To protect an endangered species, one needs to understand the factors inhibiting its recovery. In the case of the St. Lawrence beluga, one of the hypotheses is that contamination is affecting the species’ health and its ability to reproduce. A new multidisciplinary research project will focus on this issue over the next five years. To achieve this, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada are providing nearly $1 million in funding under the new “Whale Science for Tomorrow” program.

Bringing together researchers from four Canadian universities, two federal departments and an independent research organization, the project will contribute to a more complete overview of the contaminants that accumulate in the tissues of St. Lawrence belugas and their potential toxic effects. With this new project, UQAM researcher Jonathan Verreault and his collaborators will target several new contaminants that have yet to be monitored in this population and that could represent a risk to beluga health, after which they will offer recommendations to the relevant authorities.

Toxic belugas

The St. Lawrence beluga population is more vulnerable to exposure to contaminants because it lives year-round in this highly industrialized watercourse. Contaminants are not necessarily produced or released around its critical habitat, as they come mainly from municipal effluents and watersheds along the St. Lawrence and Great Lakes. Being non-migratory, the beluga feeds year-round on prey that share its environment. Little by little, belugas accumulate contaminants in their bodies. This phenomenon is known as bioaccumulation. Part of the research project will examine the contamination of the beluga’s presumed prey in order to better understand how contaminants are being transferred to the whales.

Known as persistent organic pollutants (POPs), many banned chemicals continue to linger in the environment.
And then there are the new chemicals created to replace those that have been outlawed. However, the persistence and bioaccumulation of these new contaminants and their long-term effects are unknown. St. Lawrence belugas have the potential to be contaminated by a multitude of products for a long time to come. “The threat created by chronic exposure to contaminants is subtle. Sometimes, action must be taken hundreds of kilometres away from where the belugas are and sustained, long-term pressure must be maintained on the political bodies that assess the potential environmental risks of these chemicals,” explains the project’s lead researcher, Jonathan Verreault.

In an effort to increase knowledge about old and new contaminants, but also to understand their potential toxic effects on belugas, Jonathan Verreault and his team from the Université du Québec à Montréal are collaborating with Zhe Lu and his team from the Université du Québec à Rimouski. A Master’s student will examine the temporal trends of emerging environmental contaminants, i.e. their presence over time and their abundance. Another student will evaluate the effects of various contaminants on the functions of the beluga’s thyroid, which in females are notably related to calving. University of Toronto researcher Hui Peng will conduct a general contaminant analysis to paint a picture of all chemical compounds that accumulate in belugas rather than target specific contaminants that have already been identified. “This will provide us with a more representative and up-to-date portrait of contamination in this vulnerable population,” explains Jonathan Verreault.

The samples studied come from beluga carcasses reported to the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network as well as from biopsies collected by the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals.

News - 12/3/2019

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller is responsible for GREMM's communications. As Editor-in-Chief for Whales Online, she devours research and has an insatiable thirst for the stories of scientists and observers. Drawing from her background in literature and journalism, Marie-Ève strives to put the fragile reality of cetaceans into words and images.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Bélugas contaminés : un nouveau projet d’envergure pour comprendre la contamination et ses effets

  • À partir d'un petit morceau de gras prélevé sur un béluga, les chercheurs peuvent étudier sa contamination. // With a sample of skin and fat, the research team will study the beluga contamination. © GREMM
    12 / 03 / 2019 Par Marie-Ève Muller

    Pour protéger une espèce en voie de disparition, il faut connaitre ce qui empêche son rétablissement. Pour le béluga du Saint-Laurent, une des hypothèses est que la contamination nuit à sa santé et à sa capacité à se reproduire. Un nouveau projet de recherche multidisciplinaire se penchera sur la question durant les cinq prochaines années. Pour le réaliser, Pêches et Océans Canada et le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie offrent un financement de près d’un million de dollars dans le cadre du nouveau programme «Sciences pour l’avenir des baleines».

