“First time ever,” “extraordinary,” “record…” After a while, observers describing the 2021 whale-watching season in the estuary began to run out of superlatives. Researchers and cruise-goers alike were surprised by the number of animals present in and around the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park.

Observers were particularly excited by the humpbacks and their highly dynamic and acrobatic displays. But should we be celebrating the sudden overabundance of this species in the estuary? When researchers are questioned about the reasons for the strong showing of humpbacks in 2021, the theories retained raise concerns over the long term.

Records numbers

Over the course of Summer 2021, GREMM’s research teams, together with Parks Canada, photographed and identified approximately 70 different humpback whales in the St. Lawrence Estuary. Contributions from captains and naturalists aboard whale- watching boats participating in the program added a further thirty individuals to the list. Thus, over one hundred different humpbacks visited the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park between June and October 2021!

A few historical data to put this figure into perspective: Until 1999, a single humpback whale entered the Marine Park (some readers may remember Siam, who still visits our waters today); between 1999 and 2017, they numbered fewer than 10; in 2019, 28 were tallied, and in 2020, 29. The same peak of 70 individuals was noted for fin whales in 2021, i.e. more than twice the number of the previous year, which was more typical. Conversely, blue whales were conspicuous by their near total absence, with just 2 individuals identified.

Regardless, summer 2021 was undoubtedly exceptional, and not just because of these statistics. “What’s even more remarkable than these numbers,” points out GREMM’s scientific director Robert Michaud, “is the sustained presence of individuals throughout the season with particularly long stays, as well as the arrival of new individuals in the sector.” In fact, a number of older humpbacks, despite being well known in the gulf, had never before ventured as far upriver as the estuary. Even more surprising, researchers photographed hitherto unknown adults that had never been observed anywhere in the St. Lawrence.

On a quest for food

What might explain the presence of so many humpbacks in the estuary in the summer of 2021? Researchers are rather unanimous: What makes whales move the way they do is food! “There are two possibilities…” points out Robert Michaud, “Either prey was exceptionally abundant in the estuary, or it was extraordinarily lacking elsewhere, which could have driven the whales to fall back on the ‘last restaurant’ open.”

Cristiane C. de Albuquerque Martins, an ecosystem scientist with Parks Canada in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, echoes this view: “The St. Lawrence Estuary is a dead-end alley. If whales came this far, it is probably because they were unable to find enough food elsewhere. They wouldn’t have made the journey for nothing.

”This hypothesis is substantiated by observations made by Richard Sears, founder of the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), who has been studying whales in the Gulf of St. Lawrence for 45 years: “In 2021, we encountered very few humpbacks, the animals didn’t linger too long in the area and they moved around quite a bit. The same holds true for fin whales. Clearly, the animals scoured the waters but did not find what they were looking for.”

The extended stays of humpback and fin whales in the estuary suggests that the animals found what they were looking for in the Marine Park: a well-stocked pantry! This is also what acoustic surveys carried out in the Marine Park by Parks Canada indicate. Project lead Samuel Turgeon explains, “Unfortunately, our data set this season is insufficient, but the handful of trips we made out to sea did reveal a significant concentration of schooling fish, possibly sand lance. Rarely had I ever seen schools of such scale in any of my previous monitoring work.”

Changing ecosystem

How might we explain the sudden appearance of such exceptional prey density in the estuary? The question remains unanswered. “It’s a large-scale phenomenon that involves a considerable number of oceanographic parameters,” points out Samuel Turgeon, “but it is widely known that pelagic species undergo cycles in their population trends.” It is also known that prey distribution has been affected by global climate change in recent years. In the St. Lawrence, water temperatures are rising, oxygen levels are declining, and currents are changing, reaching new records nearly annually. These profound changes have a ripple effect on prey… and their predators, including whales!

Moreover, Robert Michaud notes that “Up until the 2000s, the estuary was a rather stable system where one could predict the presence of whales from year to year without too much trouble. For the last 20 years, these patterns have been changing and in the past few years, the magnitude of annual variations has been truly spectacular.”

Adapting to survive

“The consequences of climate change will likely be catastrophic for all living beings, predicts Christian Ramp, whale researcher at University of St Andrews, but I believe that whales fall into that category of species that are capable of adapting. We humans have to contend with borders, whereas they have the ability to move around in the immense ocean and adapt their diet to the availability of prey.” The problem? The presence of whales and how they might behave will be increasingly difficult to anticipate, which is a real challenge for conservation. For Robert Michaud, “We saw it with the North Atlantic right whale… No longer can we afford to spend years improving our knowledge before we decide to implement conservation strategies. We need to be quicker and more reactive when adopting new measures and amending existing ones to protect whales more adequately.”

