Anyone who has ever walked through the doors of Tadoussac’s Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre (CIMM) has undoubtedly gawked at the gigantic whale skeletons on display in the main exhibition hall.

Upon entering, visitors are suddenly plunged into an underwater world inhabited by creatures whose size they would have never fathomed. They first find themselves in the enormous mouth of a blue whale, whose two lower jaw bones – 6 metres long each – form a striking arch around the doorway. Just in front of these unusually-shaped bones is the imposing skull of a creature that is hard to recognize at first glance: the sperm whale. Not much remains of the big squarish head that is so iconic of this giant squid hunter. On the left stands the majestic skeleton of the star of the exhibition: Piper, a North Atlantic right whale whose carcass was found in 2015 off the coast of Percé, adding to the list of dead individuals of this critically endangered species.

Although this collection might seem a bit morbid for some, others will see it as a great opportunity to give a second life to these individuals whose stories can then be shared with the public by the CIMM’s seasoned naturalists.

Michel is one of these naturalists. He’s been working at GREMM for over 25 years now and can be recognized in a number of photos and videos illustrating the process of preserving these huge piles of bones. Michel is an experienced and passionate naturalist, precisely the kind of person you need to tackle these vast projects that can take months or even years to complete!

Here is an interview with Michel that will answer the question that many wonder when they come to visit the CIMM: “How is a whale skeleton preserved?”

Hello Michel! What led you to work with skeletons?

I had already been working at the CIMM for several years as a naturalist. It was winter and we had some downtime. It was an opportunity to start working on a new project, something different. I was accustomed to presenting the skeletons we already had on display in the showroom, but this time it was an opportunity to tell more personal anecdotes. It’s more interesting, not just for me, but for our visitors as well.

Not everyone has the opportunity to work on real whale skeletons, so that’s pretty cool! We learned a lot from folks who already knew the tricks of the trade, because they had worked on the first skeletons in the collection. It’s truly interesting to work on a real skeleton, since we’re starting with something that was once alive, an animal that had its own history. It is interesting to give it a second lease on life through stories.

There’s also all the dynamics surrounding the undertaking, so it’s a nice engineering challenge. You have to think that it is robust and delicate at the same time, in addition to being faithful from an anatomical perspective. You have to tinker around and ask a lot of questions. You also have to be a bit of a jack-of-all-trades, which is what makes it interesting. Sometimes we repair, sometimes we embellish. Ultimately it requires a lot of craftsmanship.

Can you explain to us how a whale skeleton is recovered? Why don’t you simply buy replicas?

Replicas are a quick and easy way to get a skeleton. Even if they’re artificial, they’re still quite faithful to the real thing. What’s good is that you don’t need to clean them, they don’t have an unpleasant odour, there’s no oozing, they won’t change colour and they are quite sturdy. Not to mention that buying a beluga skeleton is a whole lot easier than finding a carcass and going through all the steps to turn it into a skeleton. However, it will always remain a replica.

With a real skeleton, it’s more complicated. You have to find a carcass… The opportunity has to present itself… It’s more expensive, though a replica isn’t cheap either, and then there are all the steps to carry out. It can be really long and you can’t be in a hurry. What makes all the difference is that it was a real animal, with its own stories and history to discover and share.

Raising public awareness through the story of an animal that was once alive changes the dynamic

What are the different stages of preservation?

There are four main steps.

1. Recovery and flensing

The idea is to recover a carcass that is still fresh and intact. Nowadays, we try to be more selective and strive to recover species that we don’t yet have in our collection. Also, the carcass must not be too far away and should be easy to recover. You need to put together a team of at least 5 to 10 people, depending on the size of the whale. It is also necessary to plan a budget and apply for permits, particularly with Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), especially if a species at risk is concerned. Then, depending on the researchers’ requests, samples must be taken or the carcass must be sent for a necropsy to the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Saint-Hyacinthe. It is generally the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) that manages the various cases and coordinates sampling.