    Réunissant des chercheurs de quatre universités au Canada, de deux ministères fédéraux et d’un organisme de recherche indépendant, le projet contribuera à dresser un portrait plus complet des contaminants qui s’accumulent dans les tissus des bélugas du Saint-Laurent et de leurs effets toxiques potentiels. Avec ce nouveau projet, le chercheur Jonathan Verreault de l’UQAM et ses collaborateurs cibleront plusieurs nouveaux contaminants n’ayant jamais fait l’objet d’un suivi dans cette population et qui pourraient représenter un risque pour la santé des bélugas, pour ainsi offrir des recommandations aux autorités compétentes.

    Bélugas toxiques

    La population des bélugas du Saint-Laurent est plus vulnérable à l’exposition aux contaminants parce qu’elle réside à l’année dans ce cours d’eau fortement industrialisé. Les contaminants ne sont pas nécessairement produits ou relâchés autour de son habitat essentiel, car ils proviennent majoritairement des effluents municipaux et des bassins versants le long du Saint-Laurent et des Grands Lacs. Sans jamais de répit lié à une migration, le béluga se nourrit de proies vivant elles aussi dans le même milieu. Peu à peu, il accumule donc les contaminants dans son corps. C’est ce qu’on appelle la bioaccumulation. Une partie du projet de recherche se penchera sur la contamination des proies présumées des bélugas, pour mieux comprendre comment les contaminants sont transférés aux baleines.

    «La menace créée par l’exposition chronique aux contaminants est subtile», explique l’écotoxicologue Jonathan Verreault. © UQAM

    De nombreux produits chimiques aujourd’hui bannis sont encore présents dans l’environnement, ce qu’on appelle des polluants organiques persistants (POP). À ceux-là s’ajoutent de nouveaux produits chimiques créés pour remplacer ceux interdits. Toutefois, la persistance et la bioaccumulation de ces nouveaux contaminants ainsi que leurs effets à long terme sont inconnus. Les bélugas du Saint-Laurent ont donc le potentiel d’être contaminés par de nombreux produits, et pour longtemps encore. «La menace créée par l’exposition chronique aux contaminants est subtile. Elle demande d’agir parfois à des centaines de kilomètres d’où on trouve les bélugas et de maintenir une pression soutenue et à long terme sur les instances politiques qui évaluent le risque que ces substances chimiques peuvent poser sur l’environnement», explique le chercheur responsable du projet, Jonathan Verreault.

    Pour augmenter les connaissances sur les anciens et les nouveaux contaminants, mais également pour comprendre leurs effets toxiques potentiels sur les bélugas, son équipe de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et celle de Zhe Lu de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski collaborent. Un étudiant à la maitrise se penchera sur la tendance temporelle des contaminants environnementaux émergents, c’est-à-dire leur présence dans le temps et leur abondance. Un autre évaluera les effets de différents contaminants sur les fonctions thyroïdiennes du béluga, fonctions liées entre autres à la mise bas chez les femelles. Du côté de l’Université de Toronto, le chercheur Hui Peng effectuera une analyse non ciblée des contaminants, afin de dresser un portrait de l’ensemble des composés chimiques qui s’accumulent chez le béluga plutôt que de cibler certains contaminants spécifiques dont on connait déjà l’identité. «Cela nous permettra d’avoir un portrait plus représentatif et actualisé de la contamination chez cette population vulnérable», explique Jonathan Verreault.

    Les échantillons étudiés proviennent des carcasses de béluga rapportées au Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins, mais également des biopsies prélevées par le Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins.

    En savoir plus

    Sauver les bélugas du Saint-Laurent (UQAM, 11/03/2019)

    Protéger les baleines en voie de disparition au Canada au moyen de la recherche scientifique et de la collaboration: Science pour l’avenir des baleines (Gouvernement du Canada, 08/03/2019)

    Sur Baleines en direct

    L’état de santé du Saint-Laurent

    La contamination du béluga: programme de rétablissement

    Des retardateurs de flamme interdits sont toujours présents chez le béluga du Saint-Laurent

     


    Marie-Ève Muller s’occupe des communications du GREMM. Comme rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct, elle dévore les recherches et s’abreuve aux récits des scientifiques et des observateurs et observatrices. Issue du milieu de la littérature et du journalisme, Marie-Ève cherche à mettre en mots et en images la fragile réalité des cétacés.