A pleasant visit to the St. Lawrence this week makes one want to hum the tune “Blue Christmas.” Not for the prospect of a Christmas spent alone, but for the passage of a blue whale! Temperatures are dropping, but marine mammals are not overly affected.

Family reunion in Franquelin

While weather conditions make water travel more difficult for humans, nothing seems to slow down cetaceans. There was lots of action last weekend in Franquelin. Observers report the presence of humpback whales whose frosty spouts could be seen from afar. Harbour porpoises and at least two minke whales were reported offshore, not to mention the presence of a blue whale. From the coast, blue whale spouts could be observed for about thirty minutes, much to the delight of local residents. “What a surprise it was to see huge, column-shaped spouts contrasting with the horizon, which suggest the presence of a blue whale!” testifies one observer. The next day, two humpbacks are seen again, including one moving toward Baie-Comeau.

A few days later, off the coast of Sept-Îles, a blue whale was also observed near Île du Corossol. In the same region, a harbour seal took the time to rest on the ice that partially covers the St. Lawrence this winter. A grey seal was also seen swimming and feeding offshore.

The largest animal on the planet, the blue whale measures between 21 and 28 metres long and weighs between 50 and 110 tonnes. In the gulf and estuary, it is seen regularly in summer and rather sporadically during the winter. It is important to know that the blue whale has been listed as an endangered species in Canada since 2002.

Strong presence of a northern species

This week again, minke whales continue to feed at the mouth of the St. Lawrence and Saguenay rivers, just in front of Tadoussac’s Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre. These deep waters teem with zooplankton and fish, making them the perfect place to forage. Wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux also notes the presence of belugas and a harbour seal at the same location.

At Cap de Bon-Désir, Renaud had the chance to photograph a large group of white-sided dolphins numbering in the hundreds. According to his Facebook page, the animals were racing west, executing a few full leaps out of the water en route.

The onset of winter marks the arrival of a species that is emblematic of the North and the extreme cold: harp seals. On December 13, about forty members of this species were observed off Pointe-aux-Outardes. Harp seals reside in the estuary and the gulf during the winter and leave in the spring, unlike most other marine mammals that visit the St. Lawrence in the summer months. The harp seal, whose Latin name translates as “ice lover,” uses the pack ice for moulting, whelping and breeding. In fact, its strong attachment to the sea ice makes it vulnerable to climate change and melting ice. It stands out from other species of pinnipeds in that it is the only one known to swim on its back!

Share your observations!

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 15/12/2022

Marianne Houle

Marianne Houle is an editorial intern at GREMM for fall of 2022. Studying in environmental sciences, she cultivates a great passion for animals and the aquatic environment since her youth. For her, scientific popularization and journalism are tools to democratize science.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Une agréable visite dans le Saint-Laurent cette semaine donne l’envie de fredonner la chanson Blue Christmas. Non pas pour la nostalgie d’un Noël seul, mais bien pour le passage d’un rorqual bleu ! Le temps se rafraîchit, mais les mammifères marins n’ont pas froid aux yeux.

Réunion de famille à Franquelin

Alors que les conditions météorologiques rendent les déplacements sur l’eau plus difficiles pour les humains, rien ne ralentit les cétacés. Beaucoup d’action s’observe la fin de semaine dernière à Franquelin. Des observateurs rapportent la présence de rorquals à bosse dont les souffles givrés sont aperçus de loin. Des marsouins communs et au moins deux petits rorquals se déplacent au large, sans oublier la présence d’un rorqual bleu. De la rive, les souffles de ce dernier ont pu être observés pendant une trentaine de minutes, au grand plaisir des résidents et résidentes. «Quelle surprise que d’apercevoir d’immenses colonnes de souffle contrastant l’horizon, laissant croire à la présence d’un rorqual bleu!» témoigne une observatrice. Le lendemain, deux rorquals à bosse sont aperçus encore, dont un se déplaçant vers Baie-Comeau.

Un rorqual bleu a aussi été observé près de l’Île du Corossol, au large de Sept-Îles, quelques jours plus tard.  Dans cette région, un phoque commun a pris le temps de se reposer sur les glaces qui couvrent partiellement le Saint-Laurent durant la saison hivernale. Au large, un phoque gris nage et s’alimente.

Le rorqual bleu est le plus grand animal qui existe sur Terre, mesurant habituellement entre 21 et 28 mètres et pesant entre 50 et 110 tonnes. Sa présence est régulière en été dans le golfe et dans l’estuaire, mais plutôt sporadique au cours de l’hiver. Il est important de savoir que le rorqual bleu est classé comme espèce en voie de disparition au Canada depuis 2002.

Forte présence d’une espèce nordique

Cette semaine encore, des petits rorquals continuent de s’alimenter à l’embouchure du Saint-Laurent et de la rivière Saguenay, tout juste devant le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins à Tadoussac. Cette zone d’une profondeur importante regorge de zooplancton et de poissons, constituant ainsi l’endroit parfait pour s’alimenter. Le photographe animalier Renaud Pintiaux note aussi la présence de bélugas et d’un phoque commun au même endroit.

À Cap de Bon-Désir, Renaud Pintiaux a eu la chance de photographier un grand groupe de dauphins à flancs blancs composé de plusieurs centaines d’individus. Ceux-ci se déplaçaient vers l’ouest à grande vitesse, exécutant au passage quelques sauts complets hors de l’eau, partage-t-il sur sa page Facebook.

L’arrivée de la saison hivernale fait place à une espèce emblématique du Nord et des grands froids. Le 13 décembre, une quarantaine de phoques du Groenland sont observés au large de Pointe-aux-Outardes. Cette espèce réside dans l’estuaire et dans le golfe durant l’hiver et quitte au printemps, à l’opposé de la majorité des autres mammifères marins qui visitent le Saint-Laurent en été. Le phoque de Groenland, dont le nom latin signifie «qui aime la glace», utilise la banquise de glace pour la mue, la mise bas et la reproduction. Ainsi, son lien étroit avec la banquise le rend vulnérable face aux changements climatiques et à la fonte des glaces. Il se démarque des autres espèces de phoques puisqu’il est le seul à nager sur le dos!

Partagez vos observations!

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 15/12/2022

Marianne Houle

Marianne Houle est stagiaire à la rédaction au GREMM pour l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement, elle cultive depuis son jeune âge une grande passion pour les animaux et le milieu aquatique. La vulgarisation et le journalisme scientifique sont pour elle des outils permettant de démocratiser la science.

Articles recommandés

Le calme avant les grands froids

À l’horizon, sur les glaces et dans les flots, les semaines s’enchainent et ne se ressemblent pas. Peu de mammifères…

|Observations de la semaine 2/2/2023

Des grands rorquals en hiver

C’est un matin blanc de janvier et le vent glacial souffle au large sur le fleuve lorsqu’une riveraine assise bien au chaud…

|Observations de la semaine 26/1/2023

Bye, bye les baleines, bonjour les phoques!

Après avoir fait sensation il y a deux semaines avec une présence remarquée à Percé et quelques passages du côté…

|Observations de la semaine 19/1/2023