Each in their own way, every species on our planet must cope with the impacts of human actions, paving way for a wide range of conservation stories. Some of these stories end tragically. Others, however, make us want to give ourselves a well-deserved pat on the back.

The story of the grey whale falls into the second category. A tale written over the past millennium and punctuated with multiple adventures, sadness and concern, but also fortuitous twists and turns and hope. A story that demonstrates that nature’s resilience, combined with wise human decisions, can lead to miracles.

A tale that begins in the Atlantic

Centuries ago, the fish-laden waters of the Atlantic were inhabited by grey whales. At the time, it must not have been uncommon to observe their bumpy grey backs from the rocky coasts of New England or the sandy shores of the North Sea, the Baltic Sea, or even Iceland.

Although it is uncertain what kind of relationship these whales might have had with humans in those distant times, it is clear that things must have changed drastically over the last thousand years. Because even if the Atlantic population of grey whales initially seemed to be in good health, toward the end it was no longer possible to observe them anywhere.

A disappearance attributable to whaling that likely took place in two stages. First, it was the European fleets that, starting in the 15th century, began decimating the grey whale population in the eastern Atlantic. This tragedy would then repeat itself on the west side of the Atlantic due to the combined work of the European and American whaling fleets. Thus, by the 17th or 18th century, the grey whale is believed to have been completely extirpated from our ocean.

History repeats itself in the Pacific

Even if the Atlantic population had already disappeared by the dawn of the 19th century, the species was still far from extinct, as the two other populations living respectively in the western and eastern Pacific remained in good health. But the situation changed quickly once whalers discovered these coastal populations.

In the eastern Pacific, it is written that it was the discovery of the species’ calving sites in Baja California in the middle of the 19th century that sparked the dramatic decline of this population. The collapse was probably so rapid that between 1855 and 1875, grey whale hunting is believed to have gone from annual harvests of over 400 individuals to being almost impractical. Despite this alarming decline, this population continued to be hunted in other places until the late 19th and even into the 20th century. As a result of this relentless effort, the population plummeted from several tens of thousands of individuals to fewer than 2,000.

On the other side of the Pacific, the scenario was even more dramatic. Hunting with harpoons and nets had long been practised in these waters by the Japanese, but the introduction of modern and more intensive hunting techniques by the Americans and Europeans toward the end of the 1840s upset the existing balance. As with the East Pacific population, it is believed that when the sector was abandoned by Western fleets in the early 20th century, grey whale stocks had already been largely depleted. Despite the rarity of grey whales in these parts, harvests continued for some time over the course of the century until, by the 1970s, the population was finally considered extirpated.

A story that just might end in the Atlantic

By the 20th century, the situation for grey whales was therefore critical if not nearly hopeless. Of the three original populations, two were extinct and the third one was on the verge of suffering the same fate. In short, no one would have placed any wagers on the grey whale. In this context, how is it that today it is so easy to observe these whales during a boat tour off the west coast of North America?

This resounding success can probably be attributed to the signing of a key document, the International Convention for the Regulation of Whaling, which drastically reversed the destiny of these great whales. Indeed, harvesting these animals was outlawed beginning in 1947. And, despite the fact that some countries continued to do so illegally for several more years, the positive impact of this new regulation was almost immediate for the population of the eastern Pacific. After the ban on whaling, grey whale numbers rose quite rapidly to reach the current total of around 27,000 individuals.

The East Pacific population is not the only one to have made a spectacular recovery. A few individuals from the West Pacific population were rediscovered after the latter was believed to have been wiped out. And, even if the plight of the approximately 300 individuals tallied still remains precarious, this population is experiencing a growth rate of approximately 4% per year. It is therefore very likely that, if this pattern continues, the population of grey whales in the west will follow the same trend as their cousins in the eastern Pacific.

And, against all expectations, the flurry of good news could end up reaching the Atlantic. Indeed, since the early 2010s, grey whales have been observed on a few occasions along the coasts of Europe and Africa. Initially considered exceptional, it is now increasingly plausible that these observations indicate that the species will gradually return to the Atlantic through an Arctic Ocean that is slowly shedding its ice.