This text is taken from the 2021 edition of Le Souffleur, GREMM’s annual newsletter.

News - 24/5/2023

Laure Marandet

Laure Marandet has served as editor for the GREMM since early 2020. Convinced that the conservation of species is contingent on a better understanding by the general public, she has been passionate about popularizing science for over 15 years. Her strengths: a dual degree in biology and journalism, an insatiable curiosity, a child-like love for the animal world, and the patience necessary to draft texts that are both clear and precise.

Recommended articles

Parasites in Marine mammals: A Toxic Relationship

Parasite. A word that often sends shivers down our spines. However, marine mammals are highly accustomed to them. Cetaceans and…

|News 16/5/2024
L’automne dernier, le rorqual commun Ti-Croche a été pourvu d’une balise pour suivre sa migration. © Pêches et Océans Canada

The Winter Migration of the Fin Whale Ti-Croche

The migrations of large rorquals still hold many mysteries. Where do they go in winter? How long do they stay…

|News 1/5/2024

Cetacean Sex Lives: Beyond Reproduction

An article published a few weeks ago relates an unexpected interaction between two male humpback whales. Indeed, the two bulls…

|News 18/4/2024

« Jamais vu », « extraordinaire », « record » : les superlatifs se sont succédé pour décrire la saison d’observation des baleines dans l’estuaire durant l’été 2021. Chercheurs et croisiéristes ont été surpris par la quantité d’animaux présents dans et autour du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent.

Les rorquals à bosse, animés de comportements très dynamiques et acrobatiques, ont particulièrement enthousiasmé les observateurs. Mais faut-il se réjouir de cette soudaine surabondance d’individus dans l’estuaire? Lorsque l’on questionne les chercheurs sur les raisons de cette présence massive de baleines à bosse en 2021, les hypothèses retenues soulèvent des inquiétudes sur le long terme.

Chiffres records

Au cours de l’été 2021, les équipes de recherche du GREMM ont photographié et identifié environ 70 rorquals à bosse différents dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent en collaboration avec l’équipe de Parcs Canada. Les contributions des capitaines et naturalistes des croisières aux baleines qui participent au programme ont permis d’ajouter plus d’une trentaine d’individus à la liste. Plus d’une centaine de rorquals à bosse différents ont visité le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent entre juin et octobre 2021!

Pour mettre en perspective ce chiffre, voici quelques données historiques : avant 1999, un seul rorqual à bosse venait dans le parc marin (certains se souviendront de Siam, il vient toujours); entre 1999 et 2017, ils étaient moins de 10; en 2019, ils étaient 28, et en 2020, 29. Même sommet du côté des rorquals communs : 70 individus en 2021, soit plus du double de l’année précédente qui était une année normale. À l’inverse, les rorquals bleus ont brillé par leur quasi- absence, avec seulement 2 individus identifiés. Au-delà de toutes les épithètes l’été 2021 était certainement exceptionnel.

Le caractère exceptionnel de 2021 ne s’arrête pas à ces chiffres. « Ce qui est marquant, encore plus que leur nombre, souligne Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, c’est la présence soutenue des individus tout au long de la saison, avec des durées de séjour particulièrement longues, et le recrutement de nouveaux individus dans le secteur ». En effet, plusieurs baleines à bosse âgées, bien connues dans le golfe, ne s’étaient jamais aventurées jusqu’ici dans l’estuaire. Plus surprenant encore, les chercheurs ont photographié des animaux adultes totalement inconnus, c’est-à-dire jamais observés dans le Saint-Laurent.

Baleines en quête de nourriture

Qu’est-ce qui peut expliquer la présence d’une telle quantité de rorquals à bosse dans l’estuaire pendant l’été 2021? La réponse des chercheurs est assez unanime : c’est la nourriture qui fait bouger les baleines! « De deux choses l’une, précise Robert Michaud, soit la quantité de proies était exceptionnelle dans l’estuaire, soit elle était extraordinairement manquante ailleurs, ce qui aurait aussi pu pousser les baleines à se rabattre sur le ‘‘dernier restaurant’’ ouvert. »