When an animal is easily transportable, we bring it to our partner, the “Cinq Étoiles” farm in Sacré-Coeur, where we can flense the whale in a field far away from any residences and bury the flesh in accordance with environmental standards.

If we decide to flense a large whale, we work with the provincial department to find the nearest landfill that can receive and bury the animal’s flesh. And that’s not always easy.

For flensing, a special team is set up, which includes a large number of volunteers. Generally, most of the animal is removed on site to avoid having to transport the entire carcass. The bones are then taken to the “Cinq Étoiles” farm.

 

2. Cleaning and drying

This is painstaking work. For the bones, you have to scrape, remove any organic material (flesh, tendons, cartilage) and clean with a pressure washer. Then, the bones are soaked in hot water, sometimes with a degreasing agent, or they are left to the elements before being left to dry. It may be necessary to repeat these steps several times depending on the result, the budget and the team at one’s disposal.

As for the baleen, they are mostly detached and cleaned with a pressure washer as well as a brush and soap. We remove all the flesh and keep only the keratin, which is what our fingernails are made of.

 

3.Repair and assembly

This is usually the longest step! Some elements might break in the recovery phase, when cutting the bones or during transport, so they must be repaired. Then you have to work on assembling the skeleton and that… well that can be a real headache! This phase is carried out in a hangar rented out specifically for this purpose.

4. Installation

In 2020, the CIMM was expanded. A hole was left in the wall by the emergency exit door to allow skeletons to pass through. They were lifted using chain blocks hanging from the ceiling and the bones were held by cables. The last three skeletons – those of a fin whale, a humpback and a North Atlantic right whale – were installed in 3 months.

When the skeletons are cleaned properly, they keep well. Those on display at the CIMM have no varnish, acrylic or oil. We let them “breathe” and there may be a little oozing over time. On the other hand, if you look at the skull of the sperm whale skeleton, it was not soaked long enough, and there are traces of oil. You have to take your time until the oil seeps out of the bones.

What kind of materials are needed for this exercise?

It always depends on the skeleton you have to work with. The steps and equipment vary depending on the size of the animal and bone density. There are work-arounds, but there’s always a minimum of equipment that we need: tubs for soaking, steel rods for assembly, etc.

To hide the steel rods use to replace ligaments, for example, silicone can be used. It serves its purpose, but it’s sticky and not easy to work with. For Piper and the new skeletons, we were inspired by an artist who had worked on a blue whale skeleton in Vancouver. We used an epoxy paste that gives us time to sculpt before everything dries and hardens. This is a binding agent that gives structure, is adhesive and at the same time is attractive and easier to maintain. Pierre-Henry Fontaine, who’s a retired biologist and expert in whale anatomy, not to mention a friend of GREMM, helped us with several skeletons, from flensing to assembly. Sometimes we had anatomical issues. Pierre-Henry gave us a lot of tips on how to go about our work correctly. He was a good mentor.

© GREMM
Pectoral fin bones © GREMM
A chest cavity © GREMM
Installation of skeletons at the CIMM © GREMM
The skeletons are attached with cables © GREMM

How long does it usually take?

For the three big skeletons, it took almost two years of full-time work, mostly with two sets of hands, and sometimes more. During the last few weeks of the project, practically the entire team worked on the assembly. Throughout the process, we have to work with welding workshops who also have their own schedules, as well as with engineers who help us with different kinds of cables and fasteners. There are lots of time constraints to manage.

How did you manage to mount the skeletons in the showroom?

We didn’t have access to the showroom because it was under construction, so we could not assemble them on site the way we had previously done for the sperm whale. In the meantime we rented a hangar where we pre-assembled the larger sections: rib cages, skulls, anchors, etc. We had to think carefully about our techniques and positioning beforehand. At the end of the process, all that was left to do was bring back the sections and complete the assembly. Much of the work was already finished.

Should any kinds of products be applied to the bones to preserve them? Is this their original colour?