It therefore seems entirely possible that the combination of well-informed human actions and the resilience of nature will allow future generations to observe grey whales once again from the Korean Peninsula to the Gulf of St. Lawrence, just like our ancestors did.

News - 22/2/2024

Sami Jai Wagner-Beaulieu

Sami Jai Wagner-Beaulieu has contributed to the research on cetaceans with the Marine Mammal Observation Network since 2020. During his childhood, he enjoyed spending time alongside these underwater beings and, later on, he completed his biology studies to help in their conservation efforts. He enjoys reading and learning about the ecology of these marine dwellers of the Laurentian waters.

Recommended articles

Unravelling the Mysteries of Hybridization in Blue Whales

Hunted, threatened, decimated. The largest of giants suffered greatly at the hands of humans throughout the 20th century and is…

|News 11/4/2024

Meredith Sherrill: An Example of Tenacity for Working with Whales!

To work with whales, Meredith’s journey took her to California, Michigan, Scotland, and ultimately to Quebec! Meredith Sherrill is a…

|News 7/3/2024

Speed Reductions in the Presence of Whales Prove Effective

Have you ever wondered why speed limits are imposed in certain shipping areas? Part of the answer can be summed…

|News 29/2/2024

Chacune à leur façon, toutes les espèces de notre planète doivent composer avec les conséquences de l’action humaine, traçant ainsi, la trame de divers récits écologiques. Certains de ces récits se terminent tragiquement. D’autres, au contraire, nous permettent de relever la tête.

L’histoire de la baleine grise est l’un de ceux-là. Une histoire écrite au fil du dernier millénaire et comportant de multiples péripéties. À la fois faite de tristesse et d’inquiétude, mais aussi, de rebondissements et d’espoir. Une histoire qui démontre que la résilience propre à la nature, jumelée à de sages décisions humaines, peut accomplir des miracles.

Une histoire qui débute dans l’Atlantique

Il y a plusieurs siècles, les eaux poissonneuses de l’Atlantique étaient peuplées de baleines grises. À cette époque, il ne devait donc pas être rare d’observer leurs dos gris et bosselés à partir des côtes rocheuses de la Nouvelle-Angleterre ou des rives sablonneuses de la mer du Nord, de la mer Baltique, voire même de l’Islande.

Bien que le type de relation qu’elles pouvaient entretenir avec les humains de ces temps lointains soit incertain, il est évident que les choses ont dû changer drastiquement au fil du dernier millénaire. Car, si au début de celui-ci, la population de baleines grises de l’Atlantique semblait être bien portante, il n’était, vers sa fin, plus possible de l’observer nulle part.

Une disparition attribuable à la chasse baleinière qui se serait déroulée en deux temps. D’abord, ce sont les flottes européennes qui auraient, dès le 15ème siècle, décimé l’ensemble des baleines grises vivant dans l’est de l’Atlantique. Cette tragédie se serait ensuite répétée du côté ouest de l’Atlantique à cause du travail en synergie des flottes européennes et américaines. Ainsi, dès le 17ème ou le 18ème siècle, la baleine grise aurait été exterminée de l’ensemble de notre bassin océanique.

Une histoire qui se répète dans le Pacifique

Si la population de l’Atlantique avait déjà disparu au début 19ème siècle, l’espèce demeurait encore bien loin de l’extinction puisque les deux autres populations vivant dans un autre bassin océanique, respectivement à l’ouest et à l’est du Pacifique, demeuraient encore bien portantes. Mais la situation évolua rapidement lorsque les flottes baleinières découvrirent ces populations côtières.

Du côté est du Pacifique, il est écrit que c’est la découverte de leurs sites de mise bas en Basse-Californie, au milieu du 19ème siècle, qui initia le déclin foudroyant de cette population. Il aurait été si rapide qu’entre 1855 et 1875 la chasse serait passée de récoltes annuelles de plus de 400 individus à presque impraticable. En dépit de ce déclin alarmant des effectifs, la chasse de cette population se poursuivit à d’autres endroits jusqu’à la fin du 19ème, voire même durant le 20ème siècle. Résultat de cet effort acharné ; la population passa de quelques dizaines de milliers d’individus à moins de 2000.

