Saturday, September 17: The weather is beautiful and the participants of the Béluga Ultra Trail (web page in French) race have already set out to tackle the 45 km that separate the starting line in Baie-Sainte-Marguerite from the finish line in Tadoussac. More than just a competitive jog, this race aims to raise public awareness of the plight of the endangered Saint Lawrence beluga. At the end of the event, the funds raised will be used to collectively “adopt” a beluga to support GREMM in its research activities dedicated to this species at risk.

It’s 9 a.m. and I return to my post at the emergency centre in Tadoussac. I phone one of Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s research centres, the Maurice Lamontagne Institute in Mont-Joli, which is responsible for handling any phone calls that come in at night. First message: “Yes, there’s a dead beluga in Rimouski…!” The report was made at 8:15 this morning. I request the information provided by the witness and promptly get in touch with her. The latter returns to the scene of the observation to take a few photos and follow the movements of the carcass as it rocks back and forth in the surf. Once we have confirmation of the species and its accessibility, an action plan is put into place. The South Shore response team, which is already in Rimouski, is contacted to recover the whale. Our research partners are informed and the team at the Centre québécois pour la santé des animaux sauvages (CQSAS) is advised that a recovery attempt will be made. As they are the ones who will perform the necropsy, they must be ready to receive the carcass at Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FMV) in Saint-Hyacinthe.

The response team arrives on site at 10:00 a.m. and the first pieces of information are transmitted to the emergency centre. It is an adult male measuring 4.2 metres long. Distinctive markings between the animal’s melon and its blowhole are intriguing. This whale may already be “known,” meaning that if this individual has previously been photographed by the research team, it might be able to be matched with an individual that has already been attributed a name and number. This practice is useful for keeping a record of events throughout an animal’s lifetime and to carry out rigorous follow-up with the members of this fragile population. The team carries out an exhaustive documentation of the animal: biopsies, measurements, detailed photos of each marking and lesion, the dorsal ridge, pectoral fins, tail, etc. Even the location and accessibility of the carcass are photographed. It is important to know how to go about the recovery in order to keep track of different types of recovery efforts and improve our responses in the field.

Once the documentation is complete, a recovery plan is developed and carried out. The site of the stranding is difficult to access by vehicle, so we will have to attempt a recovery from the water. Shortly after the QMMERN team arrives at the marina, an employee offers the use of his excavator to lift the carcass. The response team prepares a net around the carcass as the excavator makes its way over the wet rocks to the beached beluga. Once fastened to the machinery, the animal is lifted with great care so as not to damage the carcass. All that remains now is to make the hazardous journey to the marina, where the response team’s truck is parked. This entails passing over slippery rocks with a load that, depending on the individual, can vary between 0.7 to 1.5 tonnes!

At 4 p.m., a member of the response team informs me that the carcass has been properly loaded into the truck and is ready to be transported. A member of the team will now have to make the long trek to Saint-Hyacinthe to deliver the carcass to FMV veterinarians, who will perform a comprehensive necropsy to determine the cause of the animal’s death.

As for me, I still have to sort through the documentation photos, follow up with the witnesses and advise our partners that the carcass has been recovered. Each and every individual is valuable for the conservation of the St. Lawrence beluga population. Small, isolated and fragile, the resident population of the estuary poses major challenges for conservation. When dealing with a population of fewer than 1,000 individuals, every carcass is extremely important.

Soizic Percevault

Field Notes - 2/2/2023

Collaboration Spéciale

Recommended articles

A “GREMMlin” at IMPAC5

From February 3 to 9, the Fifth International Marine Protected Areas Congress, IMPAC5, was held in Vancouver. The event was…

|Field Notes 8/3/2023

Teamwork for Whale Protection

Protecting the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park requires teamwork. Research makes it possible to better understand various issues related to the…

|Field Notes 25/10/2022

Recovery of a white-sided dolphin carcass in Rimouski

In the early afternoon of Monday, September 5, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network call centre receives a report…

|Field Notes 11/10/2022

Le samedi 17 septembre, il fait beau et les coureurs de la course du Béluga Ultra Trail ont déjà entamé les 45 km qui séparent le point de départ à Baie-Sainte-Marguerite du point d’arrivée à Tadoussac. Plus qu’un simple jogging compétitif, cette course a comme mission de sensibiliser le public à la cause du béluga du Saint Laurent, ces dos blancs en voie de disparition. À la fin de l’événement, un béluga sera « adopté » collectivement avec les fonds récoltés afin de financer les activités de recherche du GREMM auprès de cette espèce en péril.

