Between Tadoussac and Kegaska, Route 138 hugs the coast of Quebec’s Côte-Nord region for over 850 kilometres. Dotted with magnificent viewpoints for observing marine mammals, the road is even nicknamed the “Whale Trail.” This week, one of GREMM’s naturalists and project managers is setting out on the road in search of encounters, regardless of whether they’re with fellow humans or marine mammals!

Whales and landscapes

The journey begins in Tadoussac, where minke whales and belugas are regularly spotted close to shore. Offshore, a group of five humpbacks were seen in the evening of July 27. In the days that followed, a few individuals were observed offshore and sometimes a fin whale would also surprise attentive observers. On August 3, a humpback whale even approached Tadoussac Bay. Harbour porpoises, harbour seals and grey seals complete the picture between Tadoussac and Les Escoumins.

Stops in Baie-Comeau and Franquelin provide some valuable tips: “Two humpbacks have been plying the waters between Baie-Comeau and Franquelin, but have not yet been identified,” says the marine mammal enthusiast. Indeed, she strives to identify whales in order to be able to share their stories in Whale Portraits, a weekly newsletter geared toward stakeholders in the maritime industry. Identifying the humpback whales currently lingering near Franquelin could be very interesting and help shed some light on certain questions. For example, were they seen two weeks ago in the Gaspé or in the Marine Park?

A resident of Franquelin also has a few nice observations to report: “There are a lot of minke whales right now, good numbers of porpoises and plenty of harbour seals feeding on mackerel. There are also at least 200 gannets diving off the coast of Franquelin.”

Continuing down the road, a little farther north, minke whales and harbour porpoises are seen from shore in many places, sightings made all the more spectacular by the incredible panoramas of beaches and coastline. Upon her arrival in Sept-Îles, the naturalist hears about Atlantic white-sided dolphins, which made their first appearance of the year this week. If large whales seem to be long overdue in the Mingan sector, hundreds of grey seals and myriad seabirds are being enjoyed wildlife enthusiasts. A few porpoises, minke whales and the observation of a fin whale have also been reported.

Killer whales were observed again this week (July 28), but this time near La Romaine. A fisherman also reportedly observed a group of four individuals near Petite Île au Marteau in the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. After a five-day trek on the North Shore, it is time for the cetacean lover to return home, but she hopes to come back soon!

White whales

Back in Tadoussac, we get wind that belugas have traversed the waters of the Saguenay Fjord, travelling from Pointe-Noire in Baie-Sainte-Catherine past Anse de Roche in Sacré-Cœur to Baie Sainte-Marguerite, where they spend a little time.

The south shore of the St. Lawrence is not to be outdone this week, with surface feeding minke whales being regularly observed in Gaspé Bay. A few humpback whales and harbour porpoises have also been visiting this sector. Additionally, a group of 200 to 250 white-sided dolphins were observed swimming in the saline waters of Gaspé Bay. These dolphins can be recognized by the wide palette of colours they sport: black, dark blue, grey, white and even a few touches of yellow. Belugas and harbour seals have been observed in Cacouna.

In Cap-à-l’Aigle in La Malbaie, a minke whale having seemingly adopted the area has been regularly seen off the docks at high tide. A little farther west, a lone beluga is spotted near Saint-Irénée.

Ultimately, whales are present just about everywhere near the shores of the St. Lawrence, in the estuary and in the gulf, much to the delight of vacationers taking advantage of the summer sun’s rays to discover the famous “Whale Trail” and explore the magnificent coastal regions of Quebec!

Where are the Whales this week? Map of the observations of the week.

Here is the map of observations reported this week. It gives an idea of the presence of whales and does not at all represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

A tightly knit network of experienced observers who live according to the rhythm of the St. Lawrence throughout the year. On the waves or on shore, they scan the horizon with passion and patience, watching for the slightest spout. It is thanks to their sharp eyes and living words that we are able to write News from Afield week in and week out. A big thank you to all of our precious collaborators!

Click on the whale or the seal icon to find out more about the corresponding observation (species, number of individuals, info, pictures). To enlarge the map, click on the top right corner icon.

Observation of the Week - 4/8/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Autumn Winds

Mariners are well aware that in fall, storms often produce strong winds from the east or northeast. While some enthusiasts…

|Observation of the Week 30/9/2022

Humpbacks, seals and belugas

This week, all up and down the St. Lawrence, humpback whales are topping the lists of observations, along with other…

|Observation of the Week 23/9/2022

Fog-shrouded Waters

This past week was marked by the presence of fog almost all across the St. Lawrence. Mingan Islands, La Malbaie,…

|Observation of the Week 15/9/2022

Entre Tadoussac et Kegaska, la route 138 trace un parcours sur la Côte-Nord sur plus de 850 kilomètres. Parsemée de magnifiques points de vue d’observations des mammifères marins, la route est même surnommée la « Route des baleines ». Cette semaine, une naturaliste et chargée de projet du GREMM part sur la route à la recherche de rencontres, que ce soit avec des humains ou des mammifères marins!

