Hybrid Rorqual in the St. Lawrence?

With the heatwave of the last few days, the cool, refreshing winds blowing over the river were certainly more than…

|Observation of the Week 20/6/2024

Mardi, 23 mai 2023. C’est la deuxième sortie sur l’eau de la saison pour le cétologue amateur René Roy. Au cours d’un trajet de 80 milles marins entre Matane, Pointe-des-Monts et Franquelin, il croise un grand nombre de bélugas, plusieurs marsouins, des phoques communs, des phoques du Groenland, sans compter une multitude d’oiseaux marins.

«Il y avait une quarantaine de bélugas à environ 5 à 7 milles au large de Pointe-des-Monts, explique-t-il. Ils étaient très dispersés et semblaient s’alimenter. Il y avait même trois jeunes, probablement des bleuvets.» Pendant plus de 6 heures d’observations, sur une mer calme avec une bonne visibilité, il navigue sur l’estuaire maritime du Saint-Laurent.

Quelques jours plus tôt, durant la fin de semaine, des résidents du secteur ont aussi pu sortir sur l’eau. De leur côté, c’est un petit rorqual qui a été vu ainsi que quelques phoques communs.

Les petits des bélugas naissent après quatorze à quinze mois de gestation et les femelles mettent bas entre juin et septembre. À leur naissance, les nouveau-nés ont une couleur qu’on peut qualifier de «café au lait». Leur coloration change graduellement pour adopter un bleu-gris foncé et ils sont alors appelés « bleuvets ». Après deux ans, ils sont qualifiés de «gris» et deviennent de plus en plus clairs jusqu’à être totalement blanc à l’âge adulte.

Une faune marine diversifiée

À Franquelin, c’est lors d’une première sortie printanière en planche à pagaie qu’une passionnée des mammifères marins a pu admirer la faune marine. Elle aperçoit en commençant son excursion les nez de deux phoques communs, avant de voir des baleines : «Dans les barres de courant, deux petits rorquals ont défilé très rapidement, parcourant de longues distances entre chacune de leurs respirations. Enfin, un minuscule souffle, si bref, si petit que j’ai eu du mal à voir le marsouin commun qui passait tout près. » À son retour près de la rive, l’aventure se termine comme elle a débuté, avec des pinnipèdes! « Un phoque commun est sorti à quelques reprises autour de moi, raconte-t-elle. Il s’assurait de pouvoir me regarder, tout en gardant ses distances, comme un peu chacun dans sa bulle!»

Dans la baie de Gaspé, quelques phoques communs nagent tranquillement. Plusieurs rorquals à bosse ont pu être vus depuis pointe Saint-Pierre. À mi-chemin entre Forillon et Percé, c’est l’endroit idéal pour partir à la recherche de la faune marine avec des jumelles! Dans le secteur du parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent, les espèces observées se multiplient : des phoques communs et des bélugas aux Escoumins, des marsouins communs, des phoques gris, des bélugas et des phoques du Groenland au cap de Bon-désir aux Bergeronnes, en plus de bélugas, d’un petit rorqual et de phoques du Groenland à Tadoussac. Un trio de naturaliste a pu contempler un groupe de baleines blanches depuis les rochers, au cap de Bon-Désir. «On pouvait même voir les bélugas en transparence dans l’eau», mentionne l’une d’entre elles.

Que ce soit depuis la rive ou sur l’eau, les observations ne manquent pas! Si admirer la faune depuis la berge demande de l’assiduité, la patience est récompensée par la possibilité d’observer les animaux en toute quiétude dans leur milieu naturel. Pour les personnes qui s’initient aux sorties sur l’eau, l’équipe de Baleines en direct conseille vivement de suivre la Formation plaisancier disponible sur  navigationbaleines.ca pour connaître les bons comportements à adopter en présence de mammifères marins afin d’éviter tout dérangement.

Observations de la semaine - 25/5/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Retour des baleines dans l’estuaire

Deux rorquals communs, quantité de bélugas, plusieurs petits rorquals, un rorqual à bosse… le décompte des baleines observées dans le…

|Observations de la semaine 18/4/2024

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024