As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their activities. With temperatures heralding a fast approaching winter (much to the delight of cold weather lovers), some enthusiasts put on their boots, parkas and knit hats to brave the elements, head toward the river and scan the endless horizon.

As for sightings, a few white backs are still hanging around near the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord, blending in with the mountain landscape. Although belugas are year-round residents in the St. Lawrence, they do undertake short seasonal migrations. In summer, the population is concentrated in the estuary between Île aux Coudres and Forestville. In the winter months, these white whales move to a part of the estuary farther downstream and into the northern portion of the gulf.

Harbour porpoises

Farther up the fjord, in Baie des Ha! Ha! in the town of La Baie, two porpoises were seen on November 13: “We lost sight of them around the centennial cross,” explains one curious resident, “but they were heading toward Anse à Philippe and Anse à Benjamin.” A little later in the week, another harbour porpoise, a solitary one this time, was spotted near the marina in Saint-Siméon. “They really seem to be abundant this fall,” notes naturalist and wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux. A few seals and a lone minke whale were spotted by a local resident, but it was the presence of belugas that astonished her most: “Much to my surprise, a good ten or so belugas passed by en route to Tadoussac, clearly visible despite the low light.”

Sunsets and sunrises light up the river with their colours. Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes appears to be teeming with life. Renaud Pintiaux sums up one of his days in the field: “A cold and windy day, but full of exciting observations […]: harbour porpoises, grey seals, a mink with a fish in its mouth, beautiful black guillemots everywhere, not to mention bufflehead near my favourite rock and… a stunning and very rare thick-billed murre!” Harbour seals, a few minke whales and even a humpback whale have also been present in the area.

Rorquals on the move

In Tadoussac, minke whales surface in the bay and feed off Pointe de l’Islet. Will they be undertaking their migration anytime soon? Beginning in November, individuals of this species head to the Caribbean, where they spend the winter before returning in May. For the time being, they are still rather plentiful in the sector!

The arching back of a cetacean – a lingering minke whale as it turns out – breaks the surface near Franquelin. One marine mammal enthusiast also observes a humpback. Could it be the same one that was observed the next day from Pointe-des-Monts? A little farther down the river, between two shovelfuls of snow, mariner Jacques Gélineau ventures out to sea. He has the good fortune to encounter a humpback whale and was even able to take a few photos. He also enjoys the opportunity to observe grey seals offshore and harbour seals closer to the coast.

Observation of the Week - 17/11/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Big gulps in the bay

The day is calm with a quiet whisper of a wind, while out in the bay, a few dark spots…

|Observation of the Week 1/12/2022

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

Humpback Whale Season Winding Down

As winter approaches, migratory whale species are slowly beginning to leave. Although humpback whales are becoming more scarce, the waters…

|Observation of the Week 10/11/2022

Pendant que les doux flocons de neige envahissaient l’est du Québec et qu’une couche de blanc couvrait tranquillement le sol, les mammifères marins poursuivaient leurs activités. Si les températures laissaient présager l’hiver qui arrive à grands pas et réjouit les amoureux de cette saison, des enthousiastes ont enfilé bottes, manteau et tuque pour braver la météo, se diriger près du fleuve et laisser leurs yeux se perdre dans l’horizon.

Au tableau des observations, quelques dos blancs circulent encore à l’embouchure du fjord du Saguenay, s’harmonisant avec le paysage des montagnes. Les bélugas résident à l’année dans le Saint-Laurent, mais migrent en fonction des saisons. L’été, la population se concentre dans l’estuaire entre l’ile aux Coudres et Forestville. En hiver, les baleines blanches se dirigent vers une partie plus en aval de l’estuaire et dans la portion Nord du Golfe.

Un, deux et plusieurs marsouins

En remontant le fjord, dans la baie des Ha! Ha! à La Baie, deux marsouins communs sont aperçus le 13 novembre dernier:«nous les avons perdus à la hauteur de la croix du centenaire, explique un résident curieux, mais ils se dirigeaient toujours vers les anses à Philippe et à Benjamin.» Un peu plus tard dans la semaine, un autre marsouin commun, un solitaire cette fois-ci, nage à Saint-Siméon devant le quai. «Il semble y en avoir vraiment beaucoup cet automne» remarque Renaud Pintiaux, naturaliste et photographe animalier. Quelques phoques et un petit rorqual sont aussi aperçu par une riveraine, mais c’est la présence des bélugas qui la surprend le plus:«à mon grand étonnement une bonne dizaine de bélugas ont passé, très repérables à la noirceur en direction de Tadoussac.»

Les couleurs illuminent le fleuve lors des couchers et levers de soleil. Le cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, semble fourmiller de vie. Renaud Pintiaux raconte l’une de ses journées d’observations:«Une journée froide et venteuse, mais pleine de belles rencontres ici […] : marsouins communs, phoque gris, vison d’Amérique avec un poisson dans la gueule, des beaux guillemots à miroir en ce moment omniprésent, mais aussi un petit garrot près de ma roche et… un beau et rare guillemot de Brunnich!» Des phoques communs, quelques petits rorquals et même un rorqual à bosse nagent aussi dans le secteur.

Les rorquals en cavale

À Tadoussac, des petits rorquals font surface dans la baie et s’alimentent devant la Pointe de l’Ilet. Commenceront-ils bientôt leur migration? Les individus de cette espèce se dirigent vers la région des Antilles en novembre pour y passer l’hiver. Ils reviennent ensuite en mai. Pour l’instant ils sont encore bien présents dans le secteur!

Le dos d’une baleine jaillit du côté de Franquelin : un petit rorqual traine encore dans le secteur. Un passionné de mammifères marins observe aussi un rorqual à bosse. Serait-ce le même qui est observé la journée suivante à Pointe-des-Monts? Un peu plus en aval du fleuve, entre deux pelletées de neige, le navigateur Jacques Gélineau s’est aventuré en mer. Il a eu la chance de rencontrer un rorqual à bosse et a même pu en tirer quelques images. Il a aussi eu l’occasion d’observer des phoques gris au large et des phoques communs près de la rive.

Observations de la semaine - 17/11/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Phoques, rorquals et bélugas dans l’hiver

Cette semaine, les amoureux de l’hiver ont pu profiter des courtes journées ensoleillées pour aller admirer phoques, bélugas, petits rorquals…

|Observations de la semaine 8/12/2022

De grandes bouchées dans la baie

La journée est calme, le vent souffle tranquillement, dans la baie, quelques taches sombres s’agitent au loin. Il y a…

|Observations de la semaine 1/12/2022

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022