This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

A retired teacher from the Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe, Huguette Thibeault has taught ecology and natural sciences for more than 20 years. She is currently President of Science on Stage Canada. She is a passionate, year-round observer of marine mammals when she visits her daughters on either side of the St. Lawrence, specifically in Baie-Comeau and Rimouski. This scientist is fascinated by the River!

For her, education is an indispensable tool to better understand the environment in which we live and to better protect our natural ecosystems.

Microbiologist by trade, Huguette has spent countless hours as a researcher hunched over her microscope studying bacteria. Compared to the infinitely tiny, Huguette says that nothing compares to the immensity of marine mammals.

“The environment can be taught and studied. But there’s nothing like seeing it, living it. Nothing can compare to being out in the field and hearing the sound of a blowing whale.” – Huguette Thibeault

As a teacher, Huguette often used the little stream flowing behind the Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe as part of her course on freshwater ecology. Year after year, she had her students perform an assessment of the state of health of the stream. This one being in an agricultural environment, it receives all sorts of chemicals, pesticides and fertilizers. It flows into the Yamaska ​​River (Quebec’s most polluted tributary), which in turn empties into the St. Lawrence. She describes it as the ripple effect. Or as Huguette says more intimately: “from the Yamaska ​​to the belugas!” In addition to having made an impression on the many students who have studied the stream, she recalls the impact we have on our ecosystem and marine mammals, even if we sometimes feel far away from the St. Lawrence and its inhabitants. “Whales are somewhat limited to what is offered to them as a natural environment,” she adds.

“The environment can be taught and studied. But there’s nothing like seeing it, living it. Nothing can compare to being out in the field and hearing the sound of a blowing whale!” she says.

An avid camper, Huguette sets up her tent in Les Bergeronnes several times a year to experience nature “in real time”, as she likes to put it. She describes this setting as her very own paradise, where she takes the time to reconnect with her surroundings and view whales in close proximity, even from the shoreline! She can hear the cetaceans breathing practically right next to her!

Her “sure-fire” whale-watching strategy is to sleep near the rocks at the Paradis Marin campsite, alongside the whale corridor. “You park yourself on your favourite boulder at sunrise and then a whale shows up and blows right next to you. It reminds me that I need to breathe, too! For me, this is how I meditate and clear my mind. To offer yourself that chance to disconnect is both magical and priceless!” says Huguette.

To go there is to be a part of it. Like Huguette, you will most certainly want to repeat this experience for years to come!

Observation of the Week - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Narwhal Still Present in the St. Lawrence

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform…

|Observation of the Week 5/8/2020

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Professeure retraitée du cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe, Huguette Thibeault a enseigné l’écologie et les sciences naturelles pendant plus de 20 ans. Elle est présentement présidente de Science on stage, Canada. Elle observe les mammifères marins par passion durant toute l’année, lorsqu’elle visite ses filles à Baie-Comeau et à Rimouski, des deux côtés du Saint-Laurent. Le fleuve passionne cette scientifique!

L’éducation est pour elle un outil indispensable pour mieux comprendre l’environnement dans lequel nous vivons, pour mieux protéger notre milieu naturel.

Microbiologiste de formation, Huguette a passé d’innombrables heures devant son microscope à étudier les bactéries, en tant que chercheuse. Devant l’infiniment petit, Huguette dit que rien ne se compare à l’immensité des mammifères marins.

«L’environnement, on peut l’enseigner et l’étudier. Mais il n’y a rien comme le voir, le vivre. Être dehors, sur le terrain puis entendre le son d’un souffle de baleine, il n’y a rien de comparable.» – Huguette Thibeault

Comme professeure, Huguette a souvent utilisé comme lieu d’investigation le petit ruisseau qui s’écoule derrière le cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe, dans le cadre de son cours sur l’écologie d’eau douce. Elle faisait faire par ses étudiants, année après année, une évaluation de l’état de santé du ruisseau. Celui-ci étant en milieu agricole, toutes sortes de produits chimiques, pesticides et engrais s’y déversent. Ce ruisseau s’écoule dans la rivière Yamaska (affluent le plus pollué du Québec) puis se déverse à son tour dans le fleuve. Elle le décrit comme le phénomène du petit ruisseau jusqu’au grand fleuve. Ou comme Huguette le dit plus intimement: «de la Yamaska jusqu’aux bélugas»! En plus d’avoir marqué la conscience de plusieurs étudiants en étudiant l’écoulement du ruisseau, elle rappelle l’impact que nous avons sur notre écosystème et les mammifères marins, même si nous semblons parfois loin du fleuve et de ses habitants. «Les baleines sont en quelque sorte captives de ce qu’on leur offre comme milieu naturel», ajoute-t-elle.

«L’environnement, on peut l’enseigner et l’étudier. Mais il n’y a rien comme le voir, le vivre. Être dehors, sur le terrain puis entendre le son d’un souffle de baleine, il n’y a rien de comparable», dit-elle!

Adepte de camping sauvage, pour vivre sa nature «en temps réel» comme elle le dit, Huguette va camper aux Bergeronnes plusieurs fois par année. Elle décrit le lieu comme son paradis, où elle prend le temps de se reconnecter avec son environnement et de visiter les baleines avec beaucoup de proximité, même de la rive! Elle entend les cétacés respirer juste à côté d’elle!

Sa route des baleines, son «must», c’est de dormir au camping Paradis marin à flanc de rochers, devant le corridor des baleines. «Tu t’installes sur ta roche au lever du soleil et là, la baleine arrive, elle respire, juste à côté de toi. Ça me rappelle de respirer, moi aussi! C’est ma méditation, mon lavage de cerveau. S’offrir ça pour déconnecter, c’est magique et ça n’a pas de prix!», dit Huguette.

Y aller, c’est y adhérer. Comme Huguette, vous voudrez certainement répéter l’expérience pour les années à venir!

Observations de la semaine - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Dauphins d’automne

«Quoi? Des dauphins ici?», s’étonne une lectrice. Pour bien des gens, lorsqu’on parle de dauphin, l’image mentale qui apparait est…

|Observations de la semaine 17/9/2020

Troupeaux de baleines

Les souffles caverneux explosent l’un après l’autre, laissant six colonnes blanches et cylindriques s’estomper lentement. Un troupeau de rorquals communs…

|Observations de la semaine 10/9/2020

Grands voyageurs et grands dormeurs

L’été, êtes-vous du genre à toujours retourner au même camping, au même chalet, année après année ou êtes-vous plutôt nomade,…

|Observations de la semaine 3/9/2020