In Shark Bay, Western Australia, a subset of the bottlenose dolphin population displays remarkable ingenuity. When foraging, they cover their snouts with a sea sponge in order to search the seabed. The use of such a tool is rare amongst cetaceans and this behaviour, transmitted from mother to offspring, gives them access to a unique diet.

Prey unearthed

Deep in the channels of Shark Bay, a small portion of the bottlenose dolphin population exhibits never-before-documented behaviour, which was described in an article published in 2008. These dolphins use sea sponges to stir up the sandy seabed in search of prey. To do so, the cetaceans completely cover their snouts and jaws with a cone-shaped sponge, which protects them from ray bites, scratches and dangerous organisms. This technique forces the fish to come out of their hiding place and travel a few metres before they bed down in the sand again, which allows the dolphins to make a mental note of their location. This activity is much more popular amongst females, which account for the majority of “spongers.” However, only a little over one-tenth of the females in this population have adopted this specialized technique.
One question inevitably arises when witnessing such behaviour, which is performed only by a subgroup of individuals. Does sponge use offer any advantages? If it does, the answer is not obvious, as female spongers spend more time alone or together with their young, associate less with their peers, carry out longer dives with steeper descents and make greater use of the deep channels. In short, these specialized dolphins devote a greater portion of their time foraging for food. However, despite these apparent trade-offs, sponge users enjoy reproductive success that is comparable to that of their non-sponging peers.

Mom taught me!

The existence of distinct feeding techniques within the same population suggests the influence of various factors such as genetic predispositions, different ecological conditions or even social learning. In the bottlenose dolphin, mastering sponge use is mainly a social learning process the transmission of which is vertical or matrilineal, explain the researchers of a study released in 2019. This skill is therefore passed on from mothers to their offspring. In fact, females adopt the practice in larger numbers than their male counterparts, only half of which make use of this hunting technique. To date, no case has ever been documented of sponging in which the individual did not first learn the practice from its mother.

A number of explanations concerning this behavioural difference between males and females have been put forward. Males, which maintain extensive territories, dedicate a great deal of their time to socializing, alliance forming playing a key role in their reproduction. Indeed, males will work together in order to force ovulating females to mate. This reproductive strategy is difficult to reconcile with sponging, a difficult-to-learn, time-intensive technique that can only be practised when alone.

As for females, they tend to study their mother’s behaviour more carefully, be it for foraging techniques or habitat use, in addition to striving to optimize their food intake with more elaborate hunting techniques. Scientists have also suggested that encouraging the transmission of this knowledge to female offspring could be advantageous for mothers since they, unlike males, will be able to transmit this knowledge to the next generation.

An environment to discover

Although this subset of dolphins uses a unique foraging technique and feeds primarily in deep channels, the impact of these elements on the animals’ diet has long remained a mystery. Does the sponge technique provide access to otherwise hard-to-reach prey? The answer is yes, according to a study published in 2014. Analyses of the fatty acids of bottlenose dolphins frequenting the deep channels of the western gulf of Shark Bay revealed that the diet of spongers differs from that of the rest of the population. In contrast, the diets of dolphins that do not use sponges but that feed in different habitats are similar. However, it is not possible to determine whether it is the fish species or the breakdown of these prey that differ.

Tools in the animal kingdom

To date, the bottlenose dolphin of Shark Bay is the only cetacean known to use tools, a behaviour that is closely linked to culture, cognition and social learning. With the exception of humans, these individuals spend more time using tools than any other animal. Additionally, tool use for feeding on vertebrates is a behaviour that has only ever been recorded in these dolphins, chimpanzees and humans. Indeed, the use of tools is rather rare in the animal kingdom, having been documented in only about 30 species of birds, 10 species of primates and as few as 0.01% of all other mammals. The existence of this original and unusual behaviour in the Shark Bay bottlenose dolphin therefore raises a legitimate question: How did it come about in the first place?

