The fog lifts after having shrouded Gaspé Bay for several days, meaning observers can finally admire the colourful panorama… and find cetaceans more quickly! In the estuary, bluish reflections are caused not only by the river and the sky, but also by the appearance of the season’s first blue whale.

The individual was able to be identified as B236, a.k.a. Galinule. This is not this male’s first visit to the St. Lawrence: the first photos taken by the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) date back to August 31, 1990! Thirty-three years later, his arrival in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park sector is still very well received. Following this thrilling observation, naturalist and wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux writes: “On Monday, happiness was the colour blue. I was able to observe a blue whale from shore in Les Bergeronnes. The individual showed its caudal fin when it dove. The same day, we observe from aboard a boat a blue whale that did not show its tail. Whether this was the same individual or a different one, we may never know. In any case, it was a sight to behold…”

The diversity of the estuary is always surprising, as testified by last week’s sightings: a fin whale, humpbacks, minke whales, harbour porpoises, belugas, grey and harbour seals. Beyond simple checklists of species, the beauty and magic of the place seem to stem from this fragile mix between the sense of wonder triggered by the sightings and the presence of wildlife that returns every summer. A repeatedly breaching humpback whale was admired from Les Bergeronnes, porpoises were seen swimming up the Saguenay Fjord, and seals were resting quietly on their favourite rocks.

The GREMM research team has also kicked off its season of field work on belugas. Several of these white whales were seen swimming near Île Rouge, Batture aux Alouettes and in the Saguenay. Two new humpback whales also visited the area: H929 and H007 a.k.a. Éline and Siam, respectively. This is hardly the latter’s first visit, as this male has been coming to the estuary since 1981. “A real living legend!” Remarks one marine mammal enthusiast.

Interruptions

“Oh!” “Ah!” “Wow!” everyone stands up at once, their eyes sparkling with excitement. What might have captivated the attention of the naturalists at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre during their team meeting on this beautiful Tuesday afternoon? A humpback whale near the coast!

Some of the more skeptical team members believe at first that it’s a minke whale, several of which have been seen in the past few days. Finally, the whale comes up for another breath and the ID is confirmed: it’s a humpback after all! “That close to shore is unheard of,” exclaims Patrice Corbeil, GREMM’s director of education, who is able to admire the entrance to the Saguenay every day from his office. Taking that little break was definitely worth it!

Watching and listening from shore

In Pointe-aux-Anglais, a local resident spotted a humpback on the horizon. A little farther east, in Franquelin, a fin whale lets out a loud blast. Although no humpbacks have been reported yet, the area has been teeming with harbour porpoises, minke whales and grey seals. In Pointe-des-Monts, just a single minke whale has been seen since the start of the season by one resident who is beginning to worry not only about the scarcity of whales, but also about the poor catches in the area’s fisheries. To be continued as the season progresses!

In Magpie, it’s pinnipeds that are attracting attention: “Already observed here in Les Cayes de la Rivière Magpie [Translator’s note: a chain of islets near the town of Magpie], which seems to be a place where the seals like to rest. On July 16, there were about thirty harbour seals!”

 

In the gulf

Harbour porpoises have been present in large numbers in the Mingan Island region, where a dozen or so minke whales were also tallied, while a fin whale was spotted west of Anticosti Island.

In the Gaspé Peninsula, sharks are practically stealing the spotlight from marine mammals, with a basking shark spotted quite close to the coast. A great white shark has also made an appearance, passing from Cap-des-Rosiers to Gaspé and then onward to the Magdalen Islands before doing a U-turn and heading back toward Percé. Nicknamed “Jekyll,” this individual is being tracked using a satellite tag. Despite its reputation, swimmers and bathers don’t have too much to worry about! That’s because this species’ favourite prey is seals. That said, they would be well advised not to go seeking their thrills amongst a group of seals…

“After two weeks in the fog, we can finally see the horizon again! exclaims a captain of a tour boat in Gaspé Bay. “I don’t even know how we managed to find whales before,” he adds. However, these conditions didn’t prevent them from observing between one and eight humpbacks and between one and three fin whales per day. Minke whales, on the other hand, have been gorging themselves near the coast. Harbour porpoises have been present in record numbers, while seals can always be seen. If such a wide diversity could be seen through the fog patches, what will we be able to observe now that the horizon is clear?

Where are the whales this week? Observations map

These infomations were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence river. Simply use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 20/7/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

Le brouillard se lève après avoir stagné pendant plusieurs jours  dans la baie de Gaspé, permettant enfin d’admirer les couleurs du panorama, et de trouver plus rapidement les cétacés! Dans l’estuaire, des reflets bleutés sont occasionnés par le fleuve, le ciel, mais aussi par l’apparition du premier rorqual bleu de la saison.

