Candy C

Beluga

ligne décoration
Candy C

Adopted by Tiffany Chamandy and Matthew McMillan

  • ID number

    DL1585

  • Sex

    Female

  • Year of birth

    Before 1985

  • Known Since

    1999

Distinctive traits

Candy C can be identified by the deformity in her spinal column, which creates a sort of dip in front of her dorsal crest.

Her Story

The first time she was observed, Candy C was already white. Belugas fade from gray to white in colour between the ages of 12 and 16. This would mean she would have been born before 1985.

On July 4, 2006, the results of the DNA analysis of a tiny piece of skin taken from her back – known as a biopsy – confirmed that Candy C is a female. Previously, we had already suspected that Candy C was a female of the Saguenay community based on her associations. Within their summer range, females form large communities in which they care for newborns and young. These communities, the formation of which is partially based on matriarchal lineages, are faithful to traditional territories and exchanges between them are uncommon.

Candy C has been regularly observed in groups with very young belugas, though we have yet to see her with a calf. Our observations have not yet allowed us to determine with certainty whether or not Candy C is a productive female, in other words capable of producing offspring.

How Candy C’s story unfolds will help us better understand the social and reproductive lives of belugas. By better understanding how belugas live, we will be able to better protect them.

Observations history in the Estuary

1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020

Years in which the animal was not observed Years in which the animal was observed

Latest news

The Bleuvet is off the coast of Pointe-Noire, at the confluence of the Saguenay River. A herd of roughly forty animals is swimming idly around the mouth of the Fjord. The herd has a large proportion of young (about 40%). Some of the belugas are starting to make their way toward the Fjord. Overall, the herd is not particularly dynamic and is lingering close to Pointe-Noire. We observe the animals, most of which show few distinctive markings and are thus difficult to photo-ID. However, we do note the presence of DL1585, the only one that is easily recognizable.

Sponsor

Tiffany Chamandy and Matthew McMillan adopt the beluga Candy C (2019).

A gift  In Honour of their Marriage and for the future of the Belugas

Candy C

Béluga

ligne décoration
Candy C

Adopté par Tiffany Chamandy et Matthew McMillan

  • Numéro d’identification

    DL1585

  • Sexe

    Femelle

  • Naissance

    Avant 1985

  • Connu depuis

    1999

Ses traits distinctifs

On reconnait Candy C grâce à une déformation de la colonne vertébrale, qui crée une sorte d’affaissement avant sa crête dorsale.

Son histoire

Lors de la première observation de Candy C, elle était blanche. Le changement de couleur chez les bélugas, soit le passage du gris au blanc, survient entre l’âge de 12 à 16 ans. Elle serait donc née avant 1985.

Le 4 juillet 2006, les résultats de l’analyse génétique d’un tout petit morceau de peau prélevé sur son dos — ce qu’on appelle une biopsie — nous confirment que Candy C est une femelle. Ses fréquentations nous laissaient déjà croire qu’elle était une femelle de la communauté du Saguenay. Dans l’aire de répartition estivale, les femelles forment de grandes communautés dans lesquelles elles s’occupent des nouveau-nés et des jeunes. Ces communautés, en partie formées de lignées matriarcales, sont attachées à des territoires traditionnels et il y a peu d’échanges entre elles.

Candy C a régulièrement été observé dans des groupes avec des très jeunes bélugas, mais pour le moment, nous ne l’avons pas observée avec un veau. Nos observations ne nous ont pas encore permis d’établir avec certitude que Candy C serait une femelle productive, c’est-à-dire capable d’enfanter.

La suite de l’histoire de Candy C nous aidera à mieux comprendre la vie sociale et la vie reproductive des bélugas. C’est en comprenant comment vivent les bélugas que nous serons en mesure de mieux les protéger.

Observée régulièrement avec...

Historique des observations dans l’estuaire

1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019

Années pendant lesquelles l’animal n’a pas été observé Années pendant lesquelles l’animal a été observé

Dernières nouvelles

Le Bleuvet se trouve au large de Pointe-Noire, à la confluence de la rivière Saguenay. Un troupeau d’une quarantaine d’individus nage de façon stationnaire dans l’embouchure. Le troupeau compte une bonne proportion de jeunes (près de 40%). Certains bélugas commencent à se diriger vers le fiord. Dans l’ensemble, le troupeau est très peu dynamique et reste près de Pointe-Noire. Nous observons les animaux, la plupart sont peu marqués, donc difficiles à photo-identifier. Toutefois, nous notons la présence de Candy C, la seule à être bien reconnaissable.

Parrain et marraine

Tiffany Chamandy et Matthew McMillan adoptent Candy C (2019).

Cette adoption est un cadeau de mariage en leur honneur et pour la survie des bélugas.