The most recent skeletons in the collection were bleached with hydrogen peroxide, while others were just cleaned without attempting to make the colour uniform. Peroxide is a disinfecting agent, but above all it makes it possible to smooth out the colours of the bone. For a relatively new skeleton, which hasn’t lived through the seasons, it’s probably going to be a bit variegated. For a skeleton like the fin whale that has been lying around for years and not cleaned very well initially, you can have up to 12 different shades on a single scapula. These tones range from dark brown to pale brown to grass green, not to mention species of mould that can be purplish or pinkish in colour. In this case, hydrogen peroxide was the only solution.

A little story to share?

The flensing stage is always impressive, as we’re dealing with a dead animal that is sometimes very large. All we want is to recover the bones and that this step can be completed in less than three days, ideally. It’s a rather unique experience!

A rather funny anecdote is that there are lots of holes and gaps in the bones, especially for large animals like whales. When we finally brought the fin whale back to the CIMM, the bones had been lying on the ground outside for over two years. There were snakes everywhere and mice scurrying out of the holes. It was funny, but also a bit disgusting. Once, we dug a few holes and laid down tarps to make a basin, where we then placed the fin whale’s jaws and skull. When we started to fill the basin with water, at one point about ten mice started to swim across the water in a panic, ran out and sought refuge on dry land… like rats fleeing a sinking ship, as the saying goes.

A sensory experience in many respects, skeleton preservation remains unforgettable for all those involved. Michel will be at the CIMM next summer. Come meet him and listen to his stories about whale skeletons, as he has lots more to tell!

Whale Q&A - 7/2/2023

Lise Faure

Lise Faure grew up near the sea in Britanny (France). She became aware of the importance of preserving marine ecosystems at an early age and chose to study political science applied to the environment. After crossing the Atlantic Ocean, she joined the Gremm to share her fascination for the whales of the St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Sei Whale vs. Bowhead Whale: What’s the Difference?

Despite their similar names in French, the sei whale and the bowhead whale are two very distinct species! To eliminate…

|Whale Q&A 6/6/2024

How can I find work with whales?

In a few weeks from now, scientists will be plying the waters of the St. Lawrence with the aim of…

|Whale Q&A 1/5/2024

Interpreting the Extraordinary Surface Behaviour of Humpback Whales

Humpback whales are also particularly entertaining, lifting their tails when diving, performing successive breaches, striking their pectorals or tail on…

|Whale Q&A 29/2/2024

Chaque visiteur qui est déjà venu au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins (CIMM) à Tadoussac s’est sans doute émerveillé en voyant les gigantesques squelettes de baleines qui ornent la salle principale de l’exposition.

En passant la porte d’entrée, on plonge soudainement dans un monde sous-marin, peuplé de créatures dont on n’aurait pas soupçonné la grandeur. On se retrouve d’abord dans l’énorme bouche d’un rorqual bleu, dont les deux os de la mâchoire inférieure, d’une longueur de 6 mètres chacun, viennent former une étonnante arche autour de la porte. Juste en face de ces os aux dimensions peu communes se trouve le crâne imposant d’une bête qu’on a du mal à reconnaitre à première vue : le cachalot macrocéphale. Il ne reste plus grand-chose de la grosse tête carrée si emblématique de ce chasseur de calmars géants. À gauche se dresse le majestueux squelette de la star de l’exposition: Piper, une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord dont la carcasse a été retrouvée en 2015 au large de Percé et vient rallonger la liste des individus décédés de cette espèce en danger critique d’extinction.

Si pour certains cette collection peut sembler un peu morbide, d’autres y voient au contraire une belle opportunité de donner une seconde vie à ces individus dont les naturalistes du CIMM nous racontent ensuite l’histoire.

Michel fait partie de ceux-là. Il travaille au GREMM depuis maintenant plus de 25 ans et vous pouvez le reconnaitre sur plusieurs photos et vidéos illustrant le processus de conservation de ces énormes tas d’os. C’est un naturaliste chevronné et passionné, et de la passion, il en faut pour s’atteler à ces vastes chantiers qui peuvent prendre des mois, voire des années à compléter !