L’individu a pu être identifié, il s’agit de B236, alias Galinule. Ce n’est pas son premier passage dans le Saint-Laurent : les premières photos du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins datent du 31 aout 1990! Trente-trois ans plus tard, son passage dans le secteur du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent est toujours aussi bien accueilli. Suite à cette palpitante observation, le naturaliste et photographe animalier Renaud Pintiaux écrit : « Le bonheur était bleu ce lundi. Hier, j’ai pu observer depuis le rivage aux Bergeronnes un rorqual bleu. L’individu montrait la caudale au moment de la plongée. Ce lundi en bateau, nous observons un rorqual bleu, ne montrant pas la caudale. Le même individu ou un autre, nous ne le saurons peut-être jamais. En tout cas, une merveille. Une immense merveille… »

La diversité de l’estuaire a toujours de quoi surprendre, dans la dernière semaine, les observations ne manquent pas : un rorqual commun, des rorquals à bosse, des petits rorquals, des marsouins communs, des bélugas, des phoques gris et des phoques communs. Au-delà d’une liste d’espèces, la beauté et la magie du lieu semblent obtenues grâce à un mélange fragile entre l’émerveillement des observations et la présence de la faune sauvage, de retour à chaque été. Les breachs répétés d’un rorqual à bosse ont pu être admirés depuis Les Bergeronnes, des marsouins ont été aperçus remontant le fjord du Saguenay, et des phoques se reposait tranquillement sur les rochers, fidèles au poste.

L’équipe de recherche du GREMM a aussi commencé ses sorties sur l’eau pour étudier les bélugas. Plusieurs ont été vus  nageant près de l’île rouge, de la Batture aux Alouettes ou encore dans le Saguenay. Deux nouveaux rorquals à bosse ont aussi visité le secteur, soit H929 alias Éline et H007 alias Siam. Ce dernier n’en est pas  à sa première visite, puisqu’il vient dans l’estuaire depuis 1981. « Une vraie légende vivante ! », commente un passionné des mammifères marins.

Des interruptions

« Oh! », « Ah! », « Wow! », tout le monde se lève en même temps, des étoiles dans les yeux. Qu’est-ce qui peut bien agiter les naturalistes du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins en ce beau mardi après-midi lors d’une rencontre d’équipe? Un rorqual à bosse à proximité de la côte!

Sceptiques, certains croient d’abord qu’il s’agit d’un petit rorqual. Plusieurs ont été observés dans les derniers jours. Finalement, la baleine ressort pour une autre respiration et on confirme, c’est bel et bien un rorqual à bosse! « Aussi proche que ça de la rive, c’est du jamais vu », s’exclame Patrice Corbeil, directeur à l’éducation du GREMM, qui peut admirer l’entrée du Saguenay tous les jours depuis son bureau. Définitivement, la pause en valait la peine!

Entendre et voir depuis la rive

À Pointe-aux-Anglais, un résident du coin a aperçu un rorqual à bosse à l’horizon. Un peu plus à l’est, à Franquelin, le souffle d’un rorqual commun se fait entendre. Si aucun rorqual à bosse n’est rapporté pour l’instant, l’endroit fourmille tout de même de marsouins communs, de petits rorquals et de phoques gris. À Pointe-des-Monts, un seul petit rorqual a été vu depuis le début de la saison par un riverain qui commence à s’inquiéter de l’absence de baleines, mais aussi des résultats des pêches dans le secteur. À suivre pour le reste de la saison!

À Magpie, ce sont les pinnipèdes qui attirent l’attention : « Déjà observés à cet endroit, aux Cayes de Magpie qui semble un endroit où les phoques aiment se reposer. Le 16 juillet dernier, il y avait une trentaine de phoques communs! »

Dans le golfe

Les marsouins communs sont présents en grand nombre dans le secteur des îles Mingan, une dizaine de petits rorquals a aussi été recensée, tandis qu’un rorqual commun a été repéré à l’ouest de l’île d’Anticosti.

En Gaspésie, les requins volent pratiquement la vedette aux mammifères marins, puisqu’un requin-pèlerin a été repéré nageant tout près de la côte. Un requin blanc a aussi fait une apparition, passant de Cap-des-Rosiers, à Gaspé, à l’archipel madelinot, avant de rebrousser chemin vers Percé. L’individu est suivi grâce à une puce satellitaire et est nommé Jekyll. Malgré sa réputation, pas trop d’inquiétudes à avoir pour les baigneurs! Cette espèce apprécie plutôt les phoques. N’allez toutefois pas vous amuser à nager parmi un groupe de phoques…

« Après deux semaines dans la brume, on voit enfin l’horizon pour la première fois! », s’exclame un capitaine de bateau d’excursion dans la baie de Gaspé. « Je ne sais même pas comment on faisait pour trouver les baleines avant », ajoute-t-il. Ce n’est pourtant pas ce qui les a empêchés d’observer entre un et huit rorquals à bosse par jour et entre un et trois rorquals communs. Les petits rorquals, quant à eux, s’en donnent à cœur joie à proximité des côtes en s’alimentant à profusion. Les marsouins communs battent des records de présence, et les phoques sont toujours au rendez-vous. Si une diversité si vaste a pu être aperçue à travers les nappes de brouillard, que pourrons-nous voir maintenant que l’horizon est dégagé?

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 20/7/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les pieds sur terre, les yeux vers le large

Le blanc des bélugas réfléchit les rayons du soleil dans l’estuaire, les petits rorquals abondent, le rorqual à bosse Irisept…

|Observations de la semaine 13/6/2024

En prendre plein les fanons

Qu’elles mangent du krill, du poisson ou des invertébrés, les baleines viennent s’alimenter dans l’immense buffet que constitue le Saint-Laurent.…

|Observations de la semaine 7/6/2024

Le retour d’une vedette : Tic Tac Toe est dans l’estuaire

Le rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe a été observé dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent pour la première fois…

|Observations de la semaine 30/5/2024