Cristiane C. de Albuquerque Martins, scientifique des écosystèmes à Parcs Canada au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, abonde dans ce sens : « l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent est un cul-de-sac. Si les baleines sont venues jusqu’ici, c’est qu’elles n’ont probablement pas trouvé de nourriture ailleurs. Elles n’auraient pas fait le voyage pour rien. » Cette hypothèse est d’ailleurs étayée par les observations de Richard Sears, fondateur de la station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS), qui étudie les baleines dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent depuis 45 ans : « En 2021, nous avons rencontré peu de rorquals à bosse, les animaux restaient peu dans le secteur et bougeaient beaucoup. Même chose pour les rorquals communs. Clairement, les animaux scannaient les eaux et ne trouvaient pas ce qu’ils cherchaient. »

Le séjour prolongé des rorquals à bosse et des rorquals communs dans l’estuaire laisse en effet croire que les baleines ont trouvé dans le parc marin ce qu’elles cherchaient : un garde-manger bien garni! C’est aussi ce qu’indiquent les relevés acoustiques des proies réalisés par l’équipe de Parcs Canada au parc marin. Samuel Turgeon, responsable du programme, détaille : « Nous avons malheureusement un jeu de données insuffisant sur cette saison, mais les quelques sorties réalisées ont mis en évidence une concentration importante de bancs de poissons, peut-être du lançon. J’avais rarement vu des bancs d’une telle envergure dans mes précédents suivis. »

Un écosystème en pleine mutation

Comment expliquer qu’une densité de proies aussi exceptionnelle apparaisse soudainement dans l’estuaire? La question reste en suspens. «C’est un phénomène à large échelle, qui fait intervenir un grand nombre de paramètres océanographiques, souligne Samuel Turgeon, mais on sait que les espèces pélagiques subissent des cycles dans leur population». On sait aussi que la répartition des proies est affectée depuis plusieurs années par les changements climatiques globaux. Dans le Saint-Laurent, l’eau se réchauffe, le taux d’oxygénation diminue et les courants marins se modifient, atteignant des records quasi annuels. Ces changements profonds ont un effet en cascade sur les proies… et leurs prédateurs, dont les baleines!

Robert Michaud note d’ailleurs que «jusque dans les années 2000, l’estuaire était un système assez stable où on prévoyait la présence des baleines d’année en année sans trop se tromper. Depuis 20 ans, ces patrons changent, et depuis quelques années, l’amplitude des variations annuelles est vraiment spectaculaire.»

S'adapter pour survivre

«Les conséquences des changements climatiques seront probablement catastrophiques pour tous les êtres vivants, prévoit Christian Ramp, chercheur spécialiste des baleines à l’Université de St Andrews, mais je crois que les baleines à bosse font partie des espèces capables de s’adapter. Nous, on a des frontières, elles, elles ont la capacité de se déplacer dans l’immensité de l’océan et d’adapter leur alimentation selon la disponibilité des proies». Le problème? La présence et le comportement des baleines vont être de plus en plus difficiles à anticiper. Un vrai défi pour la conservation. Pour Robert Michaud, «On l’a vu avec le cas des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, on ne peut plus se permettre d’attendre plusieurs années en acquisition de connaissances pour mettre en place des stratégies de conservation. Il va falloir être plus rapides, plus réactifs pour parvenir à mettre en place et modifier les mesures pour protéger efficacement les baleines.»

Ce texte est tiré de l’édition 2021 du Souffleur, le bulletin annuel du GREMM. 

Actualité - 24/5/2023

Laure Marandet

Laure Marandet est rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis l'hiver 2020. Persuadée que la conservation des espèces passe par une meilleure connaissance du grand public, elle pratique avec passion la vulgarisation scientifique depuis plus de 15 ans. Ses armes: une double formation de biologiste et de journaliste, une insatiable curiosité, un amour d'enfant pour le monde animal, et la patience nécessaire pour ciseler des textes à la fois clairs et précis.

Articles recommandés

La réduction de vitesse en présence de baleines fait ses preuves

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé pourquoi des limites de vitesse sont imposées dans certains secteurs de navigation? Une partie de la…

|Actualité 29/2/2024

L’encourageante histoire écologique de la baleine grise

Chacune à leur façon, toutes les espèces de notre planète doivent composer avec les conséquences de l’action humaine, traçant ainsi,…

|Actualité 22/2/2024

De bonnes nouvelles pour les bélugas du Saint-Laurent

La journée internationale de la baleine est l’occasion idéale pour mettre de l’avant de grandes annonces pour les bélugas! Grâce…

|Actualité 19/2/2024