Voici un entretien réalisé avec Michel et qui permettra de répondre à la question que beaucoup de visiteurs se posent en venant visiter le CIMM : comment conserve-t-on un squelette de baleine?

Bonjour Michel! Qu’est-ce qui t’a mené à travailler dans la conservation des squelettes?

Ça faisait déjà plusieurs années que je travaillais au CIMM comme naturaliste. C’était l’hiver et il y avait du temps à combler, c’était l’occasion de commencer à travailler sur un nouveau projet, quelque chose de différent. Puisque j’avais l’habitude de présenter les squelettes déjà présents dans la salle d’exposition, cette fois-ci c’était l’occasion de pouvoir raconter des anecdotes plus personnelles. C’est plus intéressant pour moi, mais aussi pour les visiteurs.

Tout le monde n’a pas l’occasion de travailler sur de vrais squelettes de baleines, c’est plutôt cool! On a beaucoup appris avec les gens qui savaient déjà comment faire, car ils avaient travaillé sur les premiers squelettes de la collection. C’est vraiment intéressant de travailler sur un vrai squelette, puisqu’on part de quelque chose qui était vivant, un animal qui a eu une histoire. C’est intéressant de lui donner une deuxième vie à travers des anecdotes.

Il y a aussi toute la dynamique qui vient autour, car c’est un beau défi d’ingénierie. Il faut penser à ce que ce soit solide et beau en même temps, en plus d’être fidèle d’un point de vue anatomique. Il faut bricoler et beaucoup s’informer. Il faut être un peu touche-à-tout et c’est intéressant pour ça. Parfois on répare, parfois on embellit, c’est comme de l’artisanat finalement.

Peux-tu nous expliquer comment on récupère un squelette de baleine? Pourquoi on n’achète pas juste des reproductions?

Les reproductions sont une façon rapide et facile d’obtenir un squelette. Elles sont fausses, mais quand même assez fidèles. Ce qui est bien c’est qu’on n’a pas besoin de les nettoyer, elles ne sentent pas mauvais, elles ne vont pas suinter ou changer de couleur et elles sont assez robustes. Sans compter qu’acheter un squelette de béluga, c’est pas mal plus facile que de trouver une carcasse et de faire toutes les étapes pour que ça devienne un squelette. Cependant, ça va toujours rester une reproduction.

Avec un vrai squelette, c’est plus compliqué. Il faut trouver une carcasse – ça prend une opportunité –, c’est plus couteux – bien qu’une reproduction ce n’est pas donné non plus – et il y a toutes les étapes à réaliser, ça peut être vraiment long et il ne faut pas être pressé. Ce qui fait toute la différence c’est que c’était un vrai animal, avec ses anecdotes et ses histoires à découvrir et à raconter.

Sensibiliser le public à travers l’histoire d’un animal qui a déjà vécu, ça change la dynamique.

Quelles sont les différentes étapes de conservation à respecter?

Il y a quatre étapes principales.

1. Récupération et dépeçage

L’idée, c’est de récupérer une carcasse encore fraiche et complète. Aujourd’hui, on va être plus sélectif et chercher à récupérer des espèces qui ne sont pas encore dans la collection. Il faut aussi que la carcasse soit assez proche et facile à récupérer. Il faut composer une équipe d’au moins 5 à 10 personnes selon la grosseur de la baleine. Il faut aussi prévoir un budget et faire les demandes de permis, notamment avec Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), surtout pour les espèces en péril. Ensuite, selon les demandes des chercheurs, il faut prélever des échantillons ou envoyer la carcasse pour une nécropsie à la faculté de médecine vétérinaire de Saint-Hyacinthe. En général, c’est le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) qui gère les différents cas et coordonne les prises d’échantillons.

Lorsqu’un animal est facilement transportable, on l’amène chez notre partenaire, la Ferme 5 Étoiles, de Sacré-Coeur, où un champ loin des habitations nous permet de dépecer la baleine et d’enterrer la chair selon les normes environnementales.

