Being mammals, whales have a lot more in common with us than you might think. From breathing to nursing to the structure of their skeleton, they even look like us right down to the navel. That’s right, just like humans, whales have a belly button! Located in the middle of their abdomen, this mark testifies to the presence of an umbilical cord that once attached the calf to its mother.

Where do belly buttons come from, anyway?

In mammals, an umbilical cord connects the fetus to the mother during gestation. Humans, cats, kangaroos, cows and even whales are all part of this class of animals that share certain characteristics such as the presence of mammary glands and hair.

The umbilical cord is a gel-like tube that allows for exchanges between the fetus and the placenta. The placenta, an organ attached to the wall of the mother’s uterus, provides the growing baby with the nutrients and oxygen it needs to develop. This organ also collects waste products and carbon dioxide produced by the fetus.

After birth, as the newborn is able to breathe and carry out its biological functions on its own, the umbilical cord is no longer needed. It will therefore be severed or cut. Not until some time after birth will the remains of the cord still attached to the newborn fall off and leave a mark on the abdomen. The navel, also called the umbilicus, is therefore the scar that results from the detachment of the umbilical cord!

The mark left by the umbilical cord, which is unique to each individual, is variably conspicuous from one species to another. Humans, for example, have a highly visible belly button compared to that of cats or dogs. For whales, the navel is rather easy to spot.

Who “cuts the cord”?

In humans, is is often one of the parents that cuts the umbilical cord. Unsurprisingly, this is not the case in other mammals. The umbilical cord often breaks naturally at birth. For land mammals, it may also happen that the female severs it herself with her teeth.

In whales, calves are born tail first and it is the separation of the calf from its mother, combined with the movements of the water, that causes the umbilical cord to break. The newborn can then move freely toward the water surface to take its first breath. Following birth, the placenta will be expelled and it seems that females generally let it float to the water surface. Some observations of this curious phenomenon (article in French) have already been made in certain places around the world.

The navel is therefore not unique to human beings! In fact, reptiles and even birds also have a similar mark on the abdomen, which is the result of the bond in the egg between the fetus and the yolk sac (which provides nutrients to the fetus). A recent study (article in French) has even shown that some species of dinosaurs may also have had a scar on their abdomen. It all goes to show that humans aren’t always as unique as we think!

Whale Q&A - 14/3/2023

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette joined the GREMM team as a writer and naturalist in 2022 and has been back since winter 2023 as a project manager in science popularization. Recently graduated in biology, she has always been fascinated by the marine environment and whales and hopes to contribute to their protection through awareness and popularization.

Recommended articles

How can I find work with whales?

In a few weeks from now, scientists will be plying the waters of the St. Lawrence with the aim of…

|Whale Q&A 1/5/2024

Interpreting the Extraordinary Surface Behaviour of Humpback Whales

Humpback whales are also particularly entertaining, lifting their tails when diving, performing successive breaches, striking their pectorals or tail on…

|Whale Q&A 29/2/2024

Why do humpback whales sometimes interact with algae?

In an immense expanse of blue, a long and slender silhouette gently rises above the water surface. A string of…

|Whale Q&A 9/1/2024

Étant des mammifères, les baleines ont bien plus de points en commun avec nous qu’on ne pourrait le penser. De la respiration à l’allaitement, en passant par la structure du squelette, elles nous ressemblent même jusqu’au nombril. Et oui, les baleines ont, comme les humains, un nombril! Cette marque, située au milieu de leur abdomen, témoigne de la présence d’un cordon ombilical qui rattachait jadis le baleineau à sa mère.

La petite histoire du nombril

Chez les mammifères, un cordon ombilical relie le fœtus à la mère durant la gestation. Humains, chats, kangourous, vaches et même baleines font tous partie de cette classe d’animaux qui ont en commun la présence de glandes mammaires et de poils.

Le cordon ombilical est un tube gélatineux qui permet les échanges entre le fœtus et le placenta. Le placenta, un organe fixé à la paroi de l’utérus de la mère, procure au petit être en croissance les nutriments et l’oxygène nécessaire à son développement. Cet organe récupère aussi les déchets et le dioxyde de carbone produits par le fœtus.

Après la naissance, comme le nouveau-né est capable de respirer et d’accomplir ses fonctions biologiques par lui-même, le cordon ombilical n’est plus nécessaire. Il sera donc rompu ou coupé. Ce n’est que quelque temps après la naissance que le résidu de cordon attaché au nouveau-né se détachera et laissera une marque sur l’abdomen. Le nombril, aussi appelé ombilic, est donc la cicatrice qui résulte du détachement du cordon ombilical!

La marque laissée par le cordon ombilical, unique à chaque individu, peut être plus ou moins apparente selon l’espèce. Les humains, par exemple, ont un nombril très visible comparativement à celui des chats ou des chiens. Pour les baleines, le nombril est plutôt facile à repérer.

Qui s’occupe de couper le cordon ombilical?

Il est souvent coutume de faire couper le cordon ombilical par l’un des parents chez les humains. Sans surprise, ce n’est pas le cas chez les autres mammifères. Le cordon ombilical se rompt souvent naturellement au moment de la mise bas. Pour les mammifères terrestres, il peut aussi arriver que la femelle le coupe elle-même avec ses dents.

Chez les baleines, la naissance du baleineau se fait la queue en premier et c’est la séparation entre la mère et le veau, accentuée par les mouvements de l’eau, qui entraine la rupture du cordon ombilical. Le nouveau-né peut alors se diriger librement vers la surface de l’eau pour prendre sa première respiration. À la suite de la mise bas, le placenta sera expulsé et il semblerait que les femelles le laissent flotter et remonter à la surface de l’eau. Quelques observations de ce curieux phénomène ont déjà été faites à certains endroits dans le monde.

Le nombril n’est donc pas unique à l’être humain! Les reptiles et même les oiseaux ont eux aussi une marque similaire sur l’abdomen, résultant de la liaison, dans l’œuf, entre le fœtus et le sac vitellin (qui fournit les nutriments au fœtus). Une étude récente a même démontré que certaines espèces de dinosaures auraient pu elles aussi avoir une cicatrice au niveau de l’abdomen. Comme quoi les humains ne sont pas les nombrils du monde!

Les baleines en questions - 14/3/2023

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette s’est jointe à l’équipe du GREMM comme rédactrice et naturaliste en 2022 et elle est de retour depuis l'hiver 2023 comme chargée de projet en vulgarisation scientifique. Biologiste de formation, elle aime apprendre et communiquer aux autres ce qui lui tient à cœur. Fascinée depuis toujours par les milieux marins et les baleines, elle souhaite, par la sensibilisation et la vulgarisation, contribuer à leur protection.

Articles recommandés

Comment faire pour travailler avec les baleines?

Dans quelques semaines, les scientifiques sillonneront le Saint-Laurent dans l’optique de mieux comprendre les baleines, leur environnement et les menaces…

|Les baleines en questions 1/5/2024

Que signifient les prouesses des rorquals à bosse?

Les rorquals à bosse sont particulièrement impressionnants à admirer : montrant la nageoire caudale en plongeant, sautant hors de l’eau…

|Les baleines en questions 29/2/2024

Pourquoi les rorquals à bosse interagissent parfois avec les algues?

Dans une immensité bleue et mouvante, une silhouette longue et élancée s’élève doucement à la surface de l’eau. Une traine…

|Les baleines en questions 9/1/2024