The way whales slip through the water can tell us if they are in good physical shape, reveals a study published in PLOS ONE. Many baleen whales undertake annual cycles of fasting and feeding, which has a substantial impact on their physical condition. Researchers tracked 24 humpback whales in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Antarctica and measured the acceleration, depth and speed of their gliding in order to assess their nutritional status. This fitness gauging method may be broadly applicable to a variety of animals and aquatic environments.

“Body condition could mean general health, nourishment, parasite load, stress hormones and many more,” explains Christian Ramp, researcher at the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) and co-author of the study. “In this study, we focused on the nourishment, how well fed an animal is.”

The physical condition of animals influences their survival rate and reproductive success and can therefore have repercussions on the dynamics of an entire population. For migratory species, the cost of reproducing in wintering areas is offset by the energy they gain in their feeding grounds during the summer. The amount of energy stored during a feeding season strongly influences subsequent reproduction as a function of gestation rate, fetal development, offspring physical fitness and survival, and the competitiveness of males.

How does one evaluate the physical condition of a whale?

In this study, researchers tested on humpbacks a hydrodynamic analysis method generally applied to animals with excellent diving skills such as sperm whales, northern bottlenose whales and pilot whales, which regularly dive to depths of over 200 m. Body density is an indirect indicator of their fat reserves and physical fitness. It also plays a role in the animal’s buoyancy, which in turn influences swimming behaviour and gliding performance – all of which has enabled the development of hydrodynamic analysis methods.

However, the humpback whale is not an exceptional diver, generally performing relatively shallow dives. Nevertheless, the results obtained by Christian Ramp and his team demonstrate that this method can be used in humpbacks to assess and track their fitness over time. Researchers observed a gradual decrease in body density (and thus an increase in fat reserves) throughout the feeding season and a relatively high storage of lipids in pregnant females.

To complete the pedigree of each individual in the study, the research team took photos and videos of the animals they were tracking so that they could measure their waist girth to see how well the animals were eating. Fat samples were also collected and will be analyzed to examine the levels of lipids and hormones present. These three methods – gliding data, aerial photos and biopsies – will be used to assess the physical condition of animals and to cross-validate each of the approaches.

For Christian Ramp, this new method could provide more information on the health status of female humpbacks: “Between 2010 and 2016, we observed very few humpback and fin whale calves and we wonder if the females are not physically fit enough (i.e. whether they have enough fat reserves) to become pregnant or give birth.

“Being able to estimate physical fitness for single animals would dramatically increase our ability to monitor animals and populations, and, in case of ‘bad’ health, one could initiate mitigation or conservation measures. These animals feeding at the top of the food chain are ideal sentinel species for the entire ecosystem.”

News - 15/8/2018

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

400 Right Whales Left… Now What?

How many North Atlantic right whales are left in the world? If the answer today hovers around 400, for researchers,…

|News 6/7/2020

First Right Whale Carcass: Another Calf Struck by a Ship

The first North Atlantic right whale carcass in 2020 was spotted during an aerial survey on June 25, drifting off…

|News 6/7/2020
Souffle EG Baleine noire

Right Whale Protection Measures: Highs and Lows

Since the start of the year, news concerning protection measures specific to North Atlantic right whales has been like a…

|News 25/6/2020

L’hydrodynamisme des rorquals à bosse comme indicateur de santé

  • La façon dont une baleine glisse dans l’eau permet aux chercheurs de déterminer si elle est bien nourrie. © Louis M. Herman/NOAA
    15 / 08 / 2018 Par Béatrice Riché - / /

    La façon dont les baleines glissent dans l’eau peut nous indiquer si elles sont en bonne forme physique, dévoile une étude publiée dans PLoS ONE. De nombreuses baleines à fanons entreprennent des cycles annuels de jeûne et d’alimentation, entrainant des modifications substantielles de leur condition physique. Des chercheurs ont suivi 24 rorquals à bosse dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent et en Antarctique et ont mesuré l’accélération, la profondeur et la vitesse de leurs glissements afin d’évaluer leur état nutritionnel. Cette méthode d’estimation de la condition physique pourrait être largement applicable à toute une gamme d’animaux et d’environnements aquatiques.

