As predators, fin whales are considered generalists, capable of hunting and feeding on a variety of prey ranging from zooplankton to fish. However, they also sometimes specialize in certain key resources by focusing on a very small number of prey. Both types of feeding behaviours exist, but for several years there has been an increase in the proportion of generalists in the fin whales that frequent the St. Lawrence Estuary. According to a study conducted by researcher Jory Cabrol of the Maurice Lamontagne Institute and his team, this trend may be linked to climate change and dwindling resources.

“Atlantification” of northern waters

The waters in which fin whales live are currently undergoing a steady rise in temperature, in addition to a significant decline in ice cover. As a result, polar species that are less tolerant of this warming are shifting north, giving way to southern temperate species that can better withstand higher temperatures. This phenomenon is called the “Atlantification” of northern waters. These environmental changes started to have a visible impact on the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2001, but the more extreme weather episodes truly commenced in 2010 and continue to this day.

Generalist trend

The impacts of the Atlantification of the St. Lawrence are particularly acute in a key prey of specialist fin whales: arctic krill. This species requires a cold environment to thrive, and the rising temperatures of the St. Lawrence are proving detrimental to its survival and reproduction. Arctic krill are therefore thought to be less and less abundant in these waters, as opposed to northern krill, which are more tolerant of these new environmental conditions.

It is suspected that less arctic krill means more competition between fin whales for food. After collecting samples, Jory Cabrol and his colleagues analyzed the stable isotopes of carbon and nitrogen present in the skin of St. Lawrence fin whales, as well as fatty acids in their adipose tissue. They found that in response to ecosystem changes, including prey availability, fin whales’ diets are changing. On average, the St. Lawrence population is believed to have opted for a more generalist foraging behaviour than before. There would therefore be a lower proportion of individuals specializing in arctic krill, which would limit not only intraspecific but also interspecific competition for the consumption of this prey. The same phenomenon was also observed in fin whales specializing in herring and capelin. The current trend described in the study is testimony to the fin whale’s fairly good ability to adapt to a significant disruption in its food resources.

Nevertheless, it is still too early to be proclaiming victory for our giants. The trend toward a more generalist diet does not eliminate the presence of specialists, since tremendous variability remains between individuals. Moreover, Jory Cabrol notes that it is important to bear in mind that “Fin whale management and conservation efforts are much less effective if we focus only on population levels. Behaviour varies too widely from one individual to another to not take this into account.” With this study, it is also impossible to determine what the long-term effects of these dietary changes will be, both on the resources and on fin whale populations in the Estuary.

Prey stocks still poorly known

Arctic krill and copepods are the fin whale’s favourite quarry, but its menu spectrum also includes capelin, herring and sand lance. However, little information exists on the abundance of these species. The difficulty in sampling these prey is likely one of the main reasons for this lack of data. Sampling in the marine environment is a complex task due to the vagaries of the weather and the limitations of fishing gear and traps. In addition, certain species have their own challenges. For example, sand lance live on the seabed, making them difficult to reach and therefore to sample. Unfortunately, this lack of knowledge of prey stocks is hampering whale conservation efforts.

News - 1/11/2021

Elisabeth Guillet Beaulieu

Elisabeth Guillet-Beaulieu joined GREMM’s scientific editorial team in the early fall of 2021. Her boundless love for marine biology and aquatic environments from a young age ultimately led her to pursue a career in science. With a bachelor’s degree in biology, this nature and conservation enthusiast joined the Whales Online team in the hope of sharing her contagious passion for marine mammals while completing her master’s in the environment and sustainable development.

Recommended articles

Some Belugas More Affected than Others by Underwater Noise

Underwater noise is a major issue in the protection St. Lawrence belugas, which rely on sound to find their way,…

|News 11/1/2022

To Michael Moore, “We Are All Whalers”

North Atlantic right whales are one of the most vulnerable cetacean species on the planet. With less than 350 individuals…

|News 7/1/2022

Multiple Births and Low Mortality Spell Good Year for North Atlantic Right Whales

One of the most critically endangered cetacean species in the world, the North Atlantic right whale has been under close…

|News 5/1/2022

Capables de chasser et de se nourrir d’un nombre varié de proies allant du zooplancton aux poissons, les rorquals communs sont considérés comme des prédateurs généralistes. Cependant, il leur est aussi possible de se spécialiser sur certaines ressources clefs en se concentrant sur un nombre très restreint de proies. Les deux comportements d’alimentation existent, mais il y aurait, depuis plusieurs années, une hausse de la proportion de généraliste chez les rorquals communs fréquentant l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. D’après une étude menée par l’équipe du chercheur Jory Cabrol, affilié à l’Insitut Maurice-Lamontagne, cette tendance pourrait être liée aux changements climatiques et à la diminution des ressources.

