Every day, blue whales must devour up to 4 tonnes of krill before they are full. With such an enormous appetite, it’s no wonder that food is a determining factor in their migration. But how do they choose a summer feeding area that will provide an abundance of prey? According to a study published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, blue whales trust their memory! They are believed to return to the same places and at the same times of the year because they know from experience that they will find krill in those waters.

Relationships between migration and diet have been studied, but mainly in terrestrial herbivores. These animals can use two complementary ways to find food. Firstly, they are able to interpret environmental signals that indicate peaks in plant productivity, which enables them to adapt in real time. That said, they can also rely on their past experience to determine which places typically provide a large amount of food. The objective of the study was to determine which of these two strategies is used by blue whales in the Pacific.

Migratory mechanisms in marine ecosystems are less well known because they are more complex to study, especially since studies need to be conducted on an extremely large scale and because telemetry, which allows whales to be tracked over long distances using tags placed on their backs, involves multiple challenges. In addition, the ocean is a highly dynamic environment, so knowing where and when food resources are found is not so straightforward.

The memory of an elephant…

Researchers have observed that Pacific blue whales return to the same places every year and on similar dates. Curiously, their feeding grounds are not necessarily the most productive areas. Rather, they are the most predictable ones. By favouring stability over quantity, blue whales avoid unpleasant surprises in a highly variable ecosystem. Blue whales are able to benefit from this strategy because they have a life expectancy of 80 years, which allows for long-term learning.

… but poor adaptability

This new knowledge on blue whale migration will provide a better understanding as to how climate change is likely to affect this endangered species. Marine mammals are particularly vulnerable to rapid change because they are infrequent breeders. Natural selection, which allows animals to adapt to new environmental conditions, takes place at the same rate as reproduction. Animals that produce multiple offspring every year, such as rodents, can adapt much more quickly than those that reproduce more slowly. Additionally, if blue whale mortality were to spike due to a lack of food, the birth rate would not be able to immediately compensate.

If krill were to suddenly move north due to rising water temperatures, the consistency of the blue whale’s migration pattern could be detrimental. A number of bad years may be needed to affect the overall good productivity that is burned into the blue whales’ memory. Furthermore, unlike humpbacks, which feed on krill and small fish, blue whales are specialists: they eat exclusively krill. Adaptability is therefore not the blue whale’s strong suit.

There remains much to learn about the migration of blue whales. For example, we do not know which migratory mechanisms are employed by the youngest whales, which have migrated only a few times. Do they follow their elders or do they go their own way?

Sources

  • (2019) Abrahms, B., E. L. Hazen, E. O. Aikens, M. S. Savoca, J. A. Goldbogen, S. J. Bogard, M. G. Jacox, L. M. Irvine, D. M. Palacios et B. R. Mate. Memory and resources tracking drive blue whale migrations. (États-Unis). Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
News - 6/3/2019

Jeanne Picher-Labrie

Jeanne Picher-Labrie joined the GREMM’s team in 2019 as a writer at Whales Online and a naturalist at the Interpretation centre on marine mammals. With a Bachelor's degree in biology and training in science journalism under her belt, she is back in 2021 to tell new whale stories. By immersing herself in scientific studies, she tries to learn more and more about the mysterious life of cetaceans.

Recommended articles

15 Calves Spark Hope for Right Whales

From November to April, North Atlantic right whales give birth to their calves in the warm waters off Florida and…

|News 30/3/2022

Right Whale Protection Measures Renewed for 2022

On Thursday, March 10, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the protection measures that will be put in place this year…

|News 28/3/2022

An Oral Plug to Prevent Whales from Choking on Seawater

The rorqual family includes the largest animals on the planet. In order to satisfy their gargantuan energy needs by gulping…

|News 24/2/2022

Chaque jour, les rorquals bleus doivent engouffrer jusqu’à 4 tonnes de krill pour être rassasiés. Avec un si grand appétit, pas étonnant que l’alimentation soit un facteur déterminant dans leur migration. Mais comment font-elles pour choisir une aire d’alimentation estivale qui fournira des proies en abondance? Selon une étude publiée dans Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, les baleines bleues se fieraient à leur mémoire! Elles retourneraient aux mêmes endroits, aux mêmes moments de l’année, car elles savent d’expérience qu’elles y trouveront du krill.