Il est 9h, je reprends mon poste à la centrale d’urgence à Tadoussac. J’appelle l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, un des centres de recherche de Pêches et Océans Canada situé à Mont-Joli. C’est lui qui prend le relais des appels pendant la nuit. Premier message : « Oui, un béluga mort à Rimouski…! ». Le signalement a été fait à 8h15 ce matin. Je demande les informations fournies par le témoin et je m’empresse de la contacter. Celle-ci retourne sur les lieux de l’observation pour prendre des photos et suivre les déplacements de la carcasse qui vacille avec le flot des vagues sur les roches. Une fois que nous avons la confirmation de l’espèce et de son accessibilité, un plan d’action est mis en marche. L’équipe d’intervention de la Rive-Sud, qui se trouve déjà à Rimouski, est contactée pour récupérer la baleine. Nos partenaires de recherche sont informés et l’équipe du Centre québécois de la santé pour les animaux sauvages (CQSAS) est avisée qu’une tentative de récupération sera effectuée. Ce sont eux qui feront la nécropsie sur le béluga et ils doivent être prêts à recevoir la carcasse à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire (FMV) de Saint-Hyacinthe.

L’équipe d’intervention arrive sur place à 10h00 et les premiers éléments sont transmis à la centrale d’urgence. C’est un mâle adulte de 4,2 mètres. Des marques distinctives présentes entre le melon et l’évent de l’animal éveillent des curiosités. Cet individu pourrait être «connu», c’est-à-dire que si cette baleine a déjà été photographiée par l’équipe de recherche, on pourrait l’apparier à un individu qui a déjà un nom et un numéro. Cette pratique permet de garder un registre des évènements dans la vie de l’animal et d’effectuer un suivi rigoureux auprès des membres de cette population fragile. L’équipe procède à une documentation exhaustive de l’animal : prise de biopsies, prise de mesures, photos détaillées de chaque marque, chaque lésion, crête dorsale, pectorale, caudale, etc. On photographie même l’emplacement et l’accessibilité de la carcasse. Il faut savoir comment faire pour la récupérer afin de garder un historique des différents types d’interventions de récupérations pour améliorer notre réponse sur le terrain.

Une fois la documentation complétée, un plan de récupération est mis en place. Le lieu d’échouage est difficilement accessible par véhicule. Nous devrons donc tenter une récupération à partir de l’eau. Une fois l’équipe du RQUMM arrivée à la marina, un employé offre l’utilisation de sa pelle mécanique pour soulever la carcasse. L’équipe d’intervention prépare un filet autour de la carcasse alors que la pelle déambule sur les roches mouillées jusqu’au béluga échoué. Une fois attaché à la machinerie, l’animal est délicatement soulevé, de manière à préserver l’intégrité de la carcasse. Maintenant, il ne reste qu’à effectuer le voyage hasardeux jusqu’à la marina où se situe le camion de l’équipe d’intervention. Ce parcours s’effectue sur des roches glissantes avec une charge qui, selon l’individu, peut varier entre 0,7 à 1,5 tonne !

À 16h, un membre de l’équipe d’intervention me signale que la carcasse est bien installée et prête pour le transport. Un membre de l’équipe devra maintenant faire le long voyage jusqu’à Saint-Hyacinthe pour livrer la carcasse en main propre aux vétérinaires de la FMV qui effectueront une nécropsie complète pour déterminer les causes du décès.

De mon côté, il me reste à classer les photos de la documentation effectuée, faire le suivi aux témoins et confirmer à nos partenaires que la carcasse a été récupérée. Chaque individu est précieux pour la conservation de la population du béluga du Saint Laurent. En plus d’être petite, isolée et fragile, la population résidente de l’estuaire est soumise à de gros défis de conservation. Lorsqu’on parle d’une population de moins de 1000 individus, chaque carcasse compte, et pour beaucoup.

Soizic Percevault

Carnet de terrain - 2/2/2023

Collaboration Spéciale

Articles recommandés

Des baleines en chair et en os!

Vendredi matin, 22 septembre 2023 Attention, âmes sensibles s’abstenir! Je me réveille peu après le lever du soleil, l'obscurité s’étant…

|Carnet de terrain 3/11/2023

À la recherche des grands rorquals

À 5h45 du matin, je suis déjà réveillée et j’attends, fébrile, des nouvelles de l’équipe de recherche du Groupe de…

|Carnet de terrain 25/10/2023

Rorquals à bosse entre fleuve et ciel

Le 14 septembre 2023 restera une date gravée dans ma mémoire. Une journée étrange, irréelle. Je vais tenter de la…

|Carnet de terrain 11/10/2023