« Atlantification » des eaux nordiques

Les eaux dans lesquelles vivent les rorquals communs font actuellement face à une hausse constante de température, en plus d’un déclin important du couvert de glace. En conséquence, les espèces polaires qui tolèrent mal ce réchauffement se déplacent plus au nord, laissant la place aux espèces tempérées du sud qui endurent mieux la chaleur. On appelle ce phénomène « l’atlantification » des eaux nordiques. Ces changements écologiques ont commencé à avoir un impact visible depuis 2001 sur l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent, mais les épisodes climatiques plus extrêmes ont véritablement débuté en 2010 et se poursuivent au moment d’écrire ces lignes.

Une tendance généraliste

Les impacts de l’atlantification du Saint-Laurent se font particulièrement ressentir chez une proie clé des rorquals communs à l’alimentation spécialiste : le krill arctique. Cette espèce de krill nécessite un environnement froid pour prospérer, et la hausse de température du Saint-Laurent nuit à sa survie et à sa reproduction. Le krill arctique y serait donc de moins en moins abondant, au profit du krill nordique, qui tolère mieux ces nouvelles conditions environnementales.

Qui dit moins de krill arctique, dit plus de compétition entre les rorquals communs pour s’en nourrir, pourrait-on penser. À la suite de prélèvements, Jory Cabrol et ses collègues ont analysé les isotopes stables du carbone et de l’azote présents dans la peau des rorquals communs du Saint-Laurent, ainsi que les acides gras présents dans leurs tissus adipeux. Ils ont découvert qu’en réponse aux changements dans leur écosystème, notamment la disponibilité des proies, les rorquals communs changent d’alimentation. En moyenne la population du Saint-Laurent aurait opté pour un comportement alimentaire plus généraliste qu’auparavant. Il y aurait donc une plus faible proportion d’individus spécialisés dans la prédation au krill arctique, ce qui limiterait la compétition intraspécifique, mais aussi interspécifique pour la consommation de cette proie. Le même phénomène a aussi été observé pour les rorquals communs spécialisés dans la prédation des harengs et des capelans. La tendance actuelle soulignée par l’étude témoigne d’une assez bonne capacité d’adaptation des rorquals communs face aux bouleversements dans leurs ressources alimentaires.

Néanmoins, il ne faut pas crier victoire trop vite pour nos géants. La tendance vers une alimentation plus généraliste n’élimine pas la présence de spécialistes, puisqu’une grande variabilité persiste entre les individus. D’ailleurs, note Jory Cabrol, il est important de garder en tête que « la gestion et les efforts de conservation des rorquals communs sont nettement moins efficaces si on ne s’attarde uniquement qu’au niveau populationnel. Les individus ont des comportements trop variés entre eux pour ne pas en tenir compte». Il est également impossible, avec cette étude, de déterminer quels seront les effets à long terme de ces changements alimentaires, aussi bien sur les ressources que sur les populations de rorquals communs de l’estuaire.

Des stocks de proies encore méconnus

Le krill arctique et les copépodes constituent les mets de choix des rorquals communs, mais l’éventail de leur menu inclut aussi le capelan, le hareng et le lançon. Cependant, peu d’informations existent sur l’abondance de ces espèces. La difficulté d’échantillonner ces proies est probablement l’un des facteurs principaux derrière ce manque de données. L’échantillonnage en milieu marin est une tâche complexe en raison des aléas météorologiques et du manque de précision des engins de pêche et de capture. De plus, certaines espèces ont leurs défis singuliers. En exemple, le lançon vit sur le fond marin, le rendant difficiles à atteindre et donc à échantillonner. Malheureusement, cette méconnaissance des stocks de proies nuit aux efforts de conservation en direction des baleines.

Actualité - 1/11/2021

Elisabeth Guillet Beaulieu

Elisabeth Guillet-Beaulieu a rejoint le GREMM en tant que rédactrice scientifique au début de l'automne 2021. Depuis toujours, elle est animée par un amour inépuisable de la biologie marine et des milieux aquatiques, amour qui se manifeste aujourd'hui dans la poursuite d'une carrière scientifique. Détentrice d'un baccalauréat en sciences biologiques, cette enthousiaste de l'environnement et de la conservation des milieux naturels a rejoint l'équipe de Baleines en direct dans l'espoir de partager sa passion contagieuse des mammifères marins tout en achevant sa maîtrise en environnement et développement durable.

Articles recommandés

Découverte d’une nouvelle espèce de baleine

L’observation sur le terrain n’est pas la seule manière de découvrir de nouvelles espèces animales. Grâce à des analyses en…

|Actualité 29/11/2021

Le projet « Fenêtre sur les bélugas » reçoit une aide de 600 000$ du gouvernement du Québec

Le lundi 15 novembre 2021 à 14h30, se tenait à Cacouna une conférence de presse soulignant le soutien financier du…

|Actualité 12/11/2021

Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, ces réfugiées climatiques

Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, qui ne comptent plus qu’environ 350 individus sur la planète, se trouvent présentement en…

|Actualité 8/11/2021