Reported on Radio-Canada’s website by journalist Ariane Perron-Langlois, the story of the live newborn beluga found beached was one of the top 10 most read articles in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region in 2016!

On June 30, 2016, a female beluga – barely a few hours old – was found stranded alive in Rivière-du-Loup. The team from the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) conducted a rescue attempt by releasing the newborn back into the water amongst a group of females and juveniles.

The outcome of this intervention remains unknown. The newborn has not been reported since it was returned to the water. Will researchers see it again next summer? Skin samples were taken from the young animal, which might allow researchers to track it and understand how its story unfolds.

News - 10/1/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

L’histoire du bébé béluga trouvé échoué vivant, relatée sur le site de Radio-Canada par la journaliste Ariane Perron-Langlois, est un des 10 articles du Bas-Saint-Laurent les plus lus de 2016!

Le 30 juin 2016, une femelle béluga âgée d’à peine quelques heures a été trouvée échouée vivante à Rivière-du-Loup. L’équipe du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM) a effectué une tentative de sauvetage en remettant le nouveau-né à l’eau au sein d’un groupe de femelles et de jeunes.

L’issue de cette intervention demeure inconnue. Le nouveau-né n’a pas été signalé depuis sa remise à l’eau. Les chercheurs le reverront-ils l’été prochain? Des échantillons de peau ont été prélevés chez le jeune animal, ce qui pourrait permettre aux chercheurs de le retracer et de connaître la suite de son histoire.

Actualité - 10/1/2017

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

COVID-19: des baleines dans votre salon

Quand on habite sur la Côte-Nord ou en Gaspésie près du Saint-Laurent, on peut toujours profiter du grand air et…

|Actualité 2/4/2020

Des grands requins blancs s’attaquent à un rorqual à bosse

Des chercheurs ont assisté à un évènement rare dans la baie de Mossel, sur la pointe sud du continent africain:…

|Actualité 1/4/2020

Un baleineau à bosse de quatrième génération: celui d’Aramis!

Bonne nouvelle! Aramis, fille de la célèbre rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe, a récemment donné naissance à son tout…

|Actualité 26/3/2020