Si nous décidons de dépecer une grosse baleine, nous travaillions avec le ministère provincial pour trouver le dépotoir le plus près qui peut recevoir et enterrer la chair de baleine. Ce n’est pas toujours facile.

Une équipe spéciale est mise en place pour le dépeçage. Ça prend beaucoup de bénévoles pour aider. En général, la majeure partie de l’animal est enlevée sur place pour éviter de le transporter au complet. Les os sont ensuite apportés à la Ferme 5 Étoiles.

2. Nettoyage et séchage

C’est un travail minutieux. Pour les os, il faut gratter, enlever ce qu’il reste d’organique (chair, cordons, cartilages) et nettoyer avec une machine à pression. Ensuite, on trempe les os dans l’eau chaude, avec parfois un agent dégraissant, ou bien on les laisse aux aléas de la météo, puis on les laisse sécher. Il arrive de devoir réitérer ces phases plusieurs fois en fonction du résultat, selon le budget et l’équipe disponible.

En ce qui concerne les fanons, ils sont détachés et nettoyés en bonne partie avec une machine à pression, ainsi qu’une brosse et du savon. On enlève toute la chair pour ne conserver que la kératine, qui est aussi ce qui compose nos ongles.

3. Réparation et montage

C’est généralement l’étape la plus longue! Certaines parties se cassent dans la phase de récupération, lorsqu’on coupe les os ou pendant le transport, il faut alors les réparer. Ensuite il faut travailler sur le montage du squelette et là… c’est un véritable casse-tête ! Cette phase est réalisée dans un hangar loué pour l’occasion.

4. Installation

En 2020, le CIMM a été agrandi. Un trou a été laissé dans le mur de la porte de sortie d’urgence pour laisser passer les squelettes. On les a montés à l’aide de palan accrochés au plafond et les os sont portés par des câbles. Les trois derniers squelettes – le rorqual commun, le rorqual à bosse et la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord – ont été installés en 3 mois.

Quand les squelettes sont bien nettoyés, ils se conservent bien. Ceux du CIMM n’ont pas de vernis, ni d’acrylique ou d’huile. On les laisse «respirer» et ils vont un peu suinter avec le temps. Par contre, si vous regardez le crâne du squelette de cachalot, il n’a pas trempé suffisamment longtemps ; on y voit des traces d’huile. Il faut prendre son temps le temps que l’huile sorte des os.

Quel matériel utilise-t-on à travers ce processus?

Pour cacher les tiges d’acier afin de remplacer les ligaments, par exemple, on peut utiliser du silicone. Ça fait bien, mais c’est collant et ce n’est pas facile de le travailler. Pour Piper et les nouveaux squelettes, on s’est inspiré d’un artiste qui avait travaillé sur le squelette d’un rorqual bleu à Vancouver. On a utilisé une pâte d’époxy qui permet d’avoir un temps de modelage avant que ça ne sèche et durcisse. C’est un agent agglomérant qui donne de la structure, qui colle et en même temps c’est joli et plus facile d’entretien. Pierre-Henry Fontaine, biologiste à la retraite et spécialiste de l’anatomie des baleines, un ami du GREMM, nous a aidés pour plusieurs squelettes, du dépeçage au montage. Parfois, on avait des soucis anatomiques. Pour bien faire les choses, il nous a donné beaucoup d’informations. Ça a été un bon mentor.

Des fanons en train de sécher © GREMM
Des os de nageoires pectorales © GREMM
Une cage thoracique © GREMM
Installation des squelettes au CIMM © GREMM
Les squelettes sont attachés à l'aide de câbles © GREMM

Ça prend combien de temps, en général?

Pour les trois gros squelettes, ça a duré pratiquement deux ans à temps plein à quatre bras majoritairement, puis parfois avec du renfort. Sur la fin du projet, presque toute l’équipe a travaillé lors des dernières semaines de montage. Tout le long du processus, il faut travailler avec des ateliers de soudure qui ont aussi leur planning ainsi qu’avec des ingénieurs qui nous aident pour les types de câbles et de fixations. Il y a plein de contraintes de temps à gérer.