Learn more

  • (2008) Mann, J., Sargeant, B. L., Watson-Capps, J. J., Gibson, Q. A., Heithaus, M. R., Connor, R. C., Patterson, E. Why Do Dolphins Carry Sponges? PLoS ONE 3 (12)
  • (2014) Krützen, M., Kreicker, S., MacLeod, C. D., Learmonth, J., Kopps, A. M., Walsham, P., Allen, S. J. Cultural transmission of tool use by Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphins (Tursiops sp.) provides access to a novel foraging niche. Proceedings of the Royal Society B 281
  • (2019) Wild, S., Allen, S. J., Krützen, M., King, S. L., Gerber, L., Hoppitt, W. J. E. Multi-network-based diffusion analysis reveals vertical cultural transmission of sponge tool use within dolphin matrilines. Biology Letters 15
News - 23/11/2023

Véronique Genesse

Véronique is a biologist and a writer for Whales online. She has discovered her love for cetaceans following memorable encounters with these giants of the sea. She then grew interested in conservation after becoming aware of the numerous threats they face. She believes that participation from the general public is essential for the success of conservation projects.

Recommended articles

Good News for St. Lawrence Belugas

World Whale Day is the perfect opportunity to make some big announcements for belugas! Thanks to a new census method,…

|News 19/2/2024

Working With Whales: A Dream Come True for Jade-Audrey

When she was just 11 years old, Jade-Audrey already knew she wanted to work with cetaceans. Years later, her childhood…

|News 8/2/2024

Élizabeth: Woman of Science and Belugas

Élizabeth, research assistant for the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM), has been photographing belugas since May…

|News 8/2/2024

À Shark Bay, en Australie occidentale, un sous-ensemble de la population de grands dauphins fait preuve d’une ingéniosité remarquable. En quête de nourriture, ils se couvrent le museau d’une éponge de mer afin de chercher les fonds marins. L’utilisation d’un tel outil est rare chez les cétacés et ce comportement, transmis de la mère à sa progéniture, leur donne accès à un régime alimentaire unique.

Des proies à découvert

Dans les profondeurs des chenaux de Shark Bay, une petite partie de la population de grands dauphins s’adonne à un comportement sans précédent, qui a d’ailleurs fait l’objet d’un article publié en 2008. Ces dauphins utilisent une éponge de mer pour remuer les fonds marins sablonneux, à la recherche de proies. Pour ce faire, les cétacés se couvrent complètement le museau et la mâchoire à l’aide d’une éponge de forme conique, laquelle les protège contre les piqures de raies, les éraflures et les organismes dangereux. Ce remue-ménage force les poissons dissimulés dans le sable à sortir de leur cachette et à parcourir quelques mètres pour s’enfouir de nouveau, ce qui permet aux dauphins de mémoriser leur emplacement.  Cette activité est beaucoup plus populaire chez les femelles que chez les mâles puisque la majorité des individus observés arborant des éponges sont de sexe féminin. Toutefois, ce n’est qu’un peu plus du dixième des femelles de cette population qui ont adopté cette technique spécialisée.

Une question accompagne inévitablement la présence d’un tel comportement, accompli uniquement par un sous-groupe d’individus. Recourir à l’éponge confère-t-il des avantages? Si c’est le cas, ceux-ci ne sont pas évidents, car les dauphins femelles qui emploient l’éponge passent plus de temps en solitaire ou seules avec leur petit, s’associent moins à des compatriotes, effectuent des plongées plus longues dont les descentes sont plus abruptes et utilisent davantage les chenaux de grande profondeur. Bref, ces dauphins spécialisés consacrent une portion supérieure de leur temps à chercher de la nourriture. Cependant, malgré ces coûts apparents, les utilisateurs d’éponges jouissent d’un succès reproducteur comparable à celui de leurs congénères qui n’usent pas de cette technique.

C’est maman qui me l’a appris!

L’existence de comportements d’alimentation distincts au sein d’une même population suggère l’influence de facteurs variés, comme des prédispositions génétiques, différentes conditions écologiques ou encore un apprentissage social. Chez le grand dauphin, maitriser l’utilisation de l’éponge est principalement un apprentissage social dont la transmission est dite verticale ou matrilinéaire, affirment les chercheurs et chercheuses d’une étude parue en 2019. Cette compétence est donc enseignée par la mère à sa progéniture et les femelles l’adoptent en grand nombre, comparativement aux mâles dont la moitié seulement adopte cette technique de chasse. À ce jour, aucun cas n’a été documenté d’un individu se servant de l’éponge sans enseignement maternel.

Plusieurs explications concernant ce contraste entre le comportement des mâles et celui des femelles ont été mises de l’avant. Les mâles, dont le territoire est vaste, consacrent beaucoup de leur temps à socialiser, la formation d’alliances étant centrale à leur reproduction. En effet, les mâles vont coopérer afin de forcer les femelles qui ovulent à se reproduire. Cette stratégie de reproduction se concilie difficilement avec l’utilisation de l’éponge, un comportement dont l’apprentissage est ardu et demande beaucoup de temps, en plus d’être solitaire.

