Since November 2018, 87 belugas and 11 killer whales have been illegally held captive in a “whale prison” off Nakhodka in the Russian Far East. The publication of images of the whales confined in pens and surrounded by ice has sparked outrage from the public and animal rights groups.

In April, the Russian government signed an agreement to release the captive whales with the collaboration of the Whale Sanctuary Project, a US-based organization that is campaigning to end the cetaceans’ confinement in the aquarium. The rescue is expected to commence soon, although “this is just the beginning of an undertaking that may potentially take several years,” explains oceanographer Jean-Michel Cousteau in an interview with Radio-Canada.

Why were the whales captured?

The capture of wild marine mammals is permitted in Russia, but only for scientific or educational purposes. Russia is the only country where capturing belugas is still authorized. In Canada, capturing belugas for export has been banned since 1992. The four Russian companies responsible have purportedly obtained permits. However, the captured belugas and killer whales were intended to be sold to Chinese aquariums for entertainment purposes, which is against the law. Additionally, several beluga calves were captured, which is also illegal, even with a permit. These same companies have supposedly already exported 13 whales to China in 2013 and 2016. The marine theme park market is growing in Asia. There are at least 76 dolphinaria in China, which is twice as many as three years ago.

How are the whales faring?

A team of scientists led by oceanographer Jean-Michel Cousteau visited the enclosures of the belugas and killer whales to assess their living conditions, their health and the possibility of releasing them. They observed that the individuals did not have enough space. Most of the individuals showed skin or mouth lesions, which might be an indication of the presence of other health issues. Further, the facility does not have quarantine enclosures to prevent the spread of infections.

Temperatures are so low this time of year that caretakers must regularly break the ice that accumulates in the enclosures to allow the whales to surface to breathe. Since killer whales migrate south for the winter, they are not adapted to such temperatures. With regard to the belugas, they are probably not sufficiently active in their small pens to maintain an optimal body temperature.

What’s taking so long to release the whales?

Even if we would like to see the “prison” dismantled as quickly as possible, opening the gates of the enclosures would certainly spell the death of the whales: the water is covered in ice, food is scarce, several individuals are in poor health and the group includes a number of young belugas that have never lived on their own in the wild.

But there is good news: according to the expert team, all individuals could eventually be rehabilitated and released. The fact that the animals have been captive for just a few months and have not been trained should facilitate their reintegration into the wild.

Ideally, each individual should be returned to where it was captured so that it can return to its former group. The whales come from the Sea of Okhotsk, which is currently covered in ice, meaning the operation cannot begin until June. In the meantime, each animal will be examined to establish an individual recovery plan.

For individuals in poor health or those that are too acclimated to the presence of humans, a whale sanctuary might be considered. A sanctuary is a large enclosed space in a coastal environment in which marine mammals can live as they do in the wild, but without the dangers of predation. A team ensures the well-being of the animals, which sometimes have lost the reflex to feed on their own.

Charges of illegal extraction of biological resources have been filed against the four companies involved. In December, an investigation was also opened for animal cruelty.

News - 8/5/2019

Jeanne Picher-Labrie

Jeanne Picher-Labrie joined the Whales Online team in 2019 as a writing intern. She is studying for her Bachelor’s in biology and has always been enthralled by nature. Every day she learns a little more about the marine mammals of the St. Lawrence and aims to share her fascination through popular science.

Recommended articles

DL dents

What do St. Lawrence belugas eat?

It may seem surprising, but up until a few months ago, the diet of the St. Lawrence beluga was not…

|News, Whale Q&A 1/9/2020

Stray Whales: Lost or Just Exploring?

Every so often, a solitary whale makes headlines. It might be a beluga seen off the coast San Diego, California,…

|News 18/8/2020

Sanctuary for Retired Belugas: Another Step Toward a Natural Habitat

The first two residents of a whale sanctuary have now been swimming in Klettsvik Bay since August 8, 2020. Belugas…

|News 18/8/2020

Une opération de sauvetage complexe pour des baleines capturées en Russie

  • Plusieurs enclos pouvant contenir de nombreuses baleines sont installés au large de Nakhodka, sur la côte est de la Russie. En plein hiver, cette région est recouverte de glace. // Many pens that can contain a lot of whales are installed off Nakhodka, on the East coast of Russia. During the winter, this area is covered with ice. © National Geographic
    09 / 05 / 2019 Par Jeanne Picher-Labrie

    Depuis novembre 2018, 87 bélugas et 10 épaulards sont gardés captifs illégalement dans une «prison pour baleines», au large de Nakhodka, sur la côte est de la Russie. La publication d’images de baleines entassées dans les enclos et entourées de glaces a suscité l’indignation du public et de groupes de défense des droits des animaux.