Comment avez-vous réussi à monter les squelettes dans la salle d’exposition?

On n’avait pas accès à la salle d’exposition parce qu’elle était en construction, alors on ne pouvait pas les monter sur place, ce qui avait été le cas pour le cachalot. On a loué un hangar en attendant, où on a préassemblé les grosses sections : cages thoraciques, crânes, ancrages, etc. Il fallait bien réfléchir aux techniques et au positionnement en amont. À la fin, on avait plus qu’à rapatrier les sections et terminer le montage. Une grosse partie du travail était déjà faite.

Faut-il mettre des produits sur les os pour les conserver? Est-ce leur couleur originale?

Les derniers squelettes de la collection ont été blanchis au peroxyde d’hydrogène, alors que certains ont juste été nettoyés, sans être uniformisés. Le peroxyde est un agent désinfectant, mais qui permet surtout d’uniformiser la couleur des os. Pour un squelette relativement nouveau, qui n’aura pas vécu les saisons, il va probablement être un peu bigarré. Pour un squelette comme le rorqual commun qui a trainé des années dehors et qui n’a pas bien été nettoyé au départ, on peut avoir jusqu’à 12 tons de couleurs différentes sur une seule omoplate. Ça va du brun foncé au pâle, en passant par des verts pelouse, puis des espèces de champignons dans les tons violacés ou roses. Dans ce cas-là, le peroxyde d’hydrogène était la seule solution.

Une petite anecdote à raconter?

La partie dépeçage est toujours impressionnante parce qu’on parle d’un animal mort complet qui est parfois très gros, c’est impressionnant. Tout ce qu’on veut c’est récupérer des os et que ça ne dure pas trois jours idéalement. C’est une expérience…particulière!

Une anecdote assez drôle à raconter c’est qu’il y a plein de trous et d’interstices dans les os, surtout pour des gros animaux comme les baleines. Quand on a rapatrié le rorqual commun, les os étaient restés sur le sol, dehors, pendant plus de deux ans. Il y avait des couleuvres qui pendaient de partout, des souris qui ressortaient des trous, c’était marrant, mais un peu dégueu. Une fois, on avait creusé des trous, puis installé des bâches pour faire un bassin et y mettre les mâchoires et le crâne du rorqual commun. Quand on a commencé à remplir avec de l’eau, à un moment donné, une dizaine de souris se sont mises à sortir en panique, elles ont nagé pour sortir de l’eau et se réfugier au sec – «les rats quittent le navire» comme on dit.

Expérience sensorielle en tous genres, la conservation de squelettes reste tout de même inoubliable pour ceux qui ont pu y contribuer. Michel sera au CIMM l’été prochain, venez le rencontrer et l’entendre raconter des histoires de squelettes de baleines, il en a bien d’autres en réserve!

Les baleines en questions - 7/2/2023

Lise Faure

Lise Faure a grandi près de la mer en Bretagne (France). Elle a été sensibilisée très tôt à l'importance de préserver les écosystèmes marins et a choisi d'étudier la science politique appliquée à l'environnement. Après avoir traversé l'océan Atlantique, elle s'engage auprès du GREMM et de Baleines en direct pour partager sa fascination pour les baleines du Saint-Laurent.

Articles recommandés

Comment les baleines restent-elles au chaud au cœur des eaux glacées?

Dans le cadre de la Semaine de la culture scientifique, se déroulant du 18 au 24 septembre sous le thème…

|Les baleines en questions 21/9/2023

Pourrait-on diriger les baleines avec des sons?

Saviez-vous qu’une onde sonore peut se propager dans l’eau à une vitesse fulgurante de 5400 kilomètres par heure? Dans les…

|Les baleines en questions 7/9/2023

Un regard sur l’iris

Comparativement à leur grande taille, les yeux des baleines sont très petits. On dit souvent que les yeux sont la…

|Les baleines en questions 30/7/2023