De l’autre côté du Pacifique, le scénario fut encore plus dramatique. La chasse au harpon à la main et au filet y était déjà pratiquée depuis longtemps par les Japonais, mais l’introduction, vers la fin des années 1840, de techniques de chasse moderne et plus intensive par les américains et les européens vint déséquilibrer l’équilibre existant. Comme pour la population de l’est du Pacifique, on croit qu’au moment de l’abandon du secteur par les flottes occidentales, au début du 20ème siècle, les effectifs étaient déjà épuisés. Ce qui n’empêcha pas, malgré la rareté des baleines grises dans le secteur, la chasse de se poursuivre encore un peu au cours du siècle suivant, jusqu’à ce que, dans les années 1970, la population soit finalement considérée disparue.

Une histoire qui risque de se conclure dans l’Atlantique

Au 20ème siècle la situation pour les baleines grises était donc critique, sinon désespérée. Des trois populations d’origine, deux étaient éteintes et la dernière menaçait de les rejoindre incessamment. En résumé, personne n’aurait parié sur la baleine grise. Dans ce contexte, comment expliquer qu’il soit, maintenant, si facile d’observer ces baleines lors d’un voyage sur la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord?

Ce succès colossal serait attribuable à la signature d’un document clé, la Convention Internationale pour la Règlementation de la Chasse à la Baleine, qui renversa drastiquement la destinée de ces grandes baleines. En effet, à partir de 1947, il devint interdit de chasser ces animaux. Et, malgré le fait que certains continuèrent de le faire illégalement pendant encore plusieurs années, l’effet positif de cette nouvelle règlementation fut quasi immédiat pour la population du Pacifique Est. À partir de ce moment, les effectifs augmentèrent assez rapidement pour atteindre le total actuel d’environ 27 000 individus.

La population du Pacifique Est n’est pas la seule qui connut un revirement spectaculaire de situation. Quelques individus de la population du Pacifique Ouest furent redécouverts après qu’on eut eu cru cette population disparue. Et, même si la situation des environ 300 individus recensés demeure encore précaire, cette population connait un rythme de croissance d’environ 4% par année. Il est donc fort probable que, si cette tendance se maintient, la population de baleines grises de l’ouest suivra le même cheminement que celles de l’est du Pacifique.

Contre toute attente, le flot de bonnes nouvelles pourrait finir par rejoindre l’Atlantique. En effet, depuis le début des années 2010, des baleines grises ont été observées à quelques reprises le long des côtes européennes et africaines. Initialement considérées comme exceptionnelle, il est maintenant de plus en plus plausible que ces observations indiquent que l’espèce reviendra graduellement dans l’Atlantique en passant par un océan Arctique qui se libère lentement de son couvert de glace.

Il semble donc tout à fait possible que l’union des actions humaines éclairées jumelées à la résilience de la nature vont permettre aux générations futures d’observer à nouveau, comme l’ont fait nos ancêtres, des baleines grises de la péninsule coréenne jusqu’au golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Actualité - 22/2/2024

Sami Jai Wagner-Beaulieu

Sami Jai Wagner-Beaulieu contribue à l’étude des cétacés avec Réseau d’Observation des Mammifères Marins depuis 2020. Depuis son enfance, il apprécie côtoyer ces êtres aquatiques et c’est pour leur conservation qu’il a effectué des études en biologie aux quatre coins du monde. Il s’intéresse particulièrement à l’écologie des espèces peuplant les eaux laurentiennes.

Articles recommandés

5 actions pour aider les bélugas du Saint-Laurent

En voie de disparition, le béluga du Saint-Laurent a besoin de votre contribution pour se rétablir. Depuis plusieurs années, le…

|Actualité 18/7/2024

Les cétacés: les nouvelles vedettes de la recherche sur le rythme vocal

Les cétacés pourraient être les nouvelles vedettes des recherches sur le rythme vocal. Une étude récente indique quatre raisons pour…

|Actualité 3/7/2024

Le Gala de la Terre soutient trois organismes environnementaux

C’est à la Maison Symphonique de Montréal le 12 juin dernier qu’avait lieu la troisième édition de cet événement d’envergure.…

|Actualité 27/6/2024