At Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, some thirty fin whales are present, both “known” faces and newcomers. Are they easy to spot? More or less, as there is a thick shroud of fog as well. To succeed, we must use our ears to look for the whales by listening for their blows. In fact, it was the loud blow of a blue whale that alerted an employee of a Gaspé-based cruise operator to the presence of an individual of this species off of Cap Gaspé. Some observers can even occasionally estimate the distance of the animal according to the time elapsed between the appearance of the spout, suspended in the air for several seconds, and the sound of the blow. At the Cap de Bon-Désir site in Les Bergeronnes, visitors and naturalists observed a blue whale repeatedly on July 27. They were witness to its enormous size, bluish and mottled skin, small dorsal fin and powerful spout expelled from its large blowhole measuring about 40-50 cm.

Fin whales are also more numerous in the Estuary. Individuals recognized include Orion, Bp913, Bp945, Bp918, Cayman and Bp910. The animals were gathered on July 30 near the Prince Shoal Lighthouse off Tadoussac. Some of them were surface feeding. Bp945, tracked by the Fisheries and Oceans Canada-GREMM team with a radio tag placed on its back on July 29, appeared at the water surface turned on its side and its mouth agape. Near the surface there was krill, and not far below, sand lances.

The Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) team also noted this week the red feces produced by whales having eaten….krill! Excrement produced after consuming fish is generally more brownish in colour. Whale feces also plays a role in the stability of the marine ecosystem. Indeed, whales feed in the water column and discharge their excrement at the surface, thereby recycling nutrients and creating a beneficial “whale pump”.

Father downstream, in the Blanc-Sablon area of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, “hundreds of humpback whales have been present since about July 10,” points out Richard Sears, MICS researcher and founder, as well as dolphins, minke and fin whales. Whales like never before!

Observation of the Week - 31/7/2015

Marie-Sophie Giroux

Marie-Sophie Giroux joined the GREMM in 2005 until 2018. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Marine Biology and a diploma in Environmental Consulting. As Lead Naturalist, she oversees and coordinates the team working at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre and writes for Whales Online and Whale Portraits. She loves to share “whale stories” with visitors to the CIMM and readers alike.

Recommended articles

Familiar Markings and Tail Slaps in the Water

As I’m driving down Highway 132, my eye is suddenly drawn out to sea. From the dark, rolling water spews…

|Observation of the Week 21/6/2021

Dinner is served!

“The capelin are rolling like crazy here in the Gaspé,” says one observer. “At least ten humpbacks have been tallied…

|Observation of the Week 10/6/2021

On the lookout for big blasts

Friday, May 28: It’s barely the crack of dawn on the dunes of Tadoussac when Laetitia from the Tadoussac Bird…

|Observation of the Week 3/6/2021

À Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, une trentaine de rorquals communs sont présents, des visages «connus» et de nouveaux arrivants. Sont-ils faciles à trouver? Plus ou moins, car la brume est aussi bien présente. Pour réussir, il faut chercher les baleines avec ses oreilles pour entendre leur souffle. C’est d’ailleurs en sursautant au son du puissant souffle d’un rorqual bleu qu’un excursionniste de Gaspé a repéré un rorqual bleu au large du cap de Gaspé. Certains observateurs estiment même parfois la distance de l’animal selon le temps écoulé entre l’apparition du souffle, suspendu dans les airs quelques secondes, et le son retentissant. Au site du Cap-de-Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, les visiteurs et les naturalistes ont observé à plusieurs reprises un rorqual bleu le 27 juillet. Ils découvraient son gigantisme, sa peau bleutée et mouchetée, sa petite nageoire dorsale et son puissant souffle expulsé de son évent gros d’environ 40 à 50 cm.

Les rorquals communs sont aussi plus nombreux dans l’estuaire. Parmi les reconnus : Orion, Bp913, Bp945, Bp918, Caïman et Bp910. Les animaux étaient rassemblés le 30 juillet près du phare du haut-fond Prince au large de Tadoussac. Certains s’alimentaient à la surface de l’eau. Bp945, suivi par l’équipe de Pêches et Océans Canada-GREMM grâce à une balise radio installée sur son dos le 29 juillet, surgissait à la surface de l’eau, tourné sur le côté, la gueule grande ouverte. En surface, il y avait du krill, et non loin en dessous, du lançon.

© GREMML’équipe de la Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS) remarquait aussi cette semaine des fèces rouges produites par les baleines ayant mangé… du krill! Les excréments produits suite à une alimentation de poissons sont plutôt bruns. Les fèces de baleines joueraient d’ailleurs un rôle dans la stabilité de l’écosystème marin. En effet, les baleines s’alimentent dans la colonne d’eau et rejettent leurs excréments en surface, recyclant ainsi les nutriments et créant une «pompe de baleine» bénéfique.

Plus loin dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, dans la région de Blanc-Sablon, «des centaines de rorquals à bosse sont présents depuis le 10 juillet environ», souligne Richard Sears, chercheur et fondateur du MICS, ainsi que des dauphins, des petits rorquals et des rorquals communs. Des baleines comme jamais!

Observations de la semaine - 31/7/2015

Marie-Sophie Giroux

Marie-Sophie Giroux s’est jointe au GREMM en 2005 et y a travaillé jusqu’en 2018. Elle détient un baccalauréat en biologie marine et un diplôme en Éco-conseil. Chef naturaliste, elle supervise et coordonne l’équipe qui travaille au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins et rédige pour Baleines en direct et Portrait de baleines. Aux visiteurs du CIMM ou aux lecteurs, elle adore « raconter des histoires de baleines ».

Articles recommandés

Jaillir avec puissance de la surface

Décidément, samedi fut une journée mouvementée dans la baie de Gaspé. Samedi matin, deux rorquals à bosse ont sauté à…

|Observations de la semaine 2/12/2021

Bouillonnements colorés au large

Vendredi matin, depuis le haut des dunes de Tadoussac, un ornithologue passionné aperçoit des éclaboussures au milieu du fleuve. Intrigué,…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2021

Le chant des loups marins

«Côté baleines, c'est tranquille cette semaine, nous confie une habitante de Percé, mais les phoques gris sont bien présents. La…

|Observations de la semaine 16/11/2021