    « La condition physique peut signifier la santé générale, l’état nutritionnel, la charge parasitaire, les hormones de stress et beaucoup plus », explique Christian Ramp, chercheur à la Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS) et un des auteurs de l’étude. « Dans cette étude, nous nous sommes concentrés sur l’état nutritionnel, c’est-à-dire à quel point un animal est bien nourri. »

    La condition physique des animaux influence leur taux de survie et leur succès reproducteur et peut donc avoir un impact sur la dynamique d’une population entière. Pour les espèces migratrices, le cout de la reproduction dans les aires d’hivernage est soutenu par l’énergie acquise dans les aires d’alimentation durant l’été. La quantité d’énergie stockée pendant une saison d’alimentation influence fortement la reproduction ultérieure, par le taux de gestation, le développement du fœtus, la condition physique et la survie de la progéniture, et les capacités compétitives des mâles.

    Comment évaluer la condition physique d’une baleine?

    Dans cette étude, les chercheurs ont testé sur le rorqual à bosse une méthode d’analyse hydrodynamique généralement appliquée aux animaux qui sont de bons plongeurs comme le cachalot, la baleine à bec commune et le globicéphale, qui effectuent régulièrement des plongées à plus de 200 m de profondeur. La densité corporelle est un indicateur indirect de leur réserve en graisse et de leur condition physique. Elle joue aussi un rôle sur la flottabilité de l’animal, qui influence à son tour le comportement de nage et les performances de glisse, ce qui a permis le développement de méthodes d’analyse hydrodynamique.

    Bien que le rorqual à bosse ne soit pas un grand plongeur, son hydrodynamisme peut être un indicateur de sa condition physique. © Jean Lemire

    Le rorqual à bosse n’est toutefois pas un tel plongeur : il effectue des plongées relativement peu profondes. Néanmoins, les résultats de Christian Ramp et de son équipe démontrent que cette méthode peut être utilisée chez les rorquals à bosse, pour évaluer et suivre leur condition physique au fil du temps. Les chercheurs ont observé une diminution progressive de la densité corporelle (et donc une augmentation de la réserve de graisse) tout au long de la saison d’alimentation et un stockage de lipides relativement élevé chez les femelles gestantes.

    Pour compléter le pédigrée de chaque individu de l’étude, l’équipe de recherche a pris des photos et des vidéos des animaux suivis afin de pouvoir mesurer leur tour de taille un autre indice pour savoir à quel point les animaux sont bien nourris. Des échantillons de graisse ont aussi été collectés et seront analysés pour examiner les lipides et les hormones présents. Ces trois méthodes — les données de glissement, les photos aériennes et les biopsies — seront utilisées pour évaluer la condition physique des animaux et pour se valider l’une l’autre.

    Pour Christian Ramp, cette nouvelle méthode pourrait permettre d’en savoir plus sur l’état de santé des femelles rorquals à bosse : « Entre 2010 et 2016, nous avons observé très peu de veaux chez les rorquals à bosse et les rorquals communs et nous nous demandons si les femelles ne sont pas en “bon état” (c’est-à-dire si elles n’ont pas suffisamment de réserves de graisse) pour être en gestation et pour mener celle-ci à terme. »

    « Être en mesure d’estimer la condition physique d’un individu augmenterait considérablement notre capacité à faire le suivi des animaux et des populations et, en cas de “mauvaise” santé, à mettre en place des mesures d’atténuation ou de conservation. Ces animaux qui se nourrissent au sommet de la chaine alimentaire sont des espèces sentinelles idéales pour l’ensemble de l’écosystème », poursuit-il.

    Sources:

    (2018) Narazaki T., S., Isojunno, D.P., Nowacek, R., Swift, A.S., Friedlaender, C. Ramp, S., Smout, K. Aoki, V.B. Deecke, K., Sato et P.J.O., Miller. Body density of humpback whales (Megaptera novaengliae) in feeding aggregations estimated from hydrodynamic gliding performance. PLoS ONE 13(7): e0200287


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.