Clear blue sky, low winds, calm sea… The perfect conditions for a productive day of photo-identification and photogrammetry. All we have to do is find some belugas. We thus head out to sea aboard the Bleuvet.

It only takes a few minutes for a herd of belugas numbering about thirty individuals to appear around us, at a safe distance. We decide to embark on our research efforts with a small group. Drone operator Albert Michaud installs his equipment while captain-for-the-day Timothée Perrero positions the boat. Sophie Bédard climbs onto the roof and starts taking down data using a voice recorder: composition of the group, swimming speed (very active), distance, etc. Everything is in place, and Timothée slips on a helmet and leather gloves to handle the drone. One wrong manoeuvre could lead to serious injury: all precautions are necessary!

Once the drone is in the air, Timothée hurries back to the wheel to reposition the ship. Sophie photographs the flanks of the belugas who are simultaneously captured by the airborne drone. The belugas are moving quickly, meaning we have to be extra efficient to keep up with them. After about a half an hour, we lose track of the group. Albert brings the drone back on board, Timothée puts his gear back on to catch the device and we record the flight data.

Where to now? Just as we ponder this question, a Parks Canada research boat informs us that a large herd is midway between Les Escoumins and Les Bergeronnes. We set out in search of these animals, passing by a few groups of fin whales and humpbacks without stopping. When we finally reach the location of the belugas, the sight is one to behold. About 150 belugas are swimming in small groups one behind the other. “I’ve never seen that, a stream of belugas like that in such large, tight clusters and so dynamic!”, exclaims Timothée. The belugas are all vigorously swimming in a single direction, the same as that of the previous herd.

Once again, we launch the drone. Amongst the belugas, a minke whale blows, and a few grey seals are spotted here and there. The belugas continue on their way and we follow them, almost all the way to Tadoussac. For nearly two hours, we photograph the belugas to record their body size and identify them. Later the wind forces us to bring the drone back on board. We turn off the engines while we grab a quick bite to eat. Following this short break, we try our luck in the Saguenay, where we expect the winds should be lighter. Just beyond the ferry crossing route, we encounter adult belugas accompanied by young greys and newborns. The herd is quite scattered and it is rather difficult to predict where they will go. We continue farther upstream, where we again encounter a group of belugas that seem to be in a hurry to go somewhere. Is it the same herd we encountered early that morning? At the speed they’re swimming, it’s hard to say. Photo analysis may provide some answers to this question.

Field Notes - 3/10/2018

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller is responsible for GREMM's communications and spokeperson for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergencies Response Network (QMMERN). As Editor-in-Chief for Whales Online, she devours research and has an insatiable thirst for the stories of scientists and observers. Drawing from her background in literature and journalism, Marie-Ève strives to put the fragile reality of cetaceans into words and images.

Recommended articles

With the visitors… at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Center while it is COVID time!

Whether on water or on land, the research activities carried out by the Group for Research and Education on Marine…

|Field Notes 9/9/2020

With the belugas… photographed from shore

Since 8 o’clock in the morning, GREMM (Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals) research assistant Mathieu Marzelière has…

|Field Notes 3/9/2020

With the Large Rorquals… New Mothers and a Whale Swimming Backward!

What a pleasure it is to cross paths with large rorquals! This week, we encountered two blue whales, nearly a…

|Field Notes 28/7/2020

Ciel bleu royal sans nuage, vent faible, mer lisse. Les conditions sont réunies pour une journée de photo-identification et de photogrammétrie efficace. Il ne reste qu’à rejoindre les bélugas. À bord du Bleuvet, nous prenons donc le large.

Il n’aura fallu que quelques minutes pour qu’un troupeau de bélugas d’environ trente individus surgissent autour de nous, à bonne distance. Nous choisissons de commencer nos efforts de recherche auprès d’un petit groupe. Albert Michaud, le pilote de drone, installe son équipement, tandis que Timothée Perrero, capitaine ce jour-là, positionne le bateau. Sophie Bédard grimpe sur le toit et commence à enregistrer vocalement des données: composition du groupe, vitesse de nage (très active), distance, etc. Tout est en place, et Timothée s’arme d’un casque et de gants de cuir pour manipuler le drone. Une mauvaise manœuvre pourrait le blesser gravement : toutes les précautions sont nécessaires!

Une fois le drone dans les airs, Timothée court à la roue pour positionner à nouveau le navire. Sophie photographie les flancs des bélugas qui se font photographier en même temps du haut des airs par le drone. Les bélugas progressent rapidement, et il faut être plus qu’efficace pour les suivre. Au bout d’une trentaine de minutes, le groupe nous a semés. Albert ramène le drone à bord, Timothée revêt à nouveau ses protections pour attraper l’engin volant et nous consignons les données de vol.

Où aller, maintenant? Au même moment où nous nous posons cette question, un bateau de recherche de Parcs Canada nous informe qu’un large troupeau se trouve à mi-chenal entre Les Escoumins et Les Bergeronnes. Nous passons sans nous arrêter avec regret devant des groupes de rorquals communs et des rorquals à bosse pour aller trouver les bélugas. Mais lorsque nous arrivons à leur hauteur, c’est le comble. Environ 150 bélugas nagent par petits groupes un derrière l’autre. «Je n’ai jamais vu ça, des bélugas en file comme ça dans des aussi gros groupes serrés et avec ce dynamisme-là!», s’étonne Timothée. Les bélugas nagent tous dans la même direction avec vigueur, la même que celle du troupeau précédent.

On lance le drone à nouveau. Un petit rorqual souffle parmi les bélugas, quelques phoques gris sont observés ici et là. Les bélugas poursuivent leur route et nous les suivons, presque jusqu’à Tadoussac. Pendant près de deux heures, nous photographions les bélugas pour consigner leur taille corporelle et les identifier. Finalement, le vent nous oblige à ramener le drone à bord. On coupe les moteurs, le temps de casser la croute. La pause ne dure pas très longtemps, nous tentons notre chance dans le Saguenay, où les vents devraient être plus cléments. Peu après la ligne de passage des traversiers, nous croisons des bélugas adultes accompagnés de jeunes gris et de nouveau-nés. Le troupeau est très dispersé et il est plutôt difficile de prévoir où ils sortiront. Nous poursuivons plus en amont, et croisons encore une fois un groupe de bélugas pressés d’aller quelque part. Est-ce le même troupeau croisé en début de matinée? À la vitesse où ils vont, difficile à dire. L’analyse des photos nous permettra peut-être de la savoir.

Carnet de terrain - 3/10/2018

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller s’occupe des communications du GREMM depuis 2017 et est porte-parole du Réseau québécois d'urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM). Comme rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct, elle dévore les recherches et s’abreuve aux récits des scientifiques, des observateurs et observatrices. Issue du milieu de la littérature et du journalisme, Marie-Ève cherche à mettre en mots et en images la fragile réalité des cétacés.

Articles recommandés

Avec les visiteurs… au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins en période de COVID-19

Qu’elles se déroulent sur l’eau ou sur la terre, les activités de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur…

|Carnet de terrain 9/9/2020

Avec les bélugas… photographiés de la rive

Depuis 8h le matin, l’assistant de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM), Mathieu Marzelière,…

|Carnet de terrain 3/9/2020

Tout ce qu’il y a dans un nom : étudier les cris des bélugas sauvages

Par Valeria Vergara, chercheuse affiliée à Ocean Wise Ce billet a d’abord été publié sur le blogue d’Ocean Wise en…

|Carnet de terrain 24/8/2020