Entre baleines et paysages

Le voyage commence à Tadoussac, où les petits rorquals et les bélugas sont régulièrement repérés à proximité de la côte. Au large, un groupe de cinq rorquals à bosse est aperçu en fin de journée le 27 juillet. Tous les jours suivants, quelques individus sont observés au large et parfois un rorqual commun surprend les observateurs attentifs. Le 3 aout, un rorqual à bosse s’approche même de la baie de Tadoussac. Des marsouins communs, des phoques communs et des phoques gris complètent le tableau qui se dessine entre Tadoussac et Les Escoumins.

Un arrêt à Baie-Comeau et à Franquelin permet d’apprendre des informations intéressantes:«deux rorquals à bosse se promènent entre Baie-Comeau et Franquelin, mais ils n’ont pas encore été identifiés, raconte la passionnée des mammifères marins». En effet, elle cherche à identifier les baleines afin de pouvoir raconter leurs histoires à travers le projet Portrait de baleines, un bulletin hebdomadaire destiné aux acteurs de l’industrie maritime. Identifier les rorquals à bosse présents à Franquelin en ce moment pourrait être bien intéressant et permettre de répondre à certaines questions. Par exemple, ont-ils été aperçus il y a deux semaines en Gaspésie, ou encore dans le parc marin?

Un résident de Franquelin a aussi des belles observations à partager : « il y a beaucoup de petits rorquals en ce moment, plein de marsouins et beaucoup de phoques communs qui mangent du maquereau. Il y a aussi au moins 200 fous de Bassan qui plongent devant Franquelin. »

En continuant sur la route, un peu plus au Nord, les petits rorquals et les marsouins communs sont aperçus de la rive à de nombreux endroits, agrémentés des incroyables panoramas qu’offrent les plages et les côtes. Arrivée à Sept-Îles, la naturaliste entend parler des premiers dauphins à flancs blancs. Qui ont fait leur apparition pour la première fois cette semaine. Si les grosses baleines semblent se faire encore attendre du côté de Mingan, les centaines de phoques gris et les multiples oiseaux marins ravissent les amateurs de faune sauvage. Quelques marsouins, des petits rorquals et l’observation d’un rorqual commun sont aussi signalés.

Des épaulards sont observés encore cette semaine, mais cette fois du côté de La Romaine le 28 juillet. Un pêcheur en aurait aussi observé un groupe de quatre individus à proximité de la Petite île au Marteau dans la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan. Après un périple de cinq jours sur la Côte-Nord, il est temps de rentrer au bercail pour la passionnée des cétacés, mais ce n’est pas sans l’espoir d’y retourner bientôt!

Des dos et des flancs blancs

De retour à Tadoussac, on apprend que les bélugas ont sillonné les eaux du fjord du Saguenay, passant de Pointe-Noire à Baie Sainte-Catherine, circulant devant l’Anse de Roche à Sacré-Cœur jusqu’à séjourner quelque temps dans la Baie-Sainte-Marguerite.

La rive sud du Saint-Laurent n’est pas en reste cette semaine, puisque des petits rorquals en alimentation de surface sont régulièrement observés dans la baie de Gaspé. Quelques rorquals à bosse et des marsouins communs viennent aussi faire leur tour dans ce secteur. Un groupe de 200 à 250 dauphins à flancs blancs nage lui aussi dans les eaux salées de la baie de Gaspé. Ces dauphins sont reconnaissables par les myriades de couleurs qu’ils arborent : noir, bleu sombre, gris, blanc et même quelques touches de jaune. Des bélugas et des phoques communs ont quant à eux été observés à Cacouna.

À Cap-à-l’Aigle, à La Malbaie, un petit rorqual nage régulièrement devant le quai à marée haute, ayant, semblerait-il, adopté l’endroit. Un peu plus à l’ouest, un béluga solitaire est aperçu au niveau de Saint-Irénée.

En définitive, les baleines sont présentes un peu partout à proximité des rives du Saint-Laurent, dans l’estuaire ou dans le golfe, au grand plaisir des vacanciers qui profitent des rayons du soleil estivaux pour partir à la découverte de la fameuse « Route des baleines » et explorer les magnifiques régions côtières du Québec!

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne? Utiliser l’outil de saisie d’observations de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 4/8/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022

Blanc neige comme un béluga

Pendant que les doux flocons de neige envahissaient l’est du Québec et qu’une couche de blanc couvrait tranquillement le sol,…

|Observations de la semaine 17/11/2022

Les prémices du départ des rorquals à bosse

Les départs d’espèces de baleines migratrices progressent tranquillement, alors que l’hiver approche. Les rorquals à bosse se font plus discrets,…

|Observations de la semaine 10/11/2022