Over the past week, harp seals, harbour seals and belugas have been sighted along the north shore of the St. Lawrence. These faithful pinnipeds and cetaceans are amongst the die-hard winter residents still present as we near the end of February.

Those who are lucky enough to spot a seal on the ice or a white whale gliding quietly across the St. Lawrence are always just as amazed. For the more unfortunate observers who return home empty-handed, it’s not for lack of perseverance! They may carefully scan the open sea for hours in search of dark spots on the ice or white backs in the water. Others, however, have to be patient when the coast is sheathed in ice and there’s not a hint of movement on the horizon. It all goes to show that cetaceans and pinnipeds are highly unpredictable!

On the north shore of the St. Lawrence

 

In Les Escoumins, a few harp seals have been present on the ice in recent days. Harp seals give birth in the middle of winter , mainly off the coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador as well as near the Magdalen Islands. A local resident passionately rattles off her observations over the last week: “At least a dozen belugas split into several smaller groups! They were heading upstream, toward Tadoussac. Not too far from shore, some of them even showed their caudal fins when diving, not to mention two harp seals and a harbour seal! Sunday at Cap de Bon-Désir, there were harp seals, harbour seals and four or five belugas!”

In Tadoussac, a group of four belugas was seen swimming gracefully off the dunes. On Tuesday, February 28, a small harbour seal was moving quietly amongst the ice floes opposite the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre (CIMM), which is closed for the winter. Sculptor Yves Chabot, who was visiting the CIMM to mend the life-size beluga sculptures in the Jardin de la Grève, had the opportunity to spot a beluga tail from aboard the ferry! That afternoon, seabirds were also present in the area. “We witnessed a little squabble between a red-breasted merganser and a gull,” tells a naturalist who was working in her office. The gull was trying to steal the merganser’s catch; it was pretty intense!”

Dreaming of whales

With March right around the corner and mild weather inevitably approaching, we can afford to fantasize a little about the whale-watching season. Having left for warmer waters for the winter, these large marine mammals will soon embark on their migration, since for some species such as the minke whale, they can return to the St. Lawrence as early as late March! After that, blue whales, fin whales, humpbacks and harbour porpoises will arrive in succession. On the other hand, as whale migration is still poorly understood, it is difficult to predict exactly when they will make their first appearances. Nevertheless, we can still dream a little, can’t we?

 

Share your observations!

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 2/3/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

Des phoques du Groenland, des phoques communs et des bélugas ont été aperçus dans la dernière semaine depuis la rive nord du Saint-Laurent. Ces fidèles représentants des pinnipèdes et des cétacés font partie des irréductibles résidents hivernaux toujours présents en cette fin février.

Les chanceuses et les chanceux qui ont l’occasion de voir un phoque sur les glaces ou une baleine blanche nageant tranquillement dans le Saint-Laurent sont toujours aussi émerveillés. Pour celles et ceux qui reviennent malheureusement bredouilles de leurs sessions d’observation, ce n’est pas par manque de persévérance! Ils peuvent scruter attentivement le large pendant de longs moments à la recherche de taches sombre sur les glaces ou de dos blancs dans l’eau. D’autres doivent toutefois prendre leur mal en patience lorsque les glaces recouvrent la côte et que l’horizon demeure immobile. Comme quoi les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont bien imprévisibles!

Sur la rive nord du Saint-Laurent

Aux Escoumins, quelques phoques du Groenland étaient présents sur les glaces dans les derniers jours. Les phoques du Groenland mettent bas en plein hiver, principalement au large de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, et à proximité des Îles de la Madeleine.  Une riveraine raconte avec passion ses observations de la dernière semaine: « Au moins une dizaine de bélugas répartis dans plusieurs groupes! Ils s’en allaient dans la direction amont, donc vers Tadoussac. Pas trop loin, il y en a même qui montraient la caudale en plongeant, avec deux phoques du Groenland et un commun! Dimanche au cap de Bon-Désir, phoques du Groenland, phoques communs et 4-5 bélugas!»

À Tadoussac, un groupe de 4 bélugas nageait tranquillement devant les dunes. Mardi le 28 février, un petit phoque commun nageait tranquillement à travers les glaces, devant le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins (CIMM), fermé pour l’hiver. Le sculpteur Yves Chabot, qui était de passage au CIMM pour effectuer une réparation sur les sculptures de bélugas grandeur nature du Jardin de la grève, a eu l’occasion de repérer une caudale de béluga depuis le traversier! Dans l’après-midi, c’étaient les oiseaux marins qui brassaient de l’air dans le secteur. « On a assisté à une petite bagarre entre un harle huppé et un goéland, raconte une naturaliste qui travaillait dans les bureaux. Le goéland essayait de lui voler sa nourriture, c’était assez intense!»

Rêver de baleines

Avec mars qui pointe le bout de son nez et les temps doux qui s’approchent inévitablement, on peut se permettre de rêver un peu à la saison des baleines. Partis dans les eaux plus chaudes pour l’hiver, ces gros mammifères marins entameront bientôt leur migration, puisque pour certaines espèces, comme le petit rorqual, ils peuvent être de retour dans le Saint-Laurent dès la fin mars! Puis, les rorquals bleus, les rorquals communs, les rorquals à bosse et les marsouins communs arriveront tour à tour. En revanche, comme la migration des baleines est encore méconnue, il est difficile de prédire avec exactitude quand elles arriveront. Malgré tout, il est possible de rêver un peu, non?

 

Partagez vos observations!

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 2/3/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Retour des baleines dans l’estuaire

Deux rorquals communs, quantité de bélugas, plusieurs petits rorquals, un rorqual à bosse… le décompte des baleines observées dans le…

|Observations de la semaine 18/4/2024

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024