Quant aux femelles, elles tendent davantage à étudier les comportements de leur mère, que ce soit leur mode de recherche de nourriture ou leur utilisation de l’habitat, en plus d’être encouragées à optimiser leur apport alimentaire grâce à des techniques de chasse plus élaborées. Les scientifiques ont aussi suggéré que favoriser la transmission de ce savoir à la progéniture femelle pourrait être avantageux pour les mères puisque celles-ci pourront transmettre cette connaissance à la prochaine génération, au contraire des mâles.

Un environnement à découvrir

Bien que ce sous-ensemble de dauphins ait recours à une technique de recherche de proies sans pareil et qu’il s’alimente principalement dans les chenaux profonds, l’impact de ces éléments sur la diète est longtemps resté un mystère. La technique de l’éponge donne-t-elle accès à des proies hors d’atteinte autrement? La réponse est oui, selon une étude publiée en 2014. Des analyses des acides gras de grands dauphins fréquentant les chenaux profonds du golfe ouest de Shark Bay ont révélé que la diète des utilisateurs d’éponge se distingue de celle du reste de la population. À l’opposé, les diètes des dauphins qui ne se servent pas d’éponge, mais qui s’alimentent dans des habitats différents sont similaires. Toutefois, il n’est pas possible de déterminer si ce sont les espèces de poissons ou l’agencement des proies qui diffèrent.

Les outils dans le règne animal

À ce jour, le grand dauphin de Shark Bay est le seul cétacé connu utilisant un outil, un comportement étroitement lié à la culture, la cognition et l’apprentissage social. Ces individus consacreraient plus de temps à se servir de leur outil que toute autre espèce animale, à l’exception de l’humain. De plus, s’alimenter de vertébrés grâce à des outils est un comportement recensé chez ces dauphins, les chimpanzés et les humains seulement. En effet, le recours à des outils est plutôt rare dans le monde animal, ses adeptes ne comptant que 30 espèces d’oiseaux, 10 espèces de primates et aussi peu que 0.01% des autres mammifères. La présence de ce comportement original et inhabituel chez le grand dauphin de Shark Bay soulève donc une interrogation légitime : comment a-t-il vu le jour?

Pour en savoir plus

  • (2008) Mann, J., Sargeant, B. L., Watson-Capps, J. J., Gibson, Q. A., Heithaus, M. R., Connor, R. C., Patterson, E. Why Do Dolphins Carry Sponges? PLoS ONE 3 (12)
  • (2014) Krützen, M., Kreicker, S., MacLeod, C. D., Learmonth, J., Kopps, A. M., Walsham, P., Allen, S. J. Cultural transmission of tool use by Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphins (Tursiops sp.) provides access to a novel foraging niche. Proceedings of the Royal Society B 281
  • (2019) Wild, S., Allen, S. J., Krützen, M., King, S. L., Gerber, L., Hoppitt, W. J. E. Multi-network-based diffusion analysis reveals vertical cultural transmission of sponge tool use within dolphin matrilines. Biology Letters 15
Actualité - 23/11/2023

Véronique Genesse

Véronique est biologiste et rédactrice pour Baleines en direct. Elle a découvert son amour pour les baleines suite à d'inoubliables rencontres avec ces géants des mers et s'est intéressée à leur conservation après avoir pris connaissance des menaces auxquelles elles sont confrontées. Elle croit que l'implication du public est primordiale afin d'assurer le succès des projets de conservation.

Articles recommandés

L’encourageante histoire écologique de la baleine grise

Chacune à leur façon, toutes les espèces de notre planète doivent composer avec les conséquences de l’action humaine, traçant ainsi,…

|Actualité 22/2/2024

De bonnes nouvelles pour les bélugas du Saint-Laurent

La journée internationale de la baleine est l’occasion idéale pour mettre de l’avant de grandes annonces pour les bélugas! Grâce…

|Actualité 19/2/2024

Travailler avec les baleines : un rêve devenu réalité pour Jade-Audrey

À l’âge de 11 ans, elle voulait déjà travailler auprès des cétacés. Des années plus tard, son rêve de petite…

|Actualité 8/2/2024