    L’emplacement de la «prison pour baleines» est indiqué en rouge. Les baleines auraient été capturées dans la mer d’Okhotsk, au Nord-Est de Nakhodka.

    En avril, le gouvernement russe a signé un accord visant à libérer les baleines captives avec la collaboration du Whale Sanctuary Project, un organisme étatsunien militant pour la fin de la tenue en aquarium de cétacés. Le sauvetage devrait commencer sous peu, mais «ce n’est que le début d’un travail qui va peut-être prendre des années éventuellement», explique l’océanographe Jean-Michel Cousteau, en entrevue avec Radio-Canada.

    Pourquoi les baleines ont-elles été capturées ?

    La capture de mammifères marins sauvages est autorisée en Russie, mais seulement à des fins scientifiques ou éducatives. La Russie est le seul pays où la capture de bélugas est encore autorisée. Au Canada, la capture de bélugas pour l’exportation est interdite depuis 1992. Les quatre compagnies russes responsables auraient obtenu des permis. Toutefois, les bélugas et épaulards capturés devaient être vendus à des aquariums chinois, à des fins récréatives, ce qui contrevient à la loi. De plus, plusieurs veaux bélugas auraient été capturés, ce qui est aussi illégal, même en possession d’un permis. Ces mêmes compagnies auraient déjà exporté 13 baleines vers la Chine en 2013 et 2016. Le marché des parcs d’attractions marins est en croissance en Asie. Il y aurait au moins 76 delphinariums en Chine, deux fois plus qu’il y a trois ans.

    Comment les baleines se portent-elles?

    Une équipe de scientifiques dirigée par l’océanographe Jean-Michel Cousteau a visité les enclos des bélugas et épaulards afin d’évaluer leurs conditions de vie, leur santé ainsi que la possibilité de les relâcher. Ils ont observé que les individus n’ont pas assez d’espace. La plupart des individus avaient des lésions de peau ou de bouche qui pourraient indiquer la présence d’autres problèmes de santé. De plus, l’installation ne comporte pas d’enclos de quarantaine pour éviter la propagation d’infections.

    Les températures sont si basses à cette période de l’année que les gardiens doivent régulièrement casser les glaces qui s’accumulent dans les enclos pour permettre aux baleines de respirer à la surface. Puisque les épaulards migrent vers le sud pendant la saison hivernale, ils ne sont pas adaptés à de telles températures. Pour ce qui est des bélugas, ils ne sont probablement pas suffisamment actifs dans leur petit enclos pour conserver une température corporelle optimale.

    Pourquoi est-ce si long avant de libérer les baleines ?

    Même si on souhaitait voir le démantèlement de la «prison» le plus rapidement possible, ouvrir les portes des enclos mènerait les baleines vers une mort certaine : l’eau est recouverte de glace, la nourriture est peu abondante, plusieurs individus sont mal en point et le groupe comprend plusieurs jeunes bélugas, qui n’ont jamais vécu seuls dans la nature.

    Mais il y a une bonne nouvelle : selon l’équipe d’experts, tous les individus pourraient éventuellement être réhabilités et libérés. Le fait que les baleines soient captives depuis quelques mois seulement et qu’elles n’aient pas été entrainées devrait faciliter leur réinsertion dans la nature.

    Idéalement, chaque individu devrait être retourné à l’endroit où il a été capturé pour qu’il puisse s’intégrer dans son ancien groupe. Les baleines proviennent de la mer d’Okhotsk, présentement recouverte de glace, et c’est pourquoi l’opération ne pourra commencer avant juin. En attendant, chaque baleine sera examinée pour établir un plan de rétablissement individuel.

    Pour les individus en mauvaise santé et pour ceux qui sont trop acclimatés à la présence des humains, un sanctuaire de baleines pourrait être envisagé. Il s’agit d’un grand espace cloisonné en milieu côtier dans lequel les mammifères marins peuvent vivre comme dans la nature, mais sans les dangers de la prédation. Une équipe s’assure du bien-être des animaux, qui ont parfois perdu le réflexe de s’alimenter par eux-mêmes.

    Des accusations d’extraction illégale de ressources biologiques ont été portées contre les quatre compagnies impliquées. En décembre, une enquête a aussi été ouverte pour cruauté animale.

    En savoir plus

    Bélugas en aquarium : une brève histoire (Baleines en direct, 2018)

    Pour suivre les prochaines étapes du sauvetage (The Whale Sanctuary Blog)


    Jeanne Picher-Labrie a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct en 2019 en tant que stagiaire en rédaction. Étudiante au baccalauréat en biologie, elle est depuis toujours émerveillée par la nature. Elle en apprend chaque jour un peu plus sur les mammifères marins du Saint-Laurent et souhaite partager sa fascination grâce à la vulgarisation scientifique.