Les relations entre la migration et l’alimentation ont surtout été étudiées chez les herbivores terrestres. Ces animaux peuvent recourir à deux manières complémentaires pour trouver de la nourriture. D’abord, ils peuvent interpréter les signaux de l’environnement qui indiqueraient des pics de productivité végétale, ce qui leur permet de s’adapter en temps réel. Cela dit, ils peuvent aussi se fier à leurs expériences passées pour déterminer quels endroits fournissent, en moyenne, une grande quantité de nourriture. L’objectif de l’étude était de déterminer laquelle de ces deux stratégies est utilisée par les rorquals bleus du Pacifique.

Les mécanismes migratoires dans les écosystèmes marins sont moins bien connus, car ils sont plus complexes à étudier, notamment car les études doivent se faire à très grande échelle et que la télémétrie, qui permet de suivre les baleines sur une longue distance grâce à une balise posée sur son dos, comporte de nombreux défis. De plus, l’océan étant un milieu très dynamique, savoir où et à quel moment se trouvent les ressources alimentaires n’est pas évident.

Une mémoire d’éléphant…

Les chercheurs ont observé que les baleines bleues du Pacifique retournent chaque année aux mêmes endroits en des dates similaires. Curieusement, leurs zones d’alimentation ne sont pas celles qui sont les plus productives. Ce sont plutôt celles qui sont les plus prédictibles. En favorisant la stabilité plutôt que la quantité, les baleines bleues éviteraient ainsi les mauvaises surprises, dans un écosystème hautement variable. Si les baleines bleues peuvent profiter de cette stratégie, c’est notamment parce qu’elles ont une espérance de vie de 80 ans, ce qui permet un apprentissage sur le long terme.

…mais une mauvaise capacité d’adaptation

Ces nouvelles connaissances sur la migration des baleines bleues permettront de mieux comprendre comment les changements climatiques affecteront cette espèce en voie de disparition. Les mammifères marins sont particulièrement vulnérables aux changements rapides parce qu’ils se reproduisent peu fréquemment. La sélection naturelle, qui permet l’adaptation à des nouvelles conditions environnementales, agit au même rythme que la reproduction. Des animaux qui produisent plusieurs jeunes chaque année, comme les rongeurs, peuvent donc s’adapter beaucoup plus rapidement que ceux qui se reproduisent lentement. De plus, si la mortalité des rorquals bleus augmentait rapidement en raison d’un manque de nourriture, la natalité ne pourrait pas compenser immédiatement.

Si le krill venait à se déplacer rapidement vers le nord en raison du réchauffement de l’eau, la constance du patron de migration des baleines bleues pourrait leur nuire. Plusieurs mauvaises années pourraient être nécessaires pour affecter la bonne moyenne générale de productivité que les baleines bleues gardent en mémoire. De plus, contrairement aux rorquals à bosse qui mangent du krill et des petits poissons, les rorquals bleus sont des spécialistes : ils mangent exclusivement du krill. La capacité d’adaptation n’est donc pas la plus grande qualité des baleines bleues.

Il en reste encore beaucoup à apprendre sur la migration des rorquals bleus. Par exemple, on ne sait pas sur quels mécanismes migratoires se basent les plus jeunes baleines, qui n’ont migré que quelques fois. Suivent-elles des baleines plus âgées ou font-elles leur propre route?

Sources

  • (2019) Abrahms, B., E. L. Hazen, E. O. Aikens, M. S. Savoca, J. A. Goldbogen, S. J. Bogard, M. G. Jacox, L. M. Irvine, D. M. Palacios et B. R. Mate. Memory and resources tracking drive blue whale migrations. (États-Unis). Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
Actualité - 6/3/2019

Jeanne Picher-Labrie

Jeanne Picher-Labrie a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct en 2019 et est maintenant naturaliste au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins à Tadoussac. Étudiante au baccalauréat en biologie, elle est depuis toujours émerveillée par la nature. Elle en apprend chaque jour un peu plus sur les mammifères marins du Saint-Laurent et souhaite partager sa fascination grâce à la vulgarisation scientifique.

Articles recommandés

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: le regard le plus aiguisé du GREMM

Afin de souligner la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles en science, l’équipe de Baleines en direct a voulu…

|Actualité 11/2/2020

GNL Québec promet de créer un fonds pour contrer la pollution sonore sous-marine

Par voie de communiqué, GNL Québec s’est engagé à mettre en place un fonds de 5 millions de dollars pour…

|Actualité 11/2/2020

Un moment de mise bas de rorqual à bosse filmé pour la première fois

Au large de Maui, Hawaii, un capitaine de croisière d’observation des baleines observe trois rorquals à bosse. Selon lui, il…

|Actualité 6/2/2020