This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

Sylvie Savard and her dog Désirée L’Amour both live in Godbout. Endearing by nature, she owns a First Nations craft store and a cottage named “Thépi bec sucré”, just in front of the bay. The entrepreneur welcomes visitors from around the world to take advantage of the “tipi-and-whale” experience!

The B&B and the boutique have been open for almost ten years now. Her business and cherished tipi face Godbout Bay, close to the ferry crossing. She says she sees whales regularly, as do her customers! “My customers go nuts!” she says, proudly and enthusiastically. “The bay is very deep where the ferry docks to shuttle passengers back and forth to Matane every day. There are a lot of fish and the whales come in close to feed on them.”

“The bay is very deep where the ferry docks to shuttle passengers back and forth to Matane every day. There are a lot of fish and the whales come in close to feed on them” – Sylvie Savard

She doesn’t just see the whales, she hears them, too! “Once I was lying in bed and I heard something that sounded like someone crying. I couldn’t tell what it was. So I turned on the light to look out the window. That’s when I saw several whales next to the wharf that seemed to be playing,” she says. They kept her awake for a while.

Every so often, she is a bit startled by a loud whale blow! She compares whale spouts to the air brakes of a lorry. “But there are no trucks on the docks: It’s whales!”

According to her, the proximity of whales is what makes Godbout so special!

“Over there on the rocky outcrop, I saw a blue whale! It was so close I could admire its beautiful blue colour and texture! I’ll remember it for the rest of my life!” says Sylvie.

For her and many other local entrepreneurs, the bay is an important source of income. Featured in a European travel guide, her B&B hosts visitors who come to her home to have a chance to hear whales at night and observe them in the bay during the day! Thanks to cetaceans, many residents in Quebec are able to earn a living off this seasonal influx by showing off their little piece of paradise along the Whale Route.

 “Our cetaceans enable us to develop a dynamic tourism industry and a range of economic spin-offs for local and neighbouring communities. Just one more reason to protect our whales!” says Sylvie so well.

Observation of the Week - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Narwhal Still Present in the St. Lawrence

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform…

|Observation of the Week 5/8/2020

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Sylvie Savard et sa chienne Désirée L’Amour demeurent toutes deux à Godbout. Personnage attachant, elle est propriétaire d’une boutique d’artisanat amérindien et d’un gite du nom de Thépi bec sucré, juste devant la baie. L’entrepreneuse accueille des clients de partout dans le monde pour vivre l’expérience «Tipi et sons de baleines»!

Le gite et sa boutique existent depuis bientôt dix ans. Son commerce et le convoité tipi font face à la baie de Godbout, tout près de la traverse. Elle dit y voir des baleines régulièrement, et ses clients aussi! «Mes clients capotent», dit-elle avec enthousiasme et fierté! «La baie est très profonde où le bateau accoste pour traverser des passagers quotidiennement jusqu’à Matane. Il y a beaucoup de poissons et les baleines s’approchent pour venir manger.»

«La baie est très profonde où le bateau accoste pour traverser des passagers quotidiennement jusqu’à Matane. Il y a beaucoup de poissons et les baleines s’approchent pour venir manger.» – Sylvie Savard

Les baleines, elle ne fait pas que les voir, elle les entend! «Une fois, j’étais couchée, et j’entends quelque chose, comme des pleurs, difficile à dire. J’ai donc allumé la lumière pour regarder par la fenêtre. C’est alors que j’ai vu plusieurs baleines à côté du quai qui semblaient jouer», raconte-t-elle. Elles l’ont tenue réveillée pendant un bon moment.

Les souffles de baleines la font sursauter régulièrement tellement le bruit est fort et surprenant! Elle compare les souffles des baleines aux freins à air comprimé des camions routiers. «Mais il n’y a pas de camions sur le quai. Ce sont bien des souffles!»

La proximité des baleines, c’est selon elle ce qui fait la particularité de Godbout !

«Là-bas, sur la pointe de rochers, j’ai vu une baleine bleue! Elle était tellement proche que je pouvais admirer sa belle couleur bleue et sa texture! Je vais m’en rappeler toute ma vie!», raconte Sylvie.

La baie est pour elle et pour plusieurs autres entrepreneurs québécois une source de revenus importante. Son gite est cité dans un livre de tourisme européen et plusieurs personnes viennent séjourner chez elle pour entendre les baleines la nuit, et les observer dans la baie le jour! Grâce aux cétacés, plusieurs Québécois et Québécoises peuvent vivre de cette affluence saisonnière en faisant valoir leur petit coin de pays, le long de la Route des baleines.

«Nos cétacés nous permettent de développer une industrie touristique dynamique et toute une gamme de retombées économiquement profitables aux communautés locales et avoisinantes. Une raison de plus pour protéger nos baleines!», témoigne si bien Sylvie.

Observations de la semaine - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Dauphins d’automne

«Quoi? Des dauphins ici?», s’étonne une lectrice. Pour bien des gens, lorsqu’on parle de dauphin, l’image mentale qui apparait est…

|Observations de la semaine 17/9/2020

Troupeaux de baleines

Les souffles caverneux explosent l’un après l’autre, laissant six colonnes blanches et cylindriques s’estomper lentement. Un troupeau de rorquals communs…

|Observations de la semaine 10/9/2020

Grands voyageurs et grands dormeurs

L’été, êtes-vous du genre à toujours retourner au même camping, au même chalet, année après année ou êtes-vous plutôt nomade,…

|Observations de